We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Somewhere Else!!”
Review of Hotel Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ocean
Ranked #158 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stay Somewhere Else!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel had a great location that is it! The first room we had was supposed to be a suite and the floors were bowing and they were filthy. The living room area was dirty and dingy. The small couch was dirty and disgusting. The faucet in the bathroom sink did not even reach far enough into the sink to wash your hands. The kitchen area was dirty and the counters were old and uneven. There was music until midnight. We were not told about the continental breakfast which we saw on the day we were leaving and would not have eaten anything anyway. We did ask for a better room and we were moved to another smaller room but it was in better condition with upgraded bathroom and room. Looked like it was renovated. There was loud construction noise outside and within the hotel. Housekeeping did not make a visit to our room. Very disappointed and glad we did not pay full price for the rooms. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 400mag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    153
    91
    64
    87
See reviews for
60
246
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west kendall
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Best managers and front desk ever *Ellie was very helpful; we made a friend for life.Thanks OCEAN; We, also liked the restaurant and the rooms. A TREMENDOUS EXPERIENCE.Our trips to the beach were sooo... fun and the towels and extras were great.

Room Tip: Pent--House 1 is best; we also had good rooms in the other tower on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorge l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed 11 nights in this hotel, and the location was unbelievable. In the heart of South Beach. Many thanks to the staff that work here for their kindness. Special thanks to Ms. YULIMA for outstanding courtesy (10 points), speaks fluent Spanish and English. Miss ELHANE who despite having little knowledge of Spanish, put a lot of effort to speak, so we appreciate it too, many thanks.
Observations we wanted to do:
- Improve service in regard to cleaning rooms.
- The staff in the afternoon, it would be advisable that they speak both languages, spanish and english.
Despite this, we recommend the Hotel, reforms have been made in the rooms and are making a more modern and a more comfortable hotel. Best luck!
MARÍA AND JUANJO

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanjorodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I booked the pent house for my stay in Miami. The discription says sleeps 6, turns out it really only "sleeps" 4. There is one king sized bed, a couch, and a day bed. The couch looked like it would work... Until you sat in it and feel through it into the floor. I was very displease by the fact that I booked the penthouse and it ended up being like a studio, or better yet like all of the other rooms...just bigger and with balconies. I really thought there would be seperate rooms as I also thought it slept 6. Turns out if you would like to have up to 6 ppl you have to pay an additional $100 per cot. The valet service is a joke. I waited 45 minutes to have my car parked because the valet "left". This even after I had to leave my car illegally parked outside to go into the hotel to tell the desk agent I needed to valet, after calling the hotel multiple times with no answer. The bathroom had a weird smell... Maybe mildewy or moldy?
The location was good, right near everything. As far as the noise... Your on ocean drive and everyone is drunk... Keep your windows closed. The noise level was not bothersome to me. The desk agent did waive my valet charge due to the wait, even though so seems completely oblivious to anything else I asked. The balcony was amazing. Lots I space, decoration was nice, and amazing views.
Overall, I expected more from
booking a penthouse suite.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltrvled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here at the end of September. We booked this hotel thru Groupon, and we really not expecting anything special. We stayed in another hotel the previous night to staying here, and the check out was noon. Check in was not until 4pm at Hotel Ocean, but we decided to see if there was a way we could check in any earlier, so we went straight there. When asked, the lady at the counter (whom, was very nice) said that unfortunately if we wated the room reserved through Groupon, we would need to wait until 4pm, but, if we wanted to accept a FREE upgrade, they had a nicer room available already! We couldn't believe our ears, so we asked for more detail.... She said we reserved a "city view" room and it was smaller, but this room would be on the beach side and quite large. Well, of course, we couldn't say no! So we went up. It was soooo amazing! The room was huge, the bed was big (king) and the tv was a large flat screen in front of the bed (where as the last place had about a 32inch old tv in a small corner) It also had a chaze lounge, fireplace (just for looks, but cool) a fridge and a wardrobe, all designer. The bathroom was tighter, but that's because the shower was so big it took over half the room! it was all really nicely tiled and had one of those "Rain" like shower heads. The view was of the beach although it was blocked by palm trees. But that didn't matter as we were just across the road and a little park from the beach. Below the room on that side of the building is all restaurant, so beware if you are an early to bed person, they play music all night until 11pm, when it promptly stopped throughout the strip. The food at the restaurant was very good. The free breakfast was normal, but a good variety. We had a fabulous time! The service is so good and the restaurant had a VERY nice woman that helped us, she had such great customer service, but we didn't get her name. All in all, we give it 5 stars for our stay:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great friendly, independent proporerty with terrific location on Ocean Drive. Eli at the front desk took fantastic care of us and provided helpful recommendations as to where to go when. Ocean has a couple of sister hotels in Sobe including the Versace Mansion which it recently acquired. I'm coming back!

Room Tip: Talk to Avi, she's fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hassino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was our 10 year anniversary. We went on our honeymoon to this hotel. Great location. Good hotel, not so good maintenance though. After 10 years the hotel looked a bit run down, 3 out of 4 bicycles that hotel boasts you can borrow were dangerous to operate or not functioning at all.
The entertainment outside goes till midnight. Stuff very pleasant but a bit slow and relaxed. We still had a lot of fun and enjoyed our stay. With just a bit care and focus on details this hotel has a great potential. We like because it gives you a little break from all that South beach feel, since that is all you are surrounded during the day.
Best of luck, good place, good vacation, just do not expect anything extraordinary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,207 reviews
The Colony Hotel
#168 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#67 of 208 in Miami Beach
162 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Leslie Hotel
#46 of 208 in Miami Beach
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ocean

Property: Hotel Ocean
Address: 1230 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#107 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with chic modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Miami Beach
Ocean Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing