We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Art Deco Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Hotel Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
National Hotel Miami Beach
Ranked #63 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Art Deco Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great Boutique art deco hotel. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything. You definetely don"t need a car. This hotel has a great relaxed, private feel in the middle of all the action. I've stayed here 3 times and highly reccomend it. The pools and beach are the best. The buffet breakfast could be better.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    249
    93
    42
    24
See reviews for
156
329
36
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed at this great boutique hotel in Miami Beach Fla for Memorial Day weekend 2014, I had a wonderful stay. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. The pool is super sexy. The personnel at the hotel were very helpful and hospitality was stupendous. I am looking forward to stay here again for my next vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillian33167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Stayed here for 4 days and the service was great. Pool area is extremely nice. Beach steps away! Highly recommend this hotel. The Art Deco and historic feel was great.. Rooms were nice size and very clean. The beds were very comfortable. Our view of the beach was very nice. We loved that it was walking distance to Lincoln rd and ocean dr. The pool was great nice cabanas to just relax and enjoy a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjc0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just came back from a great 5 day stay at the National. The location was perfect, beach was right outside the hotel, Ocean drive at walking distance and our view was amazing. Service was great our concierge Richard was great! We came to him for ideas of what we could do in the Miami life. We gave him some ideas of what we had in mind and while we ate our complimentary breakfast, Richard looked up many different options of what we could do during the days we were there, including day and night options as well as a variety of food options. My best friend had a blast during our trip and had a great stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystallpz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautiful hotel with lovely atmosphere and furnishings . Very sweet friendly staff. The pool was wonderful it was sleek and warm with a poolside bar and grill. The rooms were immaculate smelled good clean and welcoming. I've stayed in hotels all over the world and the National stands out as my new favorite.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristieannw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This Hotel was booked on “hot wire” and as our last experience with booking a hotel on pictures and on recommendation (Esplendor Hotel) was disastrous and I was worried, so I went to have a quick look at The National Hotel, before going on cruise. I was sold as soon as I enquired if it was possible to leave some of my luggage there (I didn’t need all of it for the cruise) as they were only too happy to keep it for me free of charge. And the hotel looked clean, upmarket and I was totally at peace with coming back from the cruise to stay there.
Wow. what an amazing place I couldn’t stop saying enough about The National Hotel and the people who took care of me.

From the luggage man, to the waiters, to the Concierge, to receptionist, to everyone I encountered I really made some amazing connections with the employees. This is what I had to say. They became my “friends” and I became theirs. The National Hotel is indeed a place I was happy to call my home away from home.
Lovely clean, nothing was too much for them. Fantastic facilities, magnificent setting, unbelievably large pools, with hammocks to sit it, cabanas to either have massages, or just to get some comfortable shade on relaxing beds. Good food, good service. To access the beach, all you have to do is walk to the end of the pool area, open a gate and walk across, the gorgeous beach is right there.
Good value for money.
I have travelled too many countries, but the National Hotel, South Miami Beach, Florida, was definitely one of my best experiences. In fact, I was puzzled as to how much they did for me and how come they treated me like a queen and it was like I had been a regular there. Furthermore, I was made to feel like Iwas their only guest, when it dawned on me that in fact, that is how they treat most of their guests (perhaps I just clicked exceptionally well with them as they really made her stay there exceptional) If it was Richard the Concierge telling me where to go and eat (stunning Cuban restaurant) and writing out the whole menu as I was to eat it, to arranging to return a dress I bought that I couldn’t get back to change, to Natalya (Concierge) going out of her way to always find time to chit chat to her (despite the fact that the hotel was busy and she was being pulled from pillar to post) Told me where to go and how to organise my sight-seeing.
Such lovely homely, down to earth people. Avi, in the restaurant, made it his business to ensure I had whatever I needed, whether it was a special tea, or a coke, or a “something” he did an excellent job of looking after me and he is an asset to the hotel, as is Danby, nick-name, “coffee man” – I was was waited on hand and foot by either himself personally, or ensured the staff took care of her. As soon as I sat down, he literally ran to get me coffee, made sure I always ate a decent breakfast and added extras here and there. What a lovely man as well.

In summing up, The National Hotel, comes truly highly recommended and when anyone we know wants to travel or we know of them travelling to Miami, we will without hesitation suggest they stay there.
Brian, Michel, Elenor, Douglas (if you want to know the weather forecast, just ask him) Sebastian, and too many more to mention, you all did a sterling job.
We will be back all of us as a family …….

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESKMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at the National Hotel for three days during the latter part of May 2014. The hotel is very nice and the service was excellent. It also offered a free breakfast buffet Moreover, the hotel is on the beach and close to everything. If you want to venture to other areas of Miami Beach taxi cabs are cheap. The hotel manager was very nice and accommodating (I wish I could recall his name). The front desk clerk, Claudia, was excellent and our bellman, Armando, was more than pleasant and was a great source of information.

Room Tip: Stay in a beach front room. Nice views of the ocean. The bungalow rooms are nicer and have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Sagamore
#67 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National Hotel Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National Hotel Miami Beach

Property: National Hotel Miami Beach
Address: 1677 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#42 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — National Hotel Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in South Beach's celebrated Art Deco neighborhood, our oceanfront resort evokes cinematic elegance, boasting 116 newly designed city and direct ocean view guestrooms in our Historic Tower, and 36 luxurious cabanas and suites, skirted alongside native tropical palm trees and the city's longest infinity-edge pool. Fully restored in 2014, the hotel was recognized by "Historic Hotels of America" for maintaining its architectural authenticity while bringing subtle and sophisticated elements of contemporary design for the discerning traveler. The National Hotel's Tamara Bistro, among other unique onsite venues, offers old Gatsby glamour with New World fusion cuisine. We invite you to visit Miami Beach's 30s and 40s classic era of grace, elegance and style at the National Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your National Hotel Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing