We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Poor management communication.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #128 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location. Poor management communication.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May. Was very impressed with concierge team all very helpful. Self parking is very simple and close by also a lot cheaper than the valet parking. Breakfast café not very good with small portions and limited choice..Room overlooked back of hotel but was fine, clean and well proportioned. The bathroom however was a little on the small side. On our second day we were warned by letter left in our room that the fire alarm was going to be tested after midday the following day. We had to return the hotel around 11.15 and at 11.30 the alarm sounded now because the letter stated after midday we were not sure if this was a valid alarm or not. It turned out that the testing had begun early and none of the residents had been informed of the change of time. The noise walking through the corridors was painful on the ears. I raised this with reception asking why the testing had begun before the notified time. I asked for this to be raised with the manager and was told that the manager would either leave me a message or contact me in person. I have not yet heard anything and when mentioned on checking out the receptionist was not aware.

Room Tip: If you book the cheaper room the receptionist will try to sell you an upgrade to a corner ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuartg2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    586
    249
    85
    70
See reviews for
150
659
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

stayed here 3 nights in May 2013. great location but reception staff and concierge were poor - most of the time no-one at concierge desk and reception manager couldn't be bothered to help! over-charged in restaurant and billed for drinks when we hadn't even been in the hotel bar. (A spirit and mixer cost the equivalent of 10 pounds per drink - twice what we paid in the florida Keys the previous week). Room was not the best - room smelt musty with a stained carpet and very small bathroom with no window. No sun umbrellas on roof top area (it was 90 degrees on our last day so really needed to have some up there).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great location, cool art deco style in this medium size hotel, not as noisy as you'd expect in Ocean Blvd (though book a room as far possible from the elevator). Reasonable parking opportunity in nearby public parking lot (and valet parking is not obligatory). Breakfast is small portion but tasty and you get to have it on Ocean Blvd frontside, which is nice and quiet in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fabulous Hotel right in the middle of ocean Drive. Loved the location and the ambiance. The room was more than adequate for our needs and our only regret was that we only had one night here on our US holiday. The desk staff gave us helpful advice and directions so that we could try local food at a Cuban diner around the corner. As other reviewers had stated the rooms were a little dated as were the bathrooms but like those other reviewers I dont have a problem with this either as it all goes to the experience of reliving a classier time rather than the bland boxes that now make up modern hotel rooms.

Hotel staff were great and the location perfect for our very short stay. Beach right across the road and the night time buzz was simply amazing what with the music and the neon.

Right out the front is a fabulous restaurant row serving the most amazing drinks. had the big margarita with two corona's in it. Guaranteed to draw stares from the crowd but its not like we were the only ones drinking them and at $12. what a bargain. couldnt even come close to buying 2 coronas for that price in Australia.

all in all a real nice hotel for the price in a great spot. would definitely return if I get get back to the US.

Room Tip: if possible pay a bit extra and get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBofSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear MBofSA,

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the décor, ambiance, and offerings of our hotel and beloved South Beach. We too love the BIG MARGARITAS! We are glad to have met your expectations and hope that you will return to visit us sooner than later!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

on our first trip to south beach, didn't really know what to expect. we arrived at the hotel at 10:40am and were greeted by kesha who immediately offered to upgrade us to a oceanview room which was available right away so that we could begin enjoying our stay. the comp. towels and chairs are a much needed perk as well as being located directly across the street from the beach......wewill be baack rm 2317 is the best.

just need to add a light In the shower

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJJ681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear CJJ681,

First and foremost, thank you for your kind review and for spending Mother's Day weekend with us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at The Park Central Hotel. Keisha is a wonderful asset to our team and we are delighted that she was able to accommodate you and make your stay a memorable one. I will forward the lighting suggestion to our engineering department to see what changes can be made. We hope you will return and visit us soon as we look forward to welcoming you back to our home!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Sorry I haven't written this sooner, we stayed here between 16th and 24th April. When we first decided to holiday in Miami, I looked at various hotels then looked them up on here. I liked the fact that there were a lot of people who had stayed here several times and very few negative comments, so we went ahead and booked. We were not disappointed! We had a wonderful holiday helped, in part, by the great hotel. We upgraded to a partial sea view room as we had read they were slightly bigger. We had a well appointed bathroom with bathrobes, a walk in wardrobe which was big enough for all our hanging garments and shoes and a large bedroom with 2 chests of drawers - a 5 drawer and a 3 drawer. So plenty of room for all our belongings. The view from the large windows was over the small pool area then out to the beach and sea to the side. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable. We didn't eat in Quinns, but did try the more informal Park Central Cafe and had a drink in the bar, both very acceptable. However, there are so many options for dining that you could eat somewhere different for every meal and still have only scratched the surface. The pool area had a small pool and loungers laid out in a small garden to the side of the hotel. Although it was only small we had no problems finding a lounger, and when I was in the pool there was only one other lady with her little boy. There is also a sun deck on the roof terrace. We only went to see this at the end of our stay, but it was a lovely suntrap and again, only one other person up there when we went up. You are just across the road from the beach, and beach towels can be had for the beach or pool from the little gift shop in the hotel at no charge. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, our chambermaid was always smiling and singing and looked after us very well. We didn't hire a car but used the local buses, which were fun, and managed to get around perfectly well. We also walked a lot, which we always do on holiday. We also went on a couple of trips - to Key West and The Everglades. Both great and would thoroughly recommend. All in all a perfect holiday. Many thanks.

Room Tip: We chose a partial sea view room as they are bigger. We were on the 5th floor and although only a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Reba25,

We would like to thank you for your elaborate review of the Park Central Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear about your wonderful stay and excellent experience. It is nice to know that we met and exceeded all of your expectations and offered you a home away from home during your visit. You are definitely right about the infinite eating options on South Beach! It is a food lover's heaven! We do hope you will again choose us to host you in the future as we would love to welcome you back to our hotel!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez
CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just stayed this past weekend at the Park Central Hotel and wanted to put in my two cents on the experience. We are avid travellers and I had a last minute opportunity to spend the weekend in South Beach with my husband before he started a business trip. Anway, we had slim pickings regarding reasonably priced hotels as it was so close in to the travel date, and I was a little leary of the Park Cental after reading other reviews on this site (since I tend to be a little fussy about hotels), but it was completely worth it, and in fact quite a deal for the price. You can't beat the location, directly across from the beach, and the free beach chairs and continental breakfast were added bonuses. The first morning I went down to the breakfast, expecting a small breakfast room, but it was actually in the Park Central Cafe, outdoors right on Collins Avenue. What a great way to start your day in South Beach. I do agree with other reviewers that the rooms are a little dated, specifically the bathrooms, but what do you expect from a historic Art Deco hotel? The rooms were clean, housekeeping was prompt, and the front desk staff was very accomodating. We would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldman P, CRM Specialist at The Park Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jill010,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay at The Park Central Hotel. We are glad that you were able to stay with us and get a first hand look at what we have to offer. It is great to hear that we met your expectations and left you with a great experience and wonderful memories. We are happy you did give us a shot at impressing you despite any reviews that may have had a negative connotation . We do hope you will return and visit us again soon and allow us to share in making more memories with you!

Sincerely,
Sophia Gomez, CRM Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#97 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#72 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#187 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#175 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Property: The Park Central
Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#64 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing