We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Deco Hotel”
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #131 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've been staying at the Park Central almost every year since the mid-1990s. I love Art Deco and this hotel is a wonderful example; they have retained most of the original details, including the furniture. I also love the staff. Some of them have been working there for more than ten years, and know the place and the area inside and out. Housekeeping keeps the rooms immaculate.

The beach is across the street and most room deals come with free beach chairs; there's also a postage stamp-sized pool. I was happy to see that they've just redone the fitness room this year.

The big challenge in South Beach is finding good food, as most of the hotel restaurants are terrible. Breakfast is especially hard. We love Otentic for crêpes (if you're a late riser) and Pinocchio for coffee and pastries; I don't recommend the Park Central restaurant. The seafood restaurant in the hotel, Quinns, is very expensive and in my view not that great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for The Park Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wanted to stay in an authentic Art Deco hotel which was affordable. Some people just dont get it. Yes it is dated, thats the point!!!!! The bathroom is small as they were, but it was clean and the bed comfortable. The food next door at breakfast was good value. Best of all is the location in the

heart of the Art Deco area , across the road to the beach and a short walk to the Big Bus Stop. Good place to end your stay in Florida we thought.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneE68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a Historical Hotel at the heart of Miami Beach, cross the ocean drive road and you are at the beach. Rooms are OK with a good and large bed. Not well isolated so kf you have a noisy neibour.... Need a deep sleep. But overall it was a nice stay

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesbiolles1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with the hotel, we just got the standard queen room and the bed is a super kingsize bed and super comfy. The roof top terrace is a nice touch showing movies on sunday nights. The pool is a bit small but heated, it is very windy on the ocean road (could be the month we went though) and youfeel it bu the pool. We were on the 2nd floor in 211 and had no issues with noise. Definately a great find for the price and location.

Tip- dont walk straight into the restaurabts nearby, walk passed them on so they then offer you happy hour to get in or some sort of deal

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drummingboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel is awful. The entire hotel is dated like it hasn't been redecorated in 30years. It has ancient fans in the corridors, and room doors that barely close. The carpet must be 50years old and the furniture not much better. I honestly cannot express how bad this hotel is. My boyfriend took me there as a birthday surprise and we drove four hours to get there - we were so disappointed we drove four hours back on the same day just to avoid having to wake up there on my actual birthday.

Room Tip: Don't bother going for the top floor suit as we were shown this room when we decided to leave an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mvb244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

At the lower end of South Beach, this hotel is well located. The building looks impressive, especially at night. I didn’t have any issues with noise which is surprisingly as the hotel has live jazz in reception at night. The hotel is easily accessed from the airport by using American Shuttle minibus for $21 which is a cheap option for solo travellers. There is also a decent tour operator around the corner that has much cheaper day trips than the hotel can offer. There is small but functional gym in the hotel (one large resistance weights machine) and a small pool. I had been told that there was a roof top pool by my tour operator but sadly the pool here is at ground level. The sun deck on the roof and beach access are excellent however.
There are plenty of restaurants around the hotel and if you hunt around you can find some reasonable prices. The breakfast that came free with the room deal wasn't great however.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First time in South Beach - this hotel seemed more upscale than the other historic hotels on the strip. Great room - even with no view - comfortable bed, good food in the restaurant. Nice pool. Around the corner from great shopping. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#116 of 210 in Miami Beach
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Tides South Beach
The Tides South Beach
#62 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#89 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $115 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Park Central 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing