We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“AWESOME..AWESOME..AWESOME” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME..AWESOME..AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place is fantastic. Was here for a work trip and when I got into my room each night I felt I was in a little inn in Napa Valley. The bathrooms are spa like, the room is quaint and beautifully decorated. The staff was AMAZING...if I ever have to go back to Miami for work again..i'm staying HERE..

Room Tip: just call them if you think they are booked..they will try and help you out..the staff is very sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat3703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are just as AMAZING as you and our other wonderful guests make us. Thank you for the opportunity to make your visit to South Beach a better one considering that your experience at the other hotel was not a good experience. You and your colleagues from checkpoint were a pleasure and hopefully you were able to put some warm air in a jar and take with you (that’s from Saraita). As for your room tip, you are absolutely correct. Whenever we can move guest around (of course upgrading them) in order to accommodate others wishing to stay with us, we definitely will. In that case it’s a win-win situation for all our guest. Hopefully you do come back to Miami soon and maybe even for vacation and not work. Whichever the case, you are more than welcomed to stay at the Impala Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    216
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
91
417
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Well designed Italian inspired interiors (without being gratuitous), very helpful front desk (they'll call well ahead for a taxi, a necessity in S Beach; get ice for you; remember you for your key), in a great location (easy walk to anywhere) with very clean rooms.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dabruman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
As we are a small hotel remembering the names and faces associated with the room key is essential. Thank you for noticing and pointing that out. We want every customer to feel special and sometimes it’s as simple as remembering what room you’re in before you mention it. If there is something within our means that we can do to make your visit a pleasurable one, we will. From the entire staff at the Impala Hotel, thank you for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Front desk staff was so helpful with restaurant recommendations, cab, directions. Quite like many European hotels we've stayed at -- kind service, small, good location. Our room was generous, clean, good shower, and surprisingly quiet considering location on Collins. We didn't have a car, a plus in South Beach, especially considering the road construction in the area, and yet everything was walkable: Lincoln Road, Espanola Way, the beach, restaurants, Ocean Drive, Art Deco District. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are glad to bring the standards of European customer service to Miami Beach. The staff at the Impala Hotel takes pride in offering exceptional customer service and serenity to our guest. Our hotel is ideally located where much of the attractions are in walking distance but our biggest plus is that you can still get the peace and quiet that you would require after a busy day on South Beach. After all of that you get to shower and relax and rest in a clean, spacious room, with heavenly beds. Who says you can’t have your cake and eat it too? Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Hotel Impala was fantastic value, in a really central location close to the beach with wonderfully helpful staff and a really clean and comfortable room. I'm so glad we picked this hotel and i'm looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnyaAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are so glad that you picked the Impala Hotel as well! Thank you for trusting us to care for your time while with us and we are pleased to know you had a great time. We appreciate all the compliments of the staff and rooms. We are looking forward for you future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

So the only drawback (if you could call this a drawback) had nothing to do with the Hotel direclty, the valet service can take upwards of 40 minutes some days --- plan ahead and call at least 30 minutes ahead to the front desk to retreive your car .... otherwise, what a great place to stay ----

Room Tip: No pool, but you are in South Beach? Fitness Center avaiable around trhe corner if you want -- CR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your choosing the Impala Hotel and for taking time out to leave a review. Although the valet service is through an outside entity that we contract with, we take responsibility for not receiving your car in a timely fashion. We do ask our guest to give us notice at least 15 to 20 minutes prior to needing your car during the week, and 30 minutes during the weekend. Sometimes there are traffic issues that are beyond their control and it may exceed the normal waits times but this does not occur often. Besides that we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Impala Hotel and thank you for your understanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel could be truly great but requires a few tweaks, I would rather have selected "Good" than Very Good but it is better than Average.
The hotel itself is very nice, a small boutique place with a small side exit in the Art Deco area of South Beach. The room was beautiful, bed really comfortable and shower amazing (absolutely huge - 2 heads and an area to get dried). On the down side, the floor wasn't very clean (when walking around my feet got VERY dirty), the fridge didn't work properly (anything we put in there was barely cooler than room temperature) and only 2 pods were provided for the Nespresso machine. The coffee machine is an excellent touch but after the 2 pods, they charge $3 a pod!! Bit mean, esp as there is a Nespresso shop a 10 minute walk away where you buy a whole box for $7.
There's no lift which isn't a problem as there is only 2 floors but our room was right next to the stairs - so pretty loud in the early hours when people were coming home on the Saturday night. Still it is Miami - what do you expect?!
The staff were friendly but a little inept. We had been there for 2 of our 3 nights having a nightmare finding a spot to leave the car (due to the roadworks) for the Valet when we came down 13th St by chance and spotted the hotels valet area!! When we complained to the receptionist about what a pain it had been and how no one had told us (considering this was a chargeable service), he just shrugged- didn't even acknowledge that we were unimpressed and that he was failing in his straightforward job. This same guy had the same attitude about the fridge, we let him know that it didn't work and he just responded with "yes - we know about that, none of the fridges work properly).
However, the location was lovely. A short walk to the beach (a block) and only took about 5 minutes. Also a short walk to Lincoln outside mall which had some great shops and loads of eateries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
I sincerely appreciate your honest feedback, even though I wish your experience had been a better one. I have addressed the floor cleanliness issue with our housekeeping staff and will make sure not to let something like this happen again.
I am very surprised to read your comments about our staff member and his ineptitude to address your questions and concerns. As you may have read or heard from other guests, our staff is our greatest pride and I couldn't imagine any of the staff addressing our valued guests the way you described. After researching who you had been talking to at the Front Desk, I was relieved to find out that this person is no longer with us. This does not excuse for the fridges not working properly though and this is a problem we are looking into. Since the time you stayed with us we also started emailing our guests about Valet parking location information to avoid these confusing situations and allow a smoother arrival at the hotel for our guests. I want to thank you for also pointing out the positive of your stay in your review, not just the negative, and can assure you that we do not take these comments lightly. I hope you will honor us by giving us a second chance to make a better impression the next time you are in Miami Beach. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The Impala is a great hotel, on Collins Ave, just 5 mins walk from South Beach itself.
The service and welcome were great, the room pleasant, not overly large, but everything we needed for a 3 night stay.
The staff were very good and were very helpful, with transport and ideas of things to do.
We also had a anniversary meal in the Italian restaurant attached, Spiga. the food was great and the best service we received in Miami.

Room Tip: There is not much of a view from any of the rooms. We had one on the first floor at the back, over l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garry4135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are able to be a great hotel because of the great guest that choose to stay with us at the Impala Hotel and we want to say Thank You! As you were able to experience firsthand, we are ideally located in the center of South Beach. Walking is very convenient to most locations and when not, as you mentioned the staff is always ready to secure and book transportation for you. We are glad that your 3 nights here were welcoming and pleasant. Spiga truly is a great Italian restaurant with genuinely delicious Italian cuisines and even better staff to serve you. Happy Anniversary again from the Impala Hotel staff and please come stay with us again on future Anniversary celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#17 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing