We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The marlin hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marlin Hotel
Ranked #60 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The marlin hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing getaway at the boutique hotel. The manager Daniella was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was modern and very high tech. To use an iPad for all controls was a first for us. The location couldn't be better, 1 block off of ocean drive. From going to the beach, Lincoln road, ocean drive for dinner and people watching, we couldn't be happier to the point we extended our stay.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ronisenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    49
    23
    5
    9
See reviews for
29
119
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

When I booked the hotel it was advertised as having a restaurant and bar with 24 hour room service on both the booking site and the hotel website. Now having stayed I can tell you there is no restaurant or bar. I haven't used the 24 hour room service but without any facilities I didn't see the point. I did call room service at about 8 one evening for a corkscrew which I believe should have been present in the room and was astonished to find they couldn't provide one, I had to go out and find a liquor store to purchase one myself. Don't get me wrong it's not all bad, Alex gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and gave us some very good advice on the area. I just feel the whole 60" TV with limited cable and iPad controls are mere gimmicks and the hotel lacks in fundamental areas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammers666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a great 3-night stay at the Marlin Hotel. The only thing missing was an on-site restaurant and bar.
The rooms exceeded our expectations. Our party had a king suite and standard queen. The king suite is a splurge, but exceeds the expectations with tons of space, seating and even a walk-in closet. The standard room is also surprisingly roomy for South Beach. All the rooms are outfitted with mood lighting and entertainment systems controlled via i-pad.
And of course, the staff was the icing on the cake. Jeff, who greeted us and orchestrated our check-in, was very warm and professional. And Damien had excellent recommendations and was very responsive to our requests. The front desk was always manned and all the staff seemed to take pride in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lydia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Most hotels are pretty much the same, at least in terms of the basics. You check in, use the bathroom, sleep in the bed and make a cup of coffee in the morning. Of course the quality of hotels vary considerably but not the basics. Until you check in to the Marlin Hotel.

First of all the help you get at the front desk is extraordinary. Most of the time we spoke to Alex. It was like having a friend in South Beach. Not only did he explain everything about the room but he came up and helped us as well. He gave us restaurant suggestions and even predicted when it would rain and stop raining. We probably spoke with him for over an hour during our 3 night stay.I can't say enough about him.

Then there is the room. Unlike any we have stayed in and we have stayed in fine hotels throughout the world. You control the lights, TV and drapes with an Ipad. There was a large flat screen TV behind the mirror. Both the room and bathroom were very spacious. The shower was very large with a rain shower. Loved all of it.

The only drawbacks were that they parked your car 15 minutes away. But South Beach was too congested to want to drive through it anyway. We took cabs when we needed to. There was no coffee maker or tissues in the room which was a surprise because you get those even in cheap hotels. But Alex personally got them for us anyway.

All in all I recommend the Marlin Hotel for a unique experience in South Beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had been traveling and switching hotels every couple of nights, and we were delighted with The Marlin. Other reviewers mentioned the reception being on the second floor, but there was a desk in the lobby area when we were there, so none of those things were a problem. It was rare that someone wasn't at the desk. We appreciated the code to get in the building, and the front patio was lovely. We stayed for a couple of nights before flying to our next destination.

Jeff checked us in, explained the iPad functions, and gave us a great recommendation for dinner (Havana 1957 for Cuban - so delicious). He oriented us to the area, and was very cheerful, welcoming, and friendly.

Daniella helped me arrange a massage appointment, complete with calling a cab to take me there. She was VERY helpful with the whole experience and never seemed to mind. Her recommendation (The Standard) was excellent, and she gave me enough information to be prepared to access all the amenities there.

Dameon (sp?) was also very helpful and friendly. We chatted about vacation destinations, he took pictures and changed the lobby lighting for us, and he called us a cab when it was time to leave.

These three people really made the experience at the hotel great for us! They all checked back with us to make sure that things we going well and recommendations were appropriate. Additionally, the rooms were clean and a little funky. This is the only hotel we've ever stayed in with a bed as comfortable as we have at home. We slept late every day! We had no problems with any of the functions of the iPad. You could open the curtains for sunlight, or close them and establish whatever mood you wanted with music and colors from the iPad. They had programmed suggestions or you could create your own combinations. At night, the buttons for the lights are illuminated on the wall, so you just have to punch the button to bring up the lights. You can illuminate the art on the wall, if you so desire! My husband loved the television in the mirror, and I liked the neat appearance without the tv. The room safe worked without a problem. The bathroom doesn't provide much privacy, but we were fine. There was a neat rain shower feature that could be used, or not. I really liked the lavender-peppermint shampoo, etc. Beach towels and a beach bag were provided, which made it very easy to just run down to the beach, only a block away. There were tons of good restaurants in the area, some convenience stores if you need that, and an ATM in the store next door. We did not see the bar in use during our stay, but it looked nice. We almost never heard other guests, and there was little noise from outside.

We are VERY likely to book here again. (It is not a place for children or people uncomfortable with technology.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great modern hotel with some nice little touches, in a great location. But our last night was spoilt with a party being held at the end of our corridor that went on until the early hours.

Miami is full of hotels so finding one that suits you is a bit of a challenge, when we arrived at the hotel late on our first night we were greeted with a friendly receptionist. They showed us up to the room ran though the room controls on the iPad, then whisked us off to an amazing tapas place called Pub Belly for some late night food (which was amazing). We can also recommend David’s Cafe for breakfast and 11th Street Diner for dinner.

Unfortunately our last night was a little spoilt by noise from a party that was being held at the end of our corridor, we had an early flight to get the next day so didn't end up getting much sleep at all. We did complain about the noise and two apologies’ were made by the hotel staff, but nothing much was done. I know we were in Miami the party town, but if you pay to sleep in a hotel then sleep is what you should be able to get.

Apart from our last night problem, we can’t fault the hotel keep up the good work guys.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJ32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is very nice and very stylish with very good services. The location is excellent with the beach and all restaurants within walking distance. The rooms are very nice and well kept. The only negative we experienced is the noise of drunks in the middle of the night. This hotel is in the heart of South Beach on Collins Avenue. Management needs to be much more proactive with security. Several nights during out stay, we were awoken by drunk revelers. These disturbances seemed to go on a long time; management needs to do a better job of cutting off these incidents so the rest of use could sleep after 3 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impala Hotel
Impala Hotel
#14 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#61 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.1 mi away
The Shepley Hotel
The Shepley Hotel
#10 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Property: The Marlin Hotel
Address: 1200 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin Hotel is a considerate combination of history, architecture, modern luxury and style. The cozy and welcoming nature of the hotel coupled with its South Beach location makes it the ultimate destination for those seeking a luxurious beach getaway. Situated amidst the escapade that is South Beach, the hotel is the perfect oceanside hideaway. Guests are just steps away from white sand beaches as well as must-see shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel has recently been completely renovated and has been committed to preserving the landmark art deco building's architectural dynasty, while providing guests with unparalleled elegance and gracious service. The guestrooms and suites are luxurious and spacious, ranging from 240 to 500 square-feet and redesigned to create a home away from home, heightened by the contemporary style, custom- designed furniture and fixtures, wood floors and serene color palate. The relaxing setting extends to the spa-like bathroom that includes a rainfall shower, unique glass-enclosed wet room and therapeutic pebble floor. Each room offers exquisite attention to detail, from the hand-selected pillows and rugs to the coastal-inspired artwork that is reminiscent of Miami's tropical surroundings. No two rooms are alike but all feature state-of-the-art amenities including a 55" LED TV with surround sound, fully stocked mini bar, luxury linens, custom spa bathrobes and slippers, and blackout drapes with remote control. The hotel also offers thoughtful amenities to ensure that each stay is nothing short of perfection, including a designated maid and turndown service, laundry and dry-cleaning, transportation, complimentary continental breakfast and high-speed wireless internet. The interior of the hotel exudes opulence, while still embodying the energy and style for which it has always been known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing