We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #32 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great location, right in the middle of all the activities ! The personnel was great, friendly & helpful. Was not aware at the time of booking that breakfast was included, & not just a continental breakfast. Also complimentary happy hour for the hotel guests. Although there was a 2 drink limit at happy hour, they were not sissy drinks. The room was not your typical hotel room, as there were themes to all of them, which made it more fun. Even having bottled water every day was a plus for me.

Room Tip: We had a room at the "back" of the hotel. If you don't want to hear the party noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a great stay at our Hotel. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.



Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    334
    93
    32
    31
See reviews for
79
622
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Pelican Hotel is definitely the most unique hotel, with the best service, location, nice people,warm welcome, very helpful personnel and delicious food - anyone can ask in Ocean Drive Miami...
It is worth mentioning that you get free towels every day and free reserved chairs at the beach (which is right accross the street). Also the Happy hour is amazing. You get 2 free drinks (they make the best MOJITO) every day.
If i am to be again in Miami, this will be my never-changing choice.

Room Tip: Every room has its own unique interior design. The hotel is designed by famous Fashion Designer DIES...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bledion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Good Morning,


Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our Hotel. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.

Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Pelican for a long weekend and selected it based on tripadvisor reviews. Though we've been to miami several times this was our favorite hotel and we'll definitely stay there again. Location on ocean drive is perfect, especially for those just looking to spend sometime on the beach. Staff is incredibly friendly and hospitable. Rooms are clean and each have a different fun theme. Also included in our room rate was breakfast, beach chairs, and 2 drinks per person for two guests which makes the room rate quite reasonable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Good Morning,


Thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you had a great stay in our Hotel. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our staff for doing a great job! We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visist to South Beach.


Warm Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I actually did not stay here but came into the bar part of it and the Manger and the bartender Chris showed me and my friend a really good time. We came twice. They were so nice and sweet to us. Very nice place to visit. Im pretty sure the rooms are as beautiful as the staff was too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misha1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Good Morning,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you had a great time at our restaurant/bar . I will make sure to share your experience with Chris and the manager that evening for doing such a great job!. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.

Warm Regards

Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Hotel is good but is let down by the restaurant/bar. Good location in the heart of Ocean Drive. Great front desk - the staff there were excellent. Housekeeping were very efficient. Loved the room. Nice touch to have complimentary bottles of water in the room fridge. Huge flatscreen TV. Complementary towels to take to beach and sun lounger included. No in-room coffee machine (but News Cafe - open 24hr - is virtually next door). However, the restaurant/bar is not so good. We knew the included breakfast did not include drinks (so the drinks cost us $15/day extra). Service in the restaurant was often slow and not very efficient. The food is fine but limited choice. The servers are friendly just not very polished. (Example: Give you the check but no pen to sign and to have to get their attention again). Not a place to eat if you want to be on your way quickly. Needed to ask twice for things on more than one visit. Examples: One time we waited almost 15 minutes for our coffee & juice. There were only four other tables with people so it shouldn't have taken long. Another time, the server forgot the coffee we had ordered (at breakfast!). Nice touch is proper cloth napkins. Would consider staying at the hotel again but would ignore the breakfast.

Room Tip: Hotel is right on Ocean Drive - if you want quiet, book a room on the side/rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam_Beech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Good Evening,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on trip advisor. I will make sure to share your experience with the rest of our team from the restaurant. I am delighted you had a nice time at our Hotel. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.

Best Regards,


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had just got back from a cruise and was accustomed to being waited on and treated liked royalty. The experience was lengthened at the Pelican. Service and food was great and Mario was an amazing bartender. We could've relaxed there for a week. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andydelany69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Good Afternoon ,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on trip advisor. We are delighted you had a nice time at the Pelican. I will make sure to share your experience wit Mario our Bartender for doing a good job. Hoping to see you next time or your next visit to Miami Beach.

Have a great day.

Best Regards.


Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Clean, nicely sized room. Funky themed rooms. Overhead fan as well as air-conditioning kept us cool. Room service was excellent. Our room was positioned in the rear of the hotel, away from the bustle of South Beach. Beach is a short walk across the street. Complimentary happy hour drink, beach towel and chair, breakfast. Breakfast was 4 out of 5. Service 5 out of 5. Special thanks to Miguel for handling all our questions with care. The front desk also called an early morning taxi to go to the airport. We found the hotel off hot-wire.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MZaidi227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Good Afternoon,


Thankyou for sharing your feedback with us on trip advisor. We atre glad you had a great stay with us.
I will make sure to share your feedback with Miguel for doing a good job. We are looking forward to see you next time on your next visit to South Beach.


Best Regards

Lupe Castillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing