We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“missed the restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #16 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“missed the restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight at the Impala after attending a Cubs-Marlins game, which the Cubbies won by the way!
The hotel is lovely and the room we had was beautifully furnished, including a great walk-in shower.
The only disappointment is that the restaurant on the first floor was closed for renovation.
Actually that may have been a blessing in disguise, because the concierge recommended Havana 1957, which turned out to be a wonderful Cuban restaurant.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WesleyRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! It is too bad that you could not experience our delicious restaurant Spiga but we always have plenty of good recommendations and tips to give you about the best places to eat in Miami!
We are also happy to let you know that the restaurant is now up and running. We hope you will have the time to stop by and enjoy their home made Italian food for your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    219
    50
    14
    10
See reviews for
98
437
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and the wife stayed here one night on a Saturday in the Summer. We got lucky with a parking spot out front, otherwise parking is a nightmare (its the same all over the beach) - the valet they told us to expect was nowhere to be seen. Maybe we didn't know where to look haha.
Nice high thread count sheets, nice bed, nice bathroom. Smallish room but its an old art deco place so that's what you get. Friendly front desk, they upgraded us to a king bed without even asking, and had no problem with late check in and late check out. TV was hard to work but we only watched it for 15 minutes anyway. Good location for walking. Really hard to find at first, hidden between two other places and behind a restaurant. Really picturesque, nice marble and boutique appointments. Easy walk to Puerto Sagua (best cuban food ever and afforable!) and the beach. Went to Mango's for a night of cheesy salsa dancing and entertainment which was totally fun. Stop by Club Deuce for a quick drink before hitting anything else - it's an institution. My wife hated the Deuce but I have been drinking there since I was 16 (1980's!) so I wouldn't dream of missing it haha. I would have liked to stay longer but life requires more work.

Room Tip: No elevator if you need that sort of thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are delighted you got to enjoy Miami and we hope it is still as much fun as your last time there! South Beach is often considered a little paradise but when it comes to parking, it turns out to be quite a challenge for anyone trying to find a spot. Fortunately, we do offer valet parking services. In order to be the quiet and secluded hotel we aim to be, we are hidden right behind the delicious Spiga restaurant and you will find our entrance by taking the little side alley through our patio area.
The valet parking is not right in front of the hotel unfortunately due to the busy traffic of Collins Avenue but it is right next door to us! Don’t hesitate to come in and ask us where to find it, we’re always happy to be of assistance. So many things to do in Miami and so little time… We hope you will stay with us again and have more time to enjoy all the great things Miami has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went here with our 6 month-old daughter and were upgraded to a bigger room that would better accomodate the crib. Everyone was very friendly. The location is great! 1 block from the beach and from a great sandwich spot (La Sandwicherie).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dm2220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review! Your little ones are always our priority and we always do our best to provide you with the most appropriate accommodation possible.
Wherever you go, our staff is here to help, so whether you are simply looking to stroll around the close by area of South Beach or explore the greater Miami, we have plenty of recommendations and tips to make your stay unforgettable for your next time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

such a great hotel.. booked it based on reviews right here on tripadvisor. i am so glad i did! like everyone has already said the location is brilliant walking distance to the beach to great restaurants and cafe's. 10minute walk to Lincoln street which has some great stores and restaurants.
we got an upgrade to the suite courtesy of christelle the manager of the hotel. the room was fabulous. it had a great sized living room and a spacious bedroom. the bathroom was also big and nice.
the staff was so nice and helpful was over all a great experience.
its worth every $ spent on the room.
will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a hotel in the center of everything yet quiet and quaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usheeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We deeply appreciate your time to give us such a positive review. We think it is wonderful that you have used Trip Advisor to choose this hotel since no one will be more honest than our guests themselves!
At the Impala, we always like to give a little extra whenever we can so if we have an upgrade available we’d rather have you enjoy all the wonderful amenities that we have to offer!
We hope to see you again soon at the Impala Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to write this review...we stayed at this hotel about a month ago and were so impressed it's where we'll always stay from now on! It was small and quiet, but well decorated and charming....very romantic. The shower and bathrooms were huge and the linens were very nice. But we were most impressed with the staff. Everyone we came into contact with was above and beyond helpful. Romano at the front desk was our favorite! He was always so charming and happy to help us with anything we needed.

Our only complaint was that the floors were sandy/dirty when we showed up, but I guess that's part of being near the beach.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaneMichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Impala and thank you for taking the time to provide a feedback. It is always very pleasing to read you have had a nice time with us no matter when you post your review!
In the busy and touristic Miami Beach area, we like to slow it down and offer you the perfect location right in the heart of South Beach while enjoying a peaceful and quiet stay in a Mediterranean style retreat. For us that means a spacious room with fresh linens and spacious space to relax and enjoy a well-deserved shower after a long beach day.
Romano is delighted he could be of assistance and everyone at the Impala always strive to help in any way we can to make your stay memorable!
We appreciate your advice regarding the sandy floors, indeed being located so close to the beach can sometimes be a little tricky but we take note of your advice and will work on it the best we can.
Glad to hear you will be back! We look forward seeing you again at the Impala Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

At the risk of repeating what has already been said repeatedly, my wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Impala this week.

Charming Italian villa-style location tucked behind restaurants just 2 blocks from the beach. We found our room to be spacious (standard queen) and more than luxurious enough for our needs. Bed and linens were very comfortable, the room was quiet at night despite location, and thermostat-controlled in-room AC kept us out-of-towners cool from the humidity. The staff was tremendously friendly and helpful, providing directions and tips for dining/shopping and remembering us on our return when they held our key at the front desk.

Other perks included complementary bottled water in the minifridge upon check-in and the beach bag (complete with large beach towels) for our use was perfect. Take advantage of the valet parking - rates are as good as anything else in the area and worth the $5-10 you'd save by juggling garage/lot time limits.

Room Tip: No apparent elevator to 2nd floor - stairs only. Request first floor if that will be an issue for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We never get tired of reading repeat compliments. Please always feel free to share your experience with our readers so they too can experience our charming hotel. We are glad you had a wonderful stay at the Impala Hotel! Everyone desires something different and so therefore our main standard is pleasing our guests. We are pleased to know we were able to accomplish this with you and your wife. From comfortable beds, to our specially selected linen, to controlling your own thermostat; we want our guest to have it all! We are glad that you took advantage of the complimentary water and beach bag/towels that are in every room for our guest convenience. Once again thank you for choosing the Impala Hotel and all that we have to offer. We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I found this hotel last minute when my boyfriend and I decided to spend a night in Miami for our anniversary. I thought that the price was very fair for a last minute find on South Beach for memorial day weekend. The hotel was easy to find and the valet parking was very convenient. Once we arrived we were greeted by Romain, one of the front desk staff. He was extremely friendly and welcomed us to the Hotel Impala. The lobby was clean and nicely decorated with a beautiful mural. We went up the stairs to our room (205) and were surprised to find it was so spacious. Other reviews had complained about the room size but we found it plenty big enough! The room and bathroom were both extremely clean and had stone floors throughout. We were very impressed by the size of the shower. We enjoyed extra touches such as the robes and complimentary Nespresso machine.The room remained quiet even though we were right in the midst of the busy South Beach lifestyle. Romain was such a great help when it came to finding places to eat! He pulled out a whole binder full of places with all their menus too. For dinner he suggested a place called Cafe Nuvo, only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the area the restaurant was in! A cute, european area with a very romantic setting. We were so glad Romain suggested this! Overall, we had a great stay at the Hotel Impala and will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Room 205 was quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
We are so pleased that you had so many great things to say about the Impala Hotel and about our star Romain. He says he remembers you and the pleasure was all his. We want every guest to enjoy not only our wonderful amenities but also the wonderful locations and attractions that South Beach has to offer. With such a busy weekend as Memorial weekend we try to remain reasonable with our prices and of course offer exceptional service. We are glad you room was spacious and that you were able to make use of the robes and all the other in room goodies we have to offer. We love forward to your future stay and we aim to make it an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing