We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Snobby travelers coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #17 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
denver, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Snobby travelers coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I like to start my reviews by saying what me and my husband like, so the reader is not misled by a reviewer who loves a cheap motel.
We like nice things, we can't afford a five-star hotel every time or even most times, but we like nice things.
This is a GREAT hotel!!
Not only is it affordable, but it's a block away from the beach, it's quiet, the service is superb. It's unique and clean and lovely all around.

It's near the shopping you'd want in this city and right by Ocean drive, where u d want to be to eat and party.

So look no further. You've found your place to stay!

(This was not my first trip to Miami, so not my first hotel here. When we come back, this is where we're staying.)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denvertraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much! I am sure your review will be very helpful to many readers. Indeed it is not because we have a lot of positive reviews that our hotel will necessarily meet the expectations of everyone. It is very rewarding for my team and myself to know that we were able to live up to your high standards We constantly work on how we could extend and improve our services so I hope next time you visit us, we will surprise you again! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    210
    47
    13
    9
See reviews for
92
405
47
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It is a fine good hotel, good value for money, good service, very helpful personnel. good quiet location. We were thefr one night and made a nice walk along ocean drive. Nice, but it seemed more for very young people.Missed: elevator.

Breakfast was OK. In all it was a nice place to start our US trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xs2alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. Indeed we don’t have an elevator. If you were to come back, please do not hesitate to request a room on the 1st floor!
Overall I am glad to read that your night at the Impala hotel was a good start for your US trip, and I hope that you enjoyed (or you are still enjoying) every minute of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My stay at the Impala Hotel was absolutely amazing. First, the charm of the place with a "south of France" positively surprised. The location in the heart of Miami allowed to avoid renting a car and the room are spacious, very well decorated and equiped.
The team was very nice and professional and the General Manager always available to assist us in finding the right place to go (restaurant, transportation, parks).
I really recommend the place and will for sure go back in my next trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travekers2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Our boutique hotel is indeed designed to give our guests a feel of the Mediterranean in a "South of France" ambiance. I am delighted to read that it surprised you positively and sincerely appreciate your kind comments and hope to welcome you again very soon! Merci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
94 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I don't know why this hotel has so many great reviews, or why this hotel is all the rage? ITS BORING. The furniture is old, the rooms are TINY, no windows anywhere, and no pool. Not worth the money if you ask me. Okay stay, but not returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. I am truly sorry to read that we failed to meet your expectations.
I would like to point out that the hotel has been fully renovated in March 2012 and all the furniture is brand new. The hotel has been redesigned in a Mediterranean Revival style and features many elements inspired by the Italian Renaissance, which could indeed be perceived as "old-fashioned" by guests who would prefer a more modern style.
The fact that we are a very quiet hotel yet located in the center of the action is the main reason why guests choose us as they really feel like they are in the privacy of their own home, and I am very sorry that this was not what you were expecting nor looking for.
I do hope that for your next visit in South Beach you will find a Hotel that will meet your expectations… Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was really cute. The entrance was on the side of the building and there is a cozy and beautiful seating area. There is also a great italian restaurant in the hotel. The lobby is small, but it is decorated very nicely.

The rooms are great, but a bit small. We were told that we were going to get one of their biggest rooms, being we had our english bulldog with us. It was a lot smaller than we thought it would be. The beds are comfortable and big. The bathrooms are nice, too. There is a fridge, television, and microwave. Overall, we loved it. It was in wonderful location close to everything. It was quiet and cozy. The people that worked the front desk were also amazingly sweet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LianaShar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I might be repeating myself but I think it is important to emphasize how proud I am to read so many compliments on my staff each day!
I’m sorry if the size of your room did not match your expectations. We do our very best to give larger rooms to our guests travelling with dogs but we cannot always guarantee it. If I may take this opportunity to inform our future guests as well, we strongly encourage that you inform us ahead of time if you will be travelling with a pet and also of his/her size. Even though we cannot guarantee that a larger room will be available, being aware of that information in advance allows us to better anticipate your needs!
Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Recently remodeled, very nice decor. We were very impressed with the hotel staff, very personable and accomadating. This was our third trip to South Beach and the accomadations have improved each trip. This was even a step up from Villa Italia. This definitely beats the large, impersonal hotels on South Beach. Centrally located on busy Collins Ave. The area is busy but the hotel was quiet. Room 105 can be noisy as it is right off the lobby, but they moved us to room 101 which was fantastic

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, do not select 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mxdcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! Room 105 can indeed be noisy as it is our wheelchair accessible room and is therefore closer to the lobby before any stair access. Even though it is a very nice and spacious room, we understand that our guests may prefer a room further away and try as much as possible to honor this but in some circumstances we do not have a choice. Nevertheless, I am glad that you were able to receive an upgrade for your second night and enjoyed staying in our double bedroom.
It is very rewarding for all of us to read that after 3 trips in Miami staying in different hotels, you left our hotel with such positive feelings. We take great pride in being more a home than a hotel to our guests, and could not be happier to count you as part of the Impala family!
Thank you again for your comments and we hope that for your 4th trip in Miami Beach, you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here after 5 weeks of travelling in South America and it gave me the luxury and comfort I needed after the hectic time.

I love Miami and am someone who travels alot for holiday. We've usually stay in Miami Beach as we prefer to stay in quieter areas for sleep time. As I was travelling alone on this trip I wanted to stay somewhere in South Beach to avoid having to keep getting the bus to SoBe. I chose Impala after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. And I was not disappointed one bit!! It gives you an amazing central location, close to fast food and restaurants, beach a block away and close to Lincoln road too as well as clubs. The best part is that somehow the rooms are quiet enough to give you a peaceful nights sleep.

I thought the price was reasonable for its location in SoBe and I also got a discount for booking early.

My first impression was already great even before I arrived. I emailed the hotel and asked whether I could have an early check in as I was travelling on an overnight flight from Rio and was actually quite sick. Received a reply the same day saying although a room was not available that night they would clean as soon as my allocated room was empty. On arriving to the hotel at 8am they were already expecting me and promised the room would be ready as early as possible. And they meant it! I will forever be grateful to the amazing staff who sorted that out for me as I needed a bed to rest ASAP badly and they organised for me to have the room early.

The room-WOW. Bed-big, soft and comfy comfy comfy!! Slept like a baby every night. They give you a proper duvet which is great for when the AC is on at night. Bathrooms so cute and loved the rainshower. The toiletries were luxurious and smelled lovely! Fridge in the room that was useful. Coffee espresso machine is a bonus. There wasn't much cupboard space but I wasn't bothered! Lots of room for luggage so took things out when needed. Rooms cleaned daily. My room was on the second floor two doors away from where the stairs were and all I heard was silence! I don't know how many guests there were staying at the time but I really appreciated the peace and quiet when sleeping.

I ate at the Italian attached to the hotel once and it was pricey-but what you expect to pay in SoBe so no complaints from me. They did gluten free pasta and dishes so nice surprise for me having Coeliac.

The hotel supplies you with beach towels which is great too.

The staff are lovely and amazing. They checked before sending up a friend of mine to the room so I appreciated the security. (The hotel also has a buzzer system for late night so nice too.) I know my way around Miami so I'm afraid I didn't pester them for any tips and tours advice but am sure they would be great! On my first day the gentleman carried my bags up the stairs for me and I could have hugged him for doing that with how sick I felt so thank you for doing that! (I can't remember his name unfortunately.)

I read somewhere in a previous review someone mentioned the AC was noisy. Just as a random note I found it very soothing as it has a watery filtering sound!

Overall I loved this place. The only thing that dragged me out of my luxurious room was the Miami heat and sun. I'll definitely be staying here next time I am in Miami!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neeta08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
I would like to thank you for your many valuable insights and for sharing your experience in such a detailed and kind way. There is not much left for me to say after reading such a heartwarming review besides thank you on behalf of every team member at the Impala!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
La Flora
#12 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#106 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing