We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place.....”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #35 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here this past weekend. The location could not be beat and the staff....wow, the staff was AMAZING!!! Paulhino the restaurant manager was awesome, always making sure we were well taken care of, very friendly and talked to all patrons like he was an old friend. Mai at the desk was awesome too....you will love this place...I am planning a trip back VERY soon. I miss you guys already! I LOVED the mattress in my room....I have never slept so well in a long time....send me one please..lol. Seruously, I loved you guys.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisJan36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Chris, while we can't send you a mattress we can share with you where you can purchase one www.sleepongreen.com

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience at the Pelican Hotel and especially with both Mai and Paulinho. We are very proud of our team. The staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of our guests and we are delighted to read your review.

Please reach out to me directly for a loyalty rate during your next visit to the Pelican. lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I just arroved last night. Everything is perfect until this morning. The breakfast started at 8am, which is not very convient for some people like us who have to visit other places early. Then the included breakfast does NOT includws coffee, which is a big surprise!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColumbusUrbanLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you Columbusurbanlife for taking the time to review our hotel. As an added value to our guests, we have extended a complimentary breakfast ( no charge to our guests) we just ask you to kindly pay for your drinks . Our breakfast choices include Eggs any style, Choose your own Omelete ingredients, Eggs Benedict, Italian Breakfast with Cappuccino & Pancakes. This is a new program that we just rolled out on April 12. Our breakfast is free and a surprise to all of our guests. We are sorry we were not able to meet your expectations.

Our kitchen staff has worked hard to correct all of the kinks and I assure you we are ready to go at 7:30 AM!

Cheers,
Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at Pelican for 4 nights early in April. It all started off a bit as a disaster when I arrived from the airport; I had a plastic bag with my new IPad and new Bose headset that was stolen after having off loaded my luggage outside the hotel and given keys to vallet guy and checked in.
The girl in reception was very nice and helpful!
My room was called "Half way to Hollywood", and was cool enough.
Location of the hotel is great!!!

Thanks!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EST_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we are delighted we were able to spread some "pelican cheer" on what started to be a disaster.

We look forward to the possibility of hosting you in the near future at the Pelican Hotel.

Cheers,
Lupe Castillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The staff at the Pelican were fantastic, so friendly & helpful. The food was good and breakfast on the upper deck was always a treat. Happy hour, happy days with free drinks for hotel guests!

The wheelchair accessible room (#204 Optique Diabolique) is very good and the huge fan is brilliant (word of warning, keep your fingers away!) The route from the ramp to the lobby is often cluttered with restaurant chairs and heaters but be patient because the staff will clear the way very promptly.

Twin beds are on the narrow side but comfy. Piece of advice if you need to leave your table unattended to go to the restroom do not leave drinks, keys or maps behind because they may be cleared away by over zealous shift manager!

Room Tip: The wheelchair accessible room (#204 Optique Diabolique)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you Christophus for sharing your experience. I apologize on behalf of the team for the cluttered ramp and will remind the staff to be mindful in the future. We truly appreciate your great review and hope to see you back at the Pelican! It was a great pleasure having you here with us!

Please remember to send me an email for a loyalty rate during your next visit. Lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Best regards,

The Pelican Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Loved the decor. Great service and location is awesome for beach. Happy hour was worth the stay. Food good but small quantities. Noisy air conditioner. Advertised as suites but regular rooms. Ok if you are in room alone not big enough to share. Nowhere to put luggage. I agree not a four star. With some small changes they could get there.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamondsinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

We are delighted to learn that you loved our decor & appreciate your feed back. We will be upgrading the remaining rooms with new AC systems. This will take a few months to complete. The pelican hotel is comprised of standard rooms and suites and feature two beautiful penthouse suites with a magnificent terrace. I'm not really sure where you saw us posted as an all suite hotel. If you would be so kind as to send me the information, I will ensure that its corrected immediately. My email address is lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you,

The Pelican team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The rooms are themed and that's kind of fun, and the service at the front desk was great, even helping to arrange a cheap ride to the airport. The guy who brought our room service one of the nights was pretty disorganized, but otherwise everything went as planned. I think south beach is lame, but this hotel was pretty cool.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RummyNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear RummyNixon,

Thank you for highlighting our themed rooms and your experience with our front desk team! We work hard to ensure that we meet and exceed the expectations of all our guests. We hope your future travels include returning to Sobe and hope to be able host you again at the Pelican Hotel. Feel free to send me a direct email for a loyalty rate. lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

SOOOOOOO cute. Every room is a different theme. So close to beach (right across street), free happy hour for guests (4:00 - 6:00) friendly staff, (except the guy at desk over night RUDE!!!!) clean and stylish, GREAT FOOD!!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is gonna be awesome in this hotel. LOVE LOVE LOVE
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Ginger,

Thank you for all of the LOVE and the opportunity to serve you! Come back soon!

The Pelican Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#58 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#20 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $144 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing