We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #32 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beware”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pelican Hotel for two nights during October. Upon our arrival I was disappointed to find that the only way into the hotel with your luggage was through the bar/restaurant seating area at the front of the hotel and although the staff helped us with our luggage you feel like everyone is looking at you.

My husband used the valet parking available at the front of the hotel, however be warned it is quite expensive and although he only used it for one night upon checking out the hotel tried to charge us for two nights!

We checked into our hotel room, which I can only describe as very small and disappointing! The only view from the room was of a horrible dirty balcony opposite us and some sort of kitchen, which I would recommend you don't look at if you want to eat whilst in Miami! Needless to say I kept the blinds closed throughout our stay.

As stated the room was very small and the bathroom was strange. My husband complained there was no sink stop available for him to shave in the bathroom.

There is also a horrible musty smell throughout the hotel!

The worse part of our stay was that something bit my husband and I during the night in our bed!!!! We both had Hugh bites on our legs!

On checking out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay! The staff just couldn't have cared less.

I would not recommend this hotel and I will never return!!!

There are loads of hotels in the area I recommend you go elsewhere!!

Room Tip: Don't book it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maj20639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Good Morning Maj20639

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize that you did not feel comfortable arriving thru our restaurant. Part of the charm of the Art Deco architecture is this layout of restaurant in the front and the hotel the back. The Pelican Hotel promotes our Sleep on Green mattresses in all of our rooms. We do this for both your comfort and your wellbeing .Our beds are bed from Natural Latex - Superior Support and confirms well to body shape and pressure, reducing tossing and turning and allows a deeper, more restful sleep. Latex is hypo-allergenic and breathable. Dust mites, bacteria, mildew, and mold cannot live in natural latex.

Regrettably by not reporting your experience immediately to the desk, we were not given the possibility of correcting any of the hip cups you have mentioned. It would have been our pleasure to have tried to assist in changing your room as we do have suites available which are larger, perhaps this would have best accommodated you during your stay.

Maj20639, we also provide all our guests with a comment cards as well as my direct telephone number. The feedback of our guests are very important to us, my personal email should you wish to share the name or number of your room is : Lupe@pelicanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    334
    93
    32
    31
See reviews for
79
622
65
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked our three night stay through hotwire at a great rate of $140 a night. While billed as a 4 1/2 star on hotwire, it really doesn't quite meet the standards of a 4 1/2 star property. However, it is a great hotel and well worth what we paid.

Unlike most South Beach hotels, the Pelican does not appear dated, worn down, nor musty smelling. Each room has a theme, and the decor is quite "out there." The halls are dark and you feel like you are on a boat (without the rocking motion thankfully). Our room, Power Flower, was towards the back of the hotel so we had no noise issues. It was small yet provided plenty of space for our things. The closet had shelving, a safe, and a mini fridge that staff restocked daily with a bottle of still and sparkling water. The bathroom wasn't huge yet not cramped. Basic toiletries provided but no cotton balls, shower caps, etc. Turn down service each night. Wifi free and worked fine. Happy hour for guests 4-6 but we did not have the chance to partake.

The best part of our stay was the staff. Extremely friendly desk clerks who greeted you each time they saw you. They made the place feel like home in the middle of a party centric tourist-filled area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RadWife73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairborn, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

During our 25th wedding Anniversary stay in south beach, we went for dinner, Pelican is the best place to go Amazing hotel staff, very Friendly, wonderful Tasty food,and resturent supervisor is absolutly helpful, I higly recomended this Hotel,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donmunaweera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Lust in space with a view to match next door with stripping male chefs,oh oh! Lovely large bed and clean room. Wonderful Art Deco features throughout the hotel. Excellent position for the beach and all the excitement of ocean drive. The happy hour was great and met lots of interesting people at the bar. The staff were lovely. A big thank you for the wonderful tip for eating out, for our trip down the keys- we found the mermaid the fish sandwich was great. I hope the young man who's children's reading the hunger games has read himself now. The whole 2nights we were there was worth every penny. We wanted something different and we got it. This was the first stop of our trip around Florida which set the seal for the whole joinery which ended up being out of this world. Thanks all off youxxxx

Room Tip: The bed was huge and bedding great. A good night sleep was had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights before we left on a cruise. Great location and rooms. This is a hip fun place. Worth staying and checking out. My opinion more of a couples place not a family hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you have negativity toward this place, it is probably a personal problem b/c the wonderful staff make it impossible to be unhappy. They go out of the way and if you have any concerns, they will accommodate you. I stayed in Miami during Carnival (a crazy packed festival week) and everyone at this hotel was soooo accommodating! The hotel is really awesome and the pictures on their site are very accurate. It is very clean and in a great location (across from the beach) From the beginning I was checked in by Benito (forgive me if the names spellings are off)and he made me feel extremely welcome. Free Acqua Panna and Pellegrino in your room daily! CO Bigelow bath products!!! Natalie was my 1st bartender during my week stay and she was awesome. By the way, they offer free happy hour for hotel guests from 4-6 pm every single day!!!! This was my fave part LoL I did not miss a day!! Pierre and Jasmine were my main servers during my stay and they made sure didn't need anything...I ate at the hotel most of the time and everyone treated me like I was living there. I truly felt comfortable and at home. I was impressed by my entire stay and I can not wait to go back... I have stayed at a lot of hotels in South Beach, being a former resident, and The Pelican was by far the best...I will be back...

Room Tip: I would suggest a suite if you are looking for more room bc the standard rooms are snug. I didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MilanSoSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear MilanSoSweet,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate you recognizing all our team members that go above and beyond. Mentore, Pierre ,Jasmine and Natalie make all our guest feel like family. We hope to see you back at Pelican soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice well kept Art Deco hotel right in the middle of the ocean drive action. Very unique theamed rooms which adds to the experience. They had a complimentary happy hour and the bar tender was suburb! Very much enjoyed my stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lupe C, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
DearCecil,

Thank you for feedback of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed Sobe the Diesel way. We look forward to your next visit to Pelican hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing