We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, amazing staff”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #33 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Clean rooms, amazing staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed here over the week of July fourth, therefore the area was quite crowded at all times. Some could argue that the hotel is a little dated but I didn't mind since it was spotless. The people at the front desk were always helpful when I had questions. Restaurant staff was pleasant too. Location wise, the hotel is close to a street with lots of shops and the Lincoln road mall was close too. This is a great place to stay if one is seeking a lively, cheerful ambiance. I would love to stay here again if I ever have the chance to go to the south beach area later on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor . We are delighted you had a great stay with us. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our staff. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.


With Warm Regards

Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    334
    93
    32
    31
See reviews for
79
622
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Three day pre-cruise stay in South Beach at the Pelican.

The Good: The Pelican Hotel is in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive; directly across the street from the beach.

The Bad: The Pelican Hotel is in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive; directly across the street from the beach

My brief stay at the Pelican Hotel was fascinating HOWEVER I would not stay at the hotel in the future. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely nice. A hot breakfast was complimentary for all guest staying at the facility; also 2 free drinks were offered to guest during happy hour (4-6); complimentary beach chairs and towels; walking distance to bars, clubs, etc. and the price of the room was about average for the area. With the exception of the extremely uncomfortable and hard mattress…Pelican is not a bad hotel.

With all of the compliments one must wonder WHY I would not stay at the hotel in the future? The hotel simply does not coincide my lifestyle at this stage in life. South Beach and The Pelican hotel is a good spot for the younger crowd looking to party the night away, but the Pelican is not ideal for my wife and I. Many of the patrons of the hotel and on South Beach were young enough to be my kids. If one of my daughters asked me to recommend them a hotel in South Beach…I would point them in the direction of the Pelican; If one of my contemporaries asked me however…I would probably point them in the opposite directions. Just like South Beach, the Pelican is for the younger crowd (21-35). For my taste, I would choose to stay at a different hotel with a little bit more of the luxuries and comforts that I am use to when staying in a "4 star hotel". If you are looking for a hotel to party with your "boys" over the weekend, this is the spot for you. If you are looking for a spot to chill with your wife…keep looking

Even though I would not stay at the Pelican in the future, I gave the hotel a 4 star rating because I believe that it lives up to its promise…a nice facility in the heart of South Beach

Room Tip: Watch your tabs…tips are added to all the services in South Beach. Also watch out for the hustlers o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReservoirDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a nice stay with us . I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our staff. We hope to see you next time on your next visit to south beach.

With Warm Regards

Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in - the rooms were lovely, beach towels and chairs available for use, free breakfast and free cocktails during happy hour. The hotel staff were very helpful in organising tours and transport throughout the stay. Definitely will not hesitate staying here again when I return to Miami!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole9210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our Hotel. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our staff. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.


With Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went to South Beach with a girlfriend and her teenage daughter and a freind. We stayed in a King Suite on the ocean and the girls had a queen deluxe room. The suite was amazing!!! Great view and hugh room. Very clean and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was free and it was a full hot breakfast from a special menu. There was a free two drink happy hour with lots of interesting cocktails on the menu. Service in the restaurant was exceptional with the servers being friendly and accommodating. Prices were very reasonable! Beach was across the street with large luxurious beach towels provided and beach lounges for free, it was beautiful!!
Lots of fun and I definitely plan to come here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jodi14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our hotel. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our staff. We are looking forward to see you on your next visit to South Beach.

With Warm Regards,

Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel is great ! Location is perfect , beach , view , and best food in south beach . No comparison , the menu is varied to appeal to all tastes , breakfast , lunch or dinner are outstanding ! When in south beach find this restaurant . Ocean , between 8th and 9th . Don't miss it !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeValletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our restaurant . We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.


With warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My girlfriends and I were down in South Beach for July 4th weekend. We weren't sure what we wanted to eat but we very hungry. So we stopped at the Pelican to try something new. The wait was a lil long but the food was well worth the wait! Everything was excellcent..we ordered appertizers clams and oysters they were great. The Crab Cake was the best I ever had!! The lobster and crab salad was really good it was a whole lobster that was cooked to perfection with pieces of crab meat. My girlfriend ordered the snapper it was cooked and seasoned really well. My next trip to Miami this will be my first stop. I highly recommend this restaurant a lil pricey because of the liquor we ordered but worth every dime!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our restaurant. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our team. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South beach.



With Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The staff was well trained, helpful and always professional. The room was more than we expected; very spacious and comfortable. The food was great-free breakfast was included, and the bar was cozy as well along with great service from the bartenders. The hotel is across from the beach so it is an easy walk to swim and layout-the hotel also provided free beach chairs.

Room Tip: all rooms have a theme; research and see what you would like!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great stay at our Hotel. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.



With Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing