We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #34 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Pelican for three nights during May 2013. We had an amazing experience. The check in staff was very friendly and helpful, and we also got upgraded, which gave us a beautiful room with a great ocean view.

The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished. It has all the necessary amenities, as well as complimentary wifi. Breakfast was included in our rate, as well as beach towels and the use of sunbeds on the beach.

The hotel is on Ocean drive in walking distance of all the attractions and beaches. The road can get noisy, but we expected that on the beach. I will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303, beautiful view, and nice and big as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 1,216 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff at Pelican Hotel was absolutely, hands down THE BEST!!! From the time I checked-in to the last minute of my departure. I was completely exhausted upon arrival. I was greeted with champagne and a room key. No worries...Just Relax. Later on before going to dinner there was a knock on my door...a staff member offered a printed forecast for the next day + LIP GLOSS!!! I knew then I was at the PERFECT place. Pelican guest receives COMPLIMENTARY chair w/cushion and towel rentals on South Beach...(Umberella $15) COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST and HAPPY HOUR DAILY!!! As I prepared to check-out I left behind a pair of (Just Purchased) shoes...Well, as I waited out front of the hotel I received a call from Miguel!!! He had the shoes!!! He then rushed them out to me at the curb/valet!!! Mai was absolutely amazing. Anything I needed she was more than happy to assist, WITH A SMILE!!! The accommodations were clean and quite comfortable. I love the feel of a "BOUTIQUE HOTEL"...where every room is "DIFFERENT"..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsDee1433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Ms. Dee,

It was a true pleasure having you here with us and hope that you will give us the opportunity to pamper you again in the near future.

On behalf of the team,

Cheers!!!

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

we stayed at the pelican hotel for 5 nights. The staff are very good and were helpful.
We were given the "Aka 70" room. The furniture, walls, table and lamp in the room look very old as if they were never maintained rather than a retro look. Overall the hotel has a musty smell but not bad. We had a good sleep without any disturbance as compared to what we had heard from other reviews.
The hotel is on ocean drive and right across the beach and in the middle of all activities.
Almost forgot to mention, you get free alcoholic drinks between 5 & 7 pm if you are staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anand335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Small, cosy, sometimes noisy hotel, but full of charm, just on Ocean Drive, the heart of the actual Miami Beach's movida, a little far from the unreal life of the luxury hotels. Breakfast on the tables outside is excellent, restaurant (with good Italian food) good, multiethnic staff friendly and efficient.
Just cross the street and you are on the beach: hotel provide an excellent beach service.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salgiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We appreciate your review and look forward to the possibility of hosting you on your next visit to South Beach.

Enjoy the summer from the Pelican Team.
Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Had a wonderful one-night stay at this hotel. The staff was excellent and a major help in getting around South Beach and finding things to do for the night.

The only downside was that in our room the shower often became excruciatingly hot for brief periods of time - I presume when persons in other rooms flushed the toilet or used cold water.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JPatrickRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just returned from one of the busiest weekends in South Beach. We were greeted by some of the most wonderful, friendly staff and a surprise of an upgrade, facing the beach. Worried about being able to sleep and being in the heart of all the action on South Beach, we were pleasantly surprised that we could not hear a peep once we closed our doors. Mia, Miguel and Mentor made us feel like family and catered to our every need. We really felt at home. We loved the character of the hotel, the designers must have had a blast decorating this beautiful, eclectic hotel.
Make sure you eat every meal you can at the delicious restaurant and if you can, request to be served by the handsome Massimo and very sweet Kristina. They are some of the best by far!!

We look forward to our return, we have found our home away from home!
K. Rothenberg

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear K. Rothenberg,

On behalf of the managing team of the Pelican, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that the team made a difference during your stay. During the renovation phase of the hotel, sound proof windows were mounted with the idea of improving the experience of our guests.

Should your travels bring you back to South Beach, please remember your Pelican family. We look forward to your return visit.

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Walk off the sidewalk across from the beautiful Miami beach and go through the relaxing open air breakfast/bar area to the back where we were greeted by the friendly check in staff.

Up the character lift and into the dark mysterious-like hallway to our room, whose theme was "Future in Aluminium". What a STUNNING room. The colours, decor, bath products, all fantastic.

The rooms are quiet, a/c works well and the room.shower were immaculately clean. They kindly offered late checkout, and the included breakfast was basic but filling. Choices of an omelette, 2 eggs on wholewheat toast anyway you want, both accompanied by roast potatoes. Drinks not included.

My only complaint, the in room safe sits on a shelf in the wardrobe that can be picked up easily. And there is no secure area at reception to leave you baggage if you want to check out and go exploring. Ours were left next to the reception desk, but sometimes the staff are in the back room, so dont leave anything valuable.

There is no direct view to the beach from the rooms, but you will want to spend most of your time outside in the balmy weather anyway.

This boutique hotel has character, in a fantastic location and is Very clean. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarprinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. Know that we are working on installing new safes in all of the room. Should have this done by the end of July! We look forward to the pleasure of your return.

Enjoy the summer!

Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#18 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,444 reviews
0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,800 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#79 of 212 in Miami Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $155 - $1,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing