We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pelican Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Lily Leon Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Chesterfield Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Hotel of South Beach(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Starlite Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Sherbrooke Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Boulevard Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Colony Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveler rating
734
369
106
35
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
369
106
35
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshappy hourocean drivefree breakfastsouth beachfree beachceiling fanbeach chairspeople watchingnews cafeperfect locationlummus parkhotel guestsboutique hotelvalet parkingrestaurant staffkey westart deco
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed one Saturday night at the Pelican Hotel when we were in town for a concert; we really wish we could have stayed longer. This boutique hotel in South Beach has built-in attractions of the beach, the busy Ocean Avenue location, and a bar/restaurant nightlife as well as nicely furnished rooms with a distinct atmosphere. On arriving, be prepared that if it's a weekend or otherwise a time when the traffic is heavy, it can take 15 minutes to travel 5 blocks. Since parking almost requires the valet, it is easier to arrive while traveling southbound on Ocean as opposed to northbound-southbound there is a yellow curb where cars can park for the valet service-it is efficient and allows in and out use of the car for a $25 daily charge. There are steps up through the bar/cafe/restaurant to the check-in desk but the valet will carry your luggage if you wish. Check-in was friendly and also efficient (single desk clerk), the online reservation was in place, and any questions answered at that time. The room charge includes 2 drinks per person at the Pelican's happy hour (4-6 PM) as well as a nice breakfast choice. We stayed on the third floor in the "Executive Thirties" queen bed, ocean-view suite, which is on the top floor in the southeast corner of the hotel with corner windows (which also open) which displays a fantastic view of Ocean Avenue as well as the park and beach across the avenue-really nice. The windows are double-pane so the traffic noise was not any concern. The late night DJ bass could still be heard through 1:00 AM or so, which did not bother me but might bother lighter sleepers-a room toward the back may be the tradeoff (no view, less noise). The rooms have nice oak floors and designs which go with each rooms motif (check the website for examples). Our room had 30's style cabinets, doors, bathroom fixtures, shower, and lounge chairs and table-but the bed was really comfortable and the room had a swinging/moveable large screen TV and iPod speaker to crank music. There's also a room safe and refrigerator; everything very clean and well-maintained. The suite was actually a fairly large rectangle, with the bed on one end and a table with four chairs, and three lounge chairs on the other toward the east windows. Waking up to the sunrise shining through the palm trees across Ocean Avenue was a real treat (we left the shades open but all can be closed for total darkness). We were only there about 18 hours but wish we could have stayed longer and will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JupiterFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is the PERFECT location if you want to be where all the action is in South Beach Miami. Pelican is on the Ocean Drive strip, so like the other hotels on the strip, it is a hotel and restaurant. If you don't like to be bothered and if you're not into the party scene, I wouldn't recommend Pelican or any hotel, really, in this area. There are hostesses in front of EVERY restaurant outside, so they will ask you endlessly to stay for a bite. (I didn't mind, but some people may get irritated by the constant hassling). The street does get very loud at night because of the clubs - but it's a lot of fun! I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to have a great time! Also, when you step outside the front door of the hotel, you are looking at the beautiful ocean. You just have to cross the road and you're there.

The staff at Pelican are lovely and welcoming and are always there to assist you. Each room is decorated completely different, which is so unique. It's like a new world behind each door. The rooms are tight, but they work if you're just staying there to sleep. Great experience over all!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I recently had breakfast with some business colleagues at this hotel en route to Nicaragua and have been here a few times previously. It is in a great location on South Beach. Lovely decor and very trendy. We were all a little bit disappointed with the speed of service together with the temperature of the coffee and being typical Brits didn't say a great deal other than grumbling under our breath and sending the old cup of coffee back a fairly dull breakfast was rescued by a young lady called Kateryna who spotted that we were not having the best of times even though we were very quiet about it. She immediately replaced the cold coffee and then presented us with a tray of champagne glasses with mimosas which were all “on my house”-well done and this was a good recovery on the back of great service. Would I go back? Possibly but I think they could be a bit more time spent on service training and without this young lady, it would have been a bit of a flop.

Room Tip: Demand great service and request extra hot beverages or they arrive tepid at best
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bambino145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We rented a house on Star Island but decided to stay an extra day in Miami. Pelican Hotel was perfect. Centrally located on Ocean Drive so getting to the beach was quick and easy. Chairs are available for the beach just give the attendent your name and room number. We stayed in room 205 named The With Drill Room. The room was clean but very small not much of a veiw. This was my first time staying at a boutique hotel and I would definitely stay here for a short trip. For an extended stay I prefer a traditional hotel . Also they gave out free drinks for happy hour which is always a plus. You can definitely get your money's worth at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebbymm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Well, I thought a lot about rating this hotel as our overall experience was a negative one. But before I explain I would like to point out that the service at the front desk was excellent and was the only really outstanding experience we had. They were always nice and provided great service.

When we booked this hotel we looked at the ratings here and based on that we decided to book at the Pelican Hotel for a 9 night stay. When we arrived we could not believe that the room was that small and we only had a window to the alley with a view on a lot of things (mostly trash) or directly into the room of the neighboring building (see picture). It was just simply not what we expected and it just did not feel that clean as well.

But the worst thing was the noise. The location is for people who want to party only but not for guests who want a vacation and relax. It was so loud until 2:30 AM at least (music, etc.). We had to buy ear plugs to get some kind of sleep. The air condition in the room was very loud as well. And even if you turned it off, you could here the a/c from the next building. Furthermore we could hear the people in the rooms around us as well - Result - No Sleep!

The valet service was also a "nice" experience. Every time when we got our car back, the seats were completely changed, they changed the radio station, coins were missing, and we even found empty red bull cans in the car (comment: we don't drink red bull).

As the weather was not good during our stay (cold and heavy rains), the hotel and the room was always the last place we wanted to be at, as it was just not a place one could relax at.

During one of our breakfasts at the hotel we were sitting at a table near the kitchen right at a room divider. While we were eating we noticed that the room divider was dirty with pieces of food on it (see picture). When we notified the waiter he only replied that it is not his job to clean this, and we should speak to the manager about it!!! I mean we were staring at old food while having breakfast! Disgusting! So I took out my camera and took a picture. Three people (including the manager) looked at us, but no one moved or even spoke a word or apologized! Unbelievable.

We had three more nights, but that was it - even though it was a pre-paid reservation we could not stay any longer and had to leave...so we checked out and left for better place for the remainder of our vacation.

We will definitely not go back to this place and we can also not recommend it.

Room Tip: Don't book unless you want to party only
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are delighted to read that our front desk provided you with such great service. We believe they do a fantastic job to ensure that we exceed the expectation of our guests. Our housekeeping team work equally as hard to ensure that all of our rooms are perfectly cleaned as we take great pride in taking good care of our vintage hotel and provide our guests with great service. Thank you for emphasizing this in your review.

With reference to the shape of the building please know that the area's development pattern and architecture is reflective of its physical setting, prevalent architectural styles of the 1930's, the aspirations of its original developers, and the changing economic conditions of the nation and the local community. The area was planned and developed as a resort destination and was constructed within a short amount of time. As a result there is a high concentration of distinct resort architecture typical of the 1930s. the hotels from this period were clearly designed to take advantage of their proximity to the beach.

Regrettably, when choosing a 1930 hotel one needs to expect small but well-appointed room. The shape of most hotels are rectangular and do not provide a view. For those travelers seeking a view we have the perfect rooms: Six beautifully appointed suites with an amazing view of the ocean. We offer great excursions at good prices when the weather does not cooperate for our hotel guests. We are truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Know that your comments concerning the valet, a-c from the neighboring restaurant and restaurant staff have been addressed and have been rectified immediately.

I apologize on behalf of our management team and should you wish to return to Miami Beach it would be our pleasure to provide you with a special rate in one of our ocean front suites.

Sincerely,
Lupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews