We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ocean

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ocean
Ranked #141 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
New Britain, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Rooms, Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel had some mixed reviews online, so I will admit, I started to get nervous before we arrived, hoping we wouldn't be extremely disappointed when we got there. And I wasn't at all! The location of this hotel was fantastic. It's right on Ocean Drive, where everything is happening in South Beach. Cross the street and you're on the beach, which has lovely sand, beautiful clear water, and was not too crowded all 4 days we were there. Hotel Ocean also happens to be two doors down from the Palace, which is a gay bar that does drag shows, which was a great time! The hotel is within walking distance of anything you could want in Miami Beach, from the shops and restaurants on Lincoln Road, down to the gorgeous (and quiet!) park at South Point. The hotel itself is much nicer than I expected. The rooms are huge and have nice hardwood floors, and the shower is a cool stone cut out in the side of the bathroom. The courtyard is really lovely, and although it can be loud and lively at night, the live music is a cool flamenco band, which I happened to think was a huge improvement over the techno music blaring from several other hotel courtyards in the area! Lastly, the staff was friendly, pleasant, and helpful during our entire stay. I saw several reviews claiming terrible staff and service, but I found the complete opposite during our stay. We arrived several hours before the official 4pm check in time. We were told our room wasn't ready yet, but would definitely be ready early. They offered to hold our bags and call my cell phone as soon as our room was ready. About 10 minutes after we left to grab a bite to eat, I got the phone call that our room had opened up and we could check in at any time. They were also very accommodating with our late departure, allowing us to check out an hour later than standard and holding our bags the rest of the day.

Some negatives would be the sugar ants in our kitchen area. It didn't really bother us since we didn't keep food in our room (we didn't even know we were getting a kitchen area in our room!). Harmless and tiny, but they were there if it bothers you. There will be noise at night and in the mornings, especially if your room overlooks the courtyard like ours did. But again, all of Ocean Drive is just as noisy, so I booked this hotel expecting that. The lobby and elevator also had a strange mildew-y kind of smell, like they were trying too hard to cover it up with too much air freshener, but it wasn't working. However, our room itself smelled perfectly clean. If our room smelled as bad as the elevator, I would definitely leave a less positive review, but since the weird smell was only in passing, it was something I could deal with.

All in all, this hotel was cheaper than a lot of others on Ocean Drive, and I think a really good deal for the area. The price did fluctuate based on the specific dates of our stay, so it helps to do some research and be flexible on your dates. I was very pleased with this hotel, would stay again, and would recommend to others. It's not a 4-star hotel by any means, but very nice for the price and a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    146
    86
    61
    79
See reviews for
55
227
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

The service we received from Ellie was one of the greatest thAt I have ever received. She took great care of us during our stay and accommodated us to the best of her ability. She has a great smile and genuinely wants everyone to have a great experience during their stay at Hotel Ocean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timothytrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

only stayed here for two nights but had an excellent experience... large spacious rooms, staff was very friendly and helpful, free wifi, and located on ocean drive, great value for money. only negatives- Very loud until midnight so dont expect to sleep before then, and the fitness centre and pool were not available but they did offer free access to the facilities at the sister hotels that are very close. highly recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I booked the Penthouse Suite in June of 13 for a January of 14 stay. Hotel Ocean made me prepay for 1 night of a two-night stay, which I did, in order to reserve the Penthouse. A week before we were to arrive, I received an email from them confirming my reservation for my upcoming stay in the Penthouse. The night of our stay, our plane was a bit delayed, so I called from the Philadelphia airport to let them know I would be arriving later than usual. They informed me that I had been "upgraded" to a suite in the Breakwater. I said, um, ok. Upon landing, we had our driver take us to the Breakwater. When we checked in, we were told we had been upgraded to a junior suite. I explained that a junior suite was not an upgrade from a Penthouse. The woman who checked us in was unsympathetic, told me that was all that was available and we were taken to a room in the nearby Edison Hotel. We had 5 people in our party, and we were given a "suite" that was supposed to be for two people. There was a bed, a couch that opened in a poor sofa bed, and upon request, they brought us a rollaway. This took up all available space in the room, not included our 8 pieces of luggage. Across the street was a nightclub with outside music and barely-dressed dancers. I had my kids with me. What a disaster! I demanded to talk to the manager, however, I was told she wouldn't be in until 9:00 the next morning and there was nothing they could do. I was FURIOUS! At 9:00, I called for the manager, only to be told she wasn't in. This went on all day until that afternoon. The manager finally returned my call. She was very understanding about our situation. She called me back and agreed to give us an extra room in the Breakwater, so our party of 5 had more room. This was all that was available so we took it. The manager was very nice, but we were still out the cost of the first night of all 5 of us being cramped into one room. Although we were given an additional room, at no extra cost, for the 2nd night, it still was without a balcony and all of the amenities promised by the Penthouse.

It is obvious that when you book a room at this hotel, it is still first come-first served. Like Jerry Seinfeld said "You know how to TAKE the reservation. You just don't know how to HOLD the reservation." Anyway, I doubt we will ever go back after this fiasco. It cost a lot of money and was very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lodijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Hotel Ocean was perfect spot to experience South Beach Miami, FL! Restaurant on hotel plaza was convenient. This hotel is right in the thick of things so be prepared for night life action. Great VIEW!

Room Tip: Go up if you want killer views! Location can't be beat. Ocean and playground right across street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

week end is busy due to festival , valet parking was excellent, hotel was clean ,spacious room and a lot of fun in the evening, enjoyed the night life and the day time activities of the Art deco festival congrats to all who worked on the commity.
My only complaint was the staff had no clue as to what the what certain activities were going on or where. Maybe next year the staff will be more informed .
I would deffinitly recommend this cute hotel to every one who goes to South Beach I for one and definitly going back there for longer period of time. Thanks Hotel Ocean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is absolutely horrible, rooms are not even close to what they look like on their site. It's a total dive and you can get much better places in Miami for the same price.

When I checked in; I simply asked if there was free parking for guests and the lady laughed and said not in Miami. I asked if there were smoking rooms and she then told me about the charges I would receive if I were to smoke in my room. As she swiped my credit card, she also told me there are no refunds. I hadn't even been up to my room yet and I wanted a full refund.

This is not how guests of a hotel should be treated. I am very very surprised to read that some people found this hotel friendly. I guess I was there on the wrong day ;)

Hotel Ocean is a total dive and you can get much more for the same price in Miami. I urge you to book a different hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetSetter549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cavalier South Beach
#91 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Cardozo Hotel
#135 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#130 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#83 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean

Property: Hotel Ocean
Address: 1230 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with chic modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Miami Beach
Ocean Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing