We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Summer holiday in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Park Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Park Central
Ranked #119 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Asia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Summer holiday in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This art-deco hotel has very nice rooms. But be sure you ask one with seaview, so that means the expensive rooms in the front of the building, or the other rooms at the higher floors. When you are down low, you can end up with a view of the alley next to the hotel. The hotel is on Ocean Drive, so ideal for beach, food and just hanging around Miami Beach. The parking which the hotel offers is good, five minutes from the hotel and a quick get-a-way from Miami Beach. The food of the restaurant is great. The pool is rather small, looks much bigger on the internet. The rooftop terrace is nice, but not spectacular. The beds are good, the bathroom is small, but stylish and complete. The staff is nice, easy-going and relaxed. The free fruit at the counter, where you get your beachtowels for the reserved beds on the beach, are a nice touch. Yes, we had a great week here and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyKoudijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    583
    249
    85
    70
See reviews for
149
656
48
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is the second time we stayed at Park Central. The first time (2 years ago) was "ok" but the building seemed kind of "tired." We stayed again because we needed a room with 2 beds and had trouble finding anything that's was affordable. Park Central was so much less expensive that we were steeling ourselves for a disaster. Not the case at all! The room was large, spotless, with two queen sized beds. We were located on the 6th floor, right near the roof deck. Linens and towels seemed brand new. Employees were gracious and welcoming. Location is great, right across the park from the beach. We were very happy with our choice and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gasparilla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Yes it's an old hotel - many period features mean things are old and are not new - but - great location in the Art Deco section - staff have been helpful and polite. food is good in the restaurant. Good value and it's on Ocean Drive South Beach - cant get much better. Highly recommended. Room 403 was quiet and very efficient aircon. Very clean.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan_AbbotsLangley_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of South Beach action. Our first real impression was the dimly lit, somewhat dingy looking hallway but I understand that they are trying to keep with the golden years time period so that can be shrugged off. Our room was a nice surprise: comfortable bed, clean, fabulous TV and spacious. I think this place grew on us since we staid 5 nights here because our plans to go to Key West had to be cancelled due to the hurricane. I haven't staid in any of the other hotels along the Ocean Ave strip but Park Central seemed above all the others in this section. If you are looking for a fancy roof deck and pool, this hotel is not the right pick but they do have both.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allocentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro NYC/NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I can't say thank you enough to the staff at The Park Central. During what could have been a stressful time, an impending hurricane, they showed so much consideration to us and between this and their lovely hotel and convenient location, we were able to make the best out of a rainy, windy situation.

First, the hotel. We had a lovely corner room - worth the $50 upgrade. It was large, on the 6th floor and had a view of the beach and the entire strip, north and southbound. Though this is an old Art Deco hotel, the room was modern in terms of great linens and huge flat screen tv. The bathroom had its original lovely pink and black tile with loads of mirrors and original mirrored medicine cabinet. In this upgraded room, there was also a small window in the bathroom as well. We were very please with this room. I should mention that parking is $20 a day and is in a public lot about a block behind the hotel. Easy to access and we could come and go as we pleased, though we didn't need to car very much.

What made this experience great was the hotel staff. From check in to check out, everyone went out of their way to lend a hand, smile and say hello. During the storm, our room windows and walls were leaking, leaving a wet mess on the carpets. They offered us another room and we declined, so they sent towels, a handyman and their apologizes. The morning that we went to check out, they were ready for us and the sweet manager apologized yet again and waived the upgrade fee entirely! What a nice unexpected surprise and it made this rainy trip a little less grim. I would stay at Park Central any time I'm in Miami. Its that good.

Room Tip: Pay the upgrade and get Room 606. One of the locals mentioned that its the room that Anne Rice house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

After spending our last vacation in Miami in a 5 Star right up the street, we decided to try a hotel closer to the action. Well we found it at The Park Central! The staff is so friendly and accommodating we could hardly believe it. The Park Central is a boutique hotel. It's not a modern style luxury hotel but once you're in, we felt at home. We really liked the interesting art deco design with all the modern amenities. From free Wifi virtually anywhere on the hotel property to the widescreen tv in the room a pool and lounge chairs (included) on the beach, we really couldn't ask for more. Also, being so close to shopping, especially during tropical storm Issac, we could easily get any supplies we wanted. Special thanks goes to the staff at The Park Central who were there to 'follow our every whim.' Front desk: Keysha, Sharon Fatima in house keeping. Many thanks!

Room Tip: The rooms from the 5th have no obstructions. Below the 5th, you may be viewing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hollywood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Excellent location for the price. Older hotel, hallway was smelly, room had everything we needed. Room closet smelled of mildew. We did not place any of our belongings in there because we were afraid that our clothing would smell. The room has no mirror other than in the one in the bathroom.The staff was nice and helpful especially Rick (bell man). We got free beach towels and beach chairs. Overall and decent experience. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#102 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beacon Hotel
Beacon Hotel
#42 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#62 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#183 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#23 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#177 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Park Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Park Central

Property: The Park Central
Address: 640 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6219
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Park Central 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Park Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central Miami Beach
Park Central Hotel Miami Beach
Park Central South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing