We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a perfect example of an excellent hotel, I WILL be back”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #32 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is a perfect example of an excellent hotel, I WILL be back”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Perfect location, stunningly diverse and different in a very good way. Complimentary breakfast, lovey bar food. There is really nothing bad to say about anything, The location is just lovely. Prices are very reasonable for the level of service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    334
    93
    32
    31
See reviews for
79
622
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Papeete, French Polynesia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It was a really good surprise to stay at the Pelican hotel all rooms are different, very clean, amenities are great ( wifi, breakfast, complimentary happy hour, beach access...) and the best is the team, all staff are AWESOME always professional and keep smiling ... From housekeeping attendant to restaurant team but specially the reception staff are wonderful.... Thank you I be back soon....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 98Tahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican for 3 nights in September 2013. We had the room "Born in the stars and stripes", with its special interior. The room was not large (as is normal for Miami), but had a table and two chairs and a comfortable bed. It is true that the aircon can be noisy at night, but it works fine, so we didnt have a problem with that. The bathroom was relatively spacious and the rain shower was amazing. Housekeeping was very good, everything super clean, they even cleaned up the bathroom twice one day after I had an afternoon shower. Hotel staff was very helpful, they even let me use their phone and computer when I wanted to make a call which I couldnt make from my international phone.

The restaurant has very good food (ate there twice) and the breakfast offer for guests was a nice touch. Of course, the happy hour was much appreciated, and the cocktails were good!
All in all, I would definitely recommend the place to my friends, for both atmosphere and service. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor facing another building (so, not much of a view), but must be defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MariechenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Last minute booking, making sure we were comfortable, not taking advantage of our lack of energy to search other hotels after a looong day!

Great Happy Hour(that comes with room)...Great Breakfasts (that come with room)...and a Beautiful and VERY Professional GM, Lupe Castillo!!!

See you again soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First couple of nights of a US road trip started in Miami and after a bit of research we booked the pelican on ocean drive. Each room has its own theme, ours was 'viva las Vegas' loved it!! The location is ideal, right opposite the beach and with a lovely outside terrace for the people watching!! The staff were really friendly, the breakfast delicious and the room spotless. Oh and the happy hour (2 hour!) was a much appreciated bonus! If we ever return to Miami or if we have any friends heading there then The Pelican is top of the list.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erebus1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews and was really glad I did. It is in a great central position in the Art Deco area, and is a funky and friendly place to stay. It isn't luxurious, but had all the things that are important to me - a very comfy bed, good pillows, powerful shower, free bottles of water in the fridge every day, friendly and helpful staff, a delicious and free breakfast and free beach towels and sun loungers on the beach. The best thing of all was the free 'happy hour' from 4-6 pm, when residents can get as many great (and normally expensive) cocktails as they want for the price of the tip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We came to South Beach for two nights after visiting Key West for the previous four. The front desk was extremely polite and helpful, filling us in on the four main ammendities a lot of other reviews mentioned.

The free happy hour is legit, almost full menu, lots of booze in the drinks and not a penny was charged. The free breakfast was also very nice, just five bucks for two coffees and we had eggs, pancakes, toast, bacon and potatoes. The beach chairs are fine, and the towels are a nice little feature. They also have free water in the rooms, which with this heat, you need.

The wait staff was outstanding. They gave us at least four free drinks while here between shots and champagne. The food at the cafe is good, and served quickly.

We had the executive fifties room, which was pretty awesome. Nice and spacious and overlooking the ocean and ocean drive. The beds are a tad hard and the fans are certainly loud but the shower pressure made up for it!

There are tons of hotels on these few blocks of ocean drive, but I can't say we would ever stay anywhere again but the Pelican, nice work!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing