We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Coolest rooms I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marlin Hotel
Ranked #52 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
265 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Coolest rooms I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We didn't have any great expectations about our one night stay here, but that should soon end up to be another story. We came quite early (around 8 in the morning), and even though our rooms weren't ready they gave us another available room in the meantime, to give us the opportunitiy to relax and store our luggage. When the other rooms were ready and we were out, they moved our luggage. Talk about a good start.

The rooms themselves just needs to be experienced. They were really awsome just along the musical path that the hotel has, and all of your room is controlled to an iPad. Everything doen't work 100% all of the time, but that's just minor flaws. The rooms are different, so I guess each of them offer a quite unique experience.

Service was good all the way, Internet worked without any hassle and there was even a buzzing bar in the evening. Location was perfect for everything we needed, just a block from the beach and Ocean Drive, so there is really nothing negative to say. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    48
    23
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
117
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The marlin is a very cool hotel in an awesome location. Loved the staff, loved the technology in the rooms (the tv in the mirror was great!) only thing I didn't like was that the bathroom sliding door wouldn't shut all the way (no privacy in the bathroom) and the lobby always smelled musty, and our travel buddies room key kept not working. As an added bonus having Tiesto in the room next to us was pretty fun. Would totally go back in hopes that the bathroom door would close this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tasha_tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful "Gem" of a Hotel in Miami, and wish we could have stayed longer! it is perfectly situated for shopping, eating, the beach, or simply sitting back with a cocktail and watching it all happen. The Kids loved the modern, spacious rooms. My husband enjoyed the well stocked bar skillfully manned by friendly staff. I loved the beautiful chandelier and attention to music and lighting. It was however the efforts entire staff.... most noticeably, Jeff , that will ensure our return to this home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry0970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

we spent 2 nights including new years eve at this lovely place. Jeff, the hotel concierge was most helpful.
Hip, cool modern environment, room controls by ipad very cool and the service was great!!! Our children loved the technology. Jeff took us on the tour of a recording studio because so many musicians came here to record!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pickeringpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koror, Palau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the Marlin with my Girlfriend for a weekend getaway. We had a great time, and the hotel has gotten a lot of things right. For starters the building itself has a great Art Deco look, and is small enough to have a relaxed almost guest lodge like vibe. I loved the decor and the lighting of the hotel, and enjoyed the in room art work. The location is great. Most impressibely they have also done a great job with the in room technology, having all the lights, tvs, music, shades, and A/C in the rooms hooked up to an ipad that they give you when you check in. The staff is friendly and helpful, and gave me some genuinely good hole in the wall restaurant and bar recomendations (having lived in Miami before I was half expecting them to tell me to try and get food somewhere on Lincoln road).

The Marlin does a lot of things right, which made it incredibly frustrating at the silly little things they get wrong. Things like leaving one bar of soap in the room (for the shower or the sink?) having a sliding bathroom door that doesn't fully close, shower knob that pops off, no tissues in the room, etc. Yet all these things are pretty minor and easily fixed.

All in all if you're looking for a nice getaway the Marlin is a solid choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hmoore89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very recommendable hotel. Perfectly located next to great restaurants and the Webster. Friendly and professional staff, Alex and Daniela are very helpful. Big, comfortable and pleasant rooms. Children friendly. Won't be disappointed by this boutique gem!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Francisco S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Sometimes you wonder what to expect with a 5 start hotel. You expect angels falling from the sky and service you can't imagine. But even at 5 start hotels I stayed at across the country I never had that experience till now ! I was amazed how an authentic art deco building in Miami could give you such an experience. Everything you imagine in a city like Miami. The moment you walk in, you meet Alex behind his desk. Alex is not just your host but a friend within 15 min. Amazing how he can make you feel so welcome. He lived in Miami his whole life and learns you more about all the trendy spots then you can google in your vacation. The hotel location is in walking distance from all the hot spots and at the same time quit located so you don't get overwhelmed. With easy parking across the street. On purpose I am not going to tell anything about the rooms since that has to stay a surprise till you walk in. But I can tell you its like walking into your own Steve Jobs bedroom ! The hotel is also a recording studio... So maybe just like us you encounter some famous people in the morning when they were just there all night working ;) Enjoy Miami how it supposed to be ! Thanks again to the Marlin Hotel team. Roel Vanmusyen ps: I stayed there October 26 2013

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgiumBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#43 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Shepley Hotel
The Shepley Hotel
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Property: The Marlin Hotel
Address: 1200 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin Hotel is a considerate combination of history, architecture, modern luxury and style. The cozy and welcoming nature of the hotel coupled with its South Beach location makes it the ultimate destination for those seeking a luxurious beach getaway. Situated amidst the escapade that is South Beach, the hotel is the perfect oceanside hideaway. Guests are just steps away from white sand beaches as well as must-see shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel has recently been completely renovated and has been committed to preserving the landmark art deco building's architectural dynasty, while providing guests with unparalleled elegance and gracious service. The guestrooms and suites are luxurious and spacious, ranging from 240 to 500 square-feet and redesigned to create a home away from home, heightened by the contemporary style, custom- designed furniture and fixtures, wood floors and serene color palate. The relaxing setting extends to the spa-like bathroom that includes a rainfall shower, unique glass-enclosed wet room and therapeutic pebble floor. Each room offers exquisite attention to detail, from the hand-selected pillows and rugs to the coastal-inspired artwork that is reminiscent of Miami's tropical surroundings. No two rooms are alike but all feature state-of-the-art amenities including a 55" LED TV with surround sound, fully stocked mini bar, luxury linens, custom spa bathrobes and slippers, and blackout drapes with remote control. The hotel also offers thoughtful amenities to ensure that each stay is nothing short of perfection, including a designated maid and turndown service, laundry and dry-cleaning, transportation, complimentary continental breakfast and high-speed wireless internet. The interior of the hotel exudes opulence, while still embodying the energy and style for which it has always been known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing