We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right Place To Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marlin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Marlin Hotel
Ranked #6 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Right Place To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights in late Feb for South Beach Food Wine. Nice simple quiet retro hotel two blocks to ocean. Close to night life restaurants beach shopping and everything needed for a South Beach romantic getaway. If you are bringing the kids this is not the place for you. Try the lowes or ritz. Techno stuff others talk about is cool when it works but that was rare during our stay. Valet was also a little difficult as the hotel has to call them to pickup or deliver the car and there is rarely parking out front while waiting. Overall nice spot.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cateredin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    81
    26
    5
    9
See reviews for
49
217
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Rooms are spacious but without quality; the mirrorfFlat TV is the only very nice thing inside;
we had a room very noisy for the airco machine(we could'nt sleep), we asked to change room
without success and so we left the hotel the second day;
no bar inside the hotel, small reception on the second floor;no breakfast;
we expected another thing than the one we had; it's apity because the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank depexmode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were a little concerned the moment we arrived at the Marlin (after travelling for over 14 hours) when we couldn't get in through the front door. You need a key code (nobody told us) and with Reception on the first floor, it took almost 5 minutes before somebody came and let us in.
Our room was a small, funky,standard double. The iPad controls almost everything (except our LED mood lighting didn't function at all). The room safe also didn't function. The faults were reported, but nothing was done about them until the morning of our departure, some 3 days later.
We booked 'Room Only' but had been enticed by the dinner menu that appears on the hotel's own website - EXCEPT the restaurant wasn't open (and didn't look as though it had been for some while). We were quite disappointed and felt we had been misled by the information on the website. Also, during our visit, the bar located on the Ground Floor was bare and closed.
The location is great - just a short walk away from the lively Ocean Drive, and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from for breakfast, lunch and dinner. That is probably the one thing that the Marlin has going for it.
The room was clean and comfortable - and that's about all you can say about this place. I was left with a feeling that the hotel is being run as somebody's hobby and not their business. The staff are friendly enough, but it needs a good manager to whip them into shape.
We certainly wouldn't return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G-BOAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed at the Marlin hotel for 4 nights in April and loved the design and concept of the hotel. The iPad controlled lights, tv, curtains and air con is a great touch and really adds to the enjoyment of the stay. The design is very funky and the rooms are all suites with king beds and sofa beds allowing lots of room for a Miami Hotel. The hotel is only a block from the beach providing a fantastic location. Beach bags provided is a great touch and complimentry wifi was a good bonus too. There were a couple of minor problems while we were there but overall not enough to take back from a lovely stay. When we arrived the hotel reception is on the 2nd floor and the door from the street is locked. The intercom had broken so we had to wait until someone came out of the door to access the hotel. We then asked about parking and were offered the valet service at $29 a night. I wasn't awate that parking was so expensive but that may just be my naivity and not reading the website clearly. The first night we were there we were woken at 4am by noise from the studio on the ground floor that was really loud. We complained to reception but were told that since the recording studio isn't owned by the hotel there wasn't much they could do. They did move us to another room on a higher floor and offered us a discount but the room wasn't quite as big/good as the first room. After the switch however we did sleep like a dream every night. The bathroom door in the room didn't close properly as it was a sliding door so would roll open each time you used it. This didn't bother me so much but was annoying whenever you tried to use the toilet. We did inform reception but were told that it would be too big a job to fix while we were there so they would have to wait until the room was empty to fix it. I agree with some of the other notes that other reviewers have picked up on like absence of tea/coffee facilities being annoying and also the difficult working the lights in the night if you wanted to get up to use the bathroom or get a drink but overall these were only minor complaints. I did really enjoy the hotel and vibe but I'm not sure I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor as it's further away from the studio (however I did this based o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisw0440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The Marlin Hotel is really a unique, lovely place in South Beach.
Rooms are amazing, even if smaller ones do not have room to store luggages nor suits or shoes.
All of them, nonetheless, have a super cool system for lights, music, etc that you can control with an iPad.
Service is friendly though professional and they try their best to fulfill guests' requests.
There is no microwave nor kettle in the rooms, but ask for hot water and they'll provide for you.
Sleeping is not always so easy, earplugs help a lot!
No breakfast is available in the hotel, but there are many cafè around and a Jamaican restaurant should be opening soon, as well as a bar, in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my go to hotel on Miami beach. The hotel is very hip and caters to a young crowd. I will the privacy, the technology and the decor. The overall design was extremely modern and not outdated. If you are young, fun, fashionable, hip, a pop culture fanatic, and looking for the perfect chill, quite and modern hotel in close proximity to Miami Beach - The Marlin is really the best option. Its far enough from the beach that you have your privacy and aren't bothered by the noice from cars and tourists yet close enough that you are a 2 min walk away from restaurants, shopping, pharmacies and the beach! The rooms are all of a different theme and there are different options of set up (so not the boring cookie cute repeated design) and ht lobby feels like a really cool lounge (by night) and awesome brunch place (during the day). The only issue for me is that room service (food) is only available from Wednesday through Thursdays and the bar in the downstairs lobby closes much to early. Also the mini bar items are way overpriced based on the room rate and probably need to be changed frequently so it looks fresh. I like to idea of the ipad controlling the lights, drapes, TV and overall mood of the room.

Room Tip: I got the Kelis room randomly which was perfect for because Im a huge fan. See if your music favorit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brooklyn_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staying at the Marlin epitomizes the ultimate South Beach. The trendy boutique hotel is quaint but still ultra hip and modern. The location was phenomenal, but what really made our exceptional was the staff. Alex the manager and Jeff were immediately welcoming and offered restaurant, night life, etc. suggestions. Housekeeping was efficient and accommodating. Traveling with 3 girls, safety is a concern, and knowing Damian was downstairs at night made us feel secure and comfortable. And he was also lots of fun to talk to after coming coming back at 3:00 am. All in all, we were sad to leave the Marlin and will be staying longer next time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felicity221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marlin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marlin Hotel

Property: The Marlin Hotel
Address: 1200 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marlin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlin Hotel is a considerate combination of history, architecture, modern luxury and style. The cozy and welcoming nature of the hotel coupled with its South Beach location makes it the ultimate destination for those seeking a luxurious beach getaway. Situated amidst the escapade that is South Beach, the hotel is the perfect oceanside hideaway. Guests are just steps away from white sand beaches as well as must-see shopping, dining and nightlife. The hotel has recently been completely renovated and has been committed to preserving the landmark art deco building's architectural dynasty, while providing guests with unparalleled elegance and gracious service. The guestrooms and suites are luxurious and spacious, ranging from 240 to 500 square-feet and redesigned to create a home away from home, heightened by the contemporary style, custom- designed furniture and fixtures, wood floors and serene color palate. The relaxing setting extends to the spa-like bathroom that includes a rainfall shower, unique glass-enclosed wet room and therapeutic pebble floor. Each room offers exquisite attention to detail, from the hand-selected pillows and rugs to the coastal-inspired artwork that is reminiscent of Miami's tropical surroundings. No two rooms are alike but all feature state-of-the-art amenities including a 55" LED TV with surround sound, fully stocked mini bar, luxury linens, custom spa bathrobes and slippers, and blackout drapes with remote control. The hotel also offers thoughtful amenities to ensure that each stay is nothing short of perfection, including a designated maid and turndown service, laundry and dry-cleaning, transportation, complimentary continental breakfast and high-speed wireless internet. The interior of the hotel exudes opulence, while still embodying the energy and style for which it has always been known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Marlin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing