We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style on top of Style!”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #35 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Midway, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Style on top of Style!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is one of my favorite quirky hotels! Unfortunately the hotel is not being kept up as well as it used to. The lampshade was torn and the walls were touched up in several spots that were too noticeable. The staff is great. I love the desk staff and the kitchen wait staff. This hotel has style on top of style! Love to sit on the porch and watch the crowd. I truly wish they would quit hawking the crowd looking for guests to eat and drink out front. I think they loose their atmosphere. and the big frat boy drinks with the upside down beers on display horrified me. That is not the crowd I would like to hang out with when I go to the Pelican. We were annoyed by lot's of drunks on their patio....South Beach as a whole has turned into a frat boy, hoochie mama, orange crush nightmare. Raise your prices and get rid of the drunks.....They kept us up all night! Your hotel is too nice for that!

Room Tip: Try a corner room, maybe it will be a bit more quiet~
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenflo11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Kenflo11111, thank you so much for your feedback. We believe you stayed in one of the rooms that feature such a lamp. Its part of the “Kish theme” I will post the picture of the room online for confirmation of the room. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you and for being a loyal Pelican client. Your review serve as a tool to help us improve daily, I’m confident you will be delighted with the upcoming changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    336
    95
    32
    32
See reviews for
80
627
67
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Pelican Hotel and we truly enjoyed it. The room was nicely done, the bathroom was spacious and the service great. One thing that really stood out was the firm mattress, really loved that! We had to change rooms after the second night (due to the people next door) and the guy at the reception was totally understanding and professional. We immediately got a new room, even a bigger one one floor up!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor, it's a lot brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uskern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Nice location and excellent customer service. the cocktails are really unique and the management professional and really polite.the area it's on the middle of Miami beach and you can walk every where.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardopisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Pelican is definitely the place to stay on South Beach for trendy people! Individually themed rooms, and clean. The staff is very friendly. We stayed in August and they offered free drinks to hotel guests between 4 - 6pm in August - awesome! The restaurant downstairs offers very good food and drinks. Bed mattress was good and not as horribly soft as you normally get in the US. Great location, directly opposite Lummus Park and the beach, and right where it all happens. Would always go back here!

Room Tip: Depends on the style you like, and it's probably better to face the sides or back rather than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairReviewerDana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear FairReviewerDana,

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your sincere review and look forward to your return visit.

Cheers,

The Pelican Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Giving a fair judgment to the today's Pelican version is not an easy matter when you have known the previous one.
The hotel is still well run, but furniture start to show distress - our chair had a broken leg - and even if the general cleaners is good, I was surprise to see that nobody think to clean inside the closets (and I asked the maid, with no result, same dust and same hairs were there when I left).
The beach facilities' access is not free anymore; you have to pay it extra.
The salads at the restaurant are still good, but half the size of old version ones.
The restaurant proudly affirmed yesterday "not pushing since 1989"; today they push clients in, like the other restaurants of south beach (very annoying general attitude, actually).
Last but not least, the hotel has lost a part of his charm without his Italian glamour cachet. It's not a question of brand (Diesel is no more in the business), but it was nice to have bomboloni at breakfast.
I think there is an empty place for a new successfully Italian style hotel, a place no more occupied by Pelican: a pity not to have money to launch such a kind of business, with potential clients ready to come and spend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Enea Z,

Thank you for your contribution on your most recent experience at the Pelican Hotel. Enea Z, we work very close with a restoration company to ensure that our vintage furniture are restored to it's best apperance. This might have just occured with the guest checked previously in you room. Regrettably it was not reported at the front desk. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me directly I would greatly appreciate it. This will give me the opportunity to review the exact room you stayed in.

Your comments will be dicussed with both the attendants and our executive chef. Reviews like yours help us improve on the level of service that we deliver daily. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience and return for year's to follow.

My personal email should you wish to share the name or number of your room is : Lupe@pelicanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent 2 days in pelican hotel.
Great rooms, very big and comfortable
And a lot of design!! Our room was 208 -lust in space!all the staff is very kind and nice, especially the guys at the restaurant!
Happy our for guests @4 to 6! Very nice.
Clean comfortable just 20 steps away from the beach and right in ocean drive. I' ve been in Miami before and I loved pelican because is right there but not noisy at all!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomaLauretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
RomaLauretta, thank you for your great review. We are delighted to have read your review.
On behalf of the team, thank you for having chosen the Pelican Hotel for your Miami Beach visit.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Maybe it sounds too perfect, but this hotel is very good in all ways.

me, my boyfriend and 2 friend of ours stayed for 4nights (mon-fri) and had a room on the 2nd floor. All rooms are individually designed, pretty cool. There were a queensize bed, bathtub, fridge etc. new towels every day.

Since the hotel is so close to the beach, they have their own sunbeds and you can rent them for free as long as you're a guest at the hotel. (ord. Price 15$/day) an umbrella costs the same.

Between pm 4-6, it's happy hour. But not the usual "buy 1 get 2"...the drinks are for free, just remember to tip the waiter/waitress and maybe order some food from the menu.

The one thing I will remember is the helpfull and serviceminded staff. We went on an cruise to Bahamas fri-mon. When we came back to Miami, we had a couple of hours before departure, so we went back to the beach. we had a lot of luggage, but no where to store it. So we asked the pelican hotel if we could "pretty please" put the bags in their luggageroom. No problem! That was so nice of them :)

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Therese E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear ThereseE,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was truly our pleasure to have you here with us. True to what we are a boutique hotel, we remember each and every one of our guests. Our entire team thanks you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

Cheers & Cheers from the Pelican Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
481 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Property: Pelican Hotel
Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing