We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good, but not the same old pelican”
Review of Pelican Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pelican Hotel
Ranked #40 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Giving a fair judgment to the today's Pelican version is not an easy matter when you have known the previous one.
The hotel is still well run, but furniture start to show distress - our chair had a broken leg - and even if the general cleaners is good, I was surprise to see that nobody think to clean inside the closets (and I asked the maid, with no result, same dust and same hairs were there when I left).
The beach facilities' access is not free anymore; you have to pay it extra.
The salads at the restaurant are still good, but half the size of old version ones.
The restaurant proudly affirmed yesterday "not pushing since 1989"; today they push clients in, like the other restaurants of south beach (very annoying general attitude, actually).
Last but not least, the hotel has lost a part of his charm without his Italian glamour cachet. It's not a question of brand (Diesel is no more in the business), but it was nice to have bomboloni at breakfast.
I think there is an empty place for a new successfully Italian style hotel, a place no more occupied by Pelican: a pity not to have money to launch such a kind of business, with potential clients ready to come and spend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Enea Z,

Thank you for your contribution on your most recent experience at the Pelican Hotel. Enea Z, we work very close with a restoration company to ensure that our vintage furniture are restored to it's best apperance. This might have just occured with the guest checked previously in you room. Regrettably it was not reported at the front desk. If you would be so kind as to reach out to me directly I would greatly appreciate it. This will give me the opportunity to review the exact room you stayed in.

Your comments will be dicussed with both the attendants and our executive chef. Reviews like yours help us improve on the level of service that we deliver daily. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests have a positive experience and return for year's to follow.

My personal email should you wish to share the name or number of your room is : Lupe@pelicanhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 1,241 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent 2 days in pelican hotel.
Great rooms, very big and comfortable
And a lot of design!! Our room was 208 -lust in space!all the staff is very kind and nice, especially the guys at the restaurant!
Happy our for guests @4 to 6! Very nice.
Clean comfortable just 20 steps away from the beach and right in ocean drive. I' ve been in Miami before and I loved pelican because is right there but not noisy at all!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RomaLauretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

RomaLauretta, thank you for your great review. We are delighted to have read your review.
On behalf of the team, thank you for having chosen the Pelican Hotel for your Miami Beach visit.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Maybe it sounds too perfect, but this hotel is very good in all ways.

me, my boyfriend and 2 friend of ours stayed for 4nights (mon-fri) and had a room on the 2nd floor. All rooms are individually designed, pretty cool. There were a queensize bed, bathtub, fridge etc. new towels every day.

Since the hotel is so close to the beach, they have their own sunbeds and you can rent them for free as long as you're a guest at the hotel. (ord. Price 15$/day) an umbrella costs the same.

Between pm 4-6, it's happy hour. But not the usual "buy 1 get 2"...the drinks are for free, just remember to tip the waiter/waitress and maybe order some food from the menu.

The one thing I will remember is the helpfull and serviceminded staff. We went on an cruise to Bahamas fri-mon. When we came back to Miami, we had a couple of hours before departure, so we went back to the beach. we had a lot of luggage, but no where to store it. So we asked the pelican hotel if we could "pretty please" put the bags in their luggageroom. No problem! That was so nice of them :)

I really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear ThereseE,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It was truly our pleasure to have you here with us. True to what we are a boutique hotel, we remember each and every one of our guests. Our entire team thanks you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

Cheers & Cheers from the Pelican Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

You can't beat the Ocean Drive location, right in the heart of South Beach. Check in staff are friendly and efficient and the rooms quiet and nicely decorated. Took advantage of the free cocktails in the afternoon and was surprised at the lack of other guests taking up the offer. Had dinner in the restaurant on the first night, ordered a seafood platter for 2 that the waiter showed us a photo of on their ipad, it consisted of a lobster, 4 large shrimp, calamari and a piece of salmon. Didn't enquire about the price of the dish and was surprised to see that it was $110, so with three drinks and tip the bill totalled $200 which we thought was expensive for just one course. So recommend you check the prices of the special dishes before ordering.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel has a great location right across from the beach and on the strip. The rooms are art deco and interesting, each room has it's own quirky name and decor. Staff are friendly and helpful. They serve good food for good value and the happy hour is great, offering you as much as you want for 2 hours including anything on the menu, they even threw in a few nibbles!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsHarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed one night at the Pelican Hotel after our cruise. We took advantage of the beach chairs and rented an umbrella for the day. We had the best spot on the beach! Both check-in and check-out were smooth and courteous. They graciously held our bags before and after our stay. The Some Like it Wet room was nice and quiet on the 3rd floor. The bathroom was spacious. We loved our complimentary drinks at the bar! The Pelican is just a short walk from everywhere we wanted to visit in South Beach. I hope to return soon for a longer stay!

Room Tip: Some Like It Wet room was nice and had a spacious bathroom. Very quiet room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrJenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

On behalf of the Pelican Team, thank you DrJenski for your kind review. We look forward to your return visit.

The Pelican Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here this past weekend after a prior hotel fell thru. I can't say enough about my initial contact to Kiara at the front desk, what a wonderful person. I was initially told there were no rooms available, and Kiara still continued to try to help us find a room in the area, who does that anymore wow actually help people. After a brief hold Kiara came back on and gave us some great news, she found a late checkout. This great ambassador of hospitality even waited by the front door as her shift had ended for us to checkin and I told her I was around the corner, again who does this. Now the good stuff we love the hotel, the room was out of this world. We stayed in the Executive Zebra Suite, Oceanfront. The room was beautiful with all you could for, clean beyond belief. The kids loved it, many pix were on Facebook by my daughter, I guess Dad did okay. The entire staff was great, thanks Lupe, keep up the great work;)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinmomdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PelicanHotelSobe, General Manager at Pelican Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Mom and Dad,

It was a true pleasure to serve your family. Our entire team truly enjoyed meeting each and everyone of you. I'm glad you are now in the "cool Dad" hall of fame!

Frankie you did GREAT!

Te felicito por tener una familia tan hermosa.

Saludos,

Lupe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#15 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#34 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelican Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelican Hotel

Address: 826 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $184 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelican Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A toy-hotel decorated with taste and no compromises, playing around different styles, recycled furniture and objects in an exquisite design and contemporary flair. At the Pelican, you see dining rooms from the 40's, refrigerator's from the 30's, sideboards stolen from a whorehouse, schools and churches for a paramount visual result, emphasizing the trends of the underground culture, movies (John Waters, Pedro Almodovar) and Disney cartoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pelican Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelican Hotel Miami Beach
Pelican Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing