We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #19 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great room and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Quiet spot just a few minutes walk away from the beach and Ocean Drive. Good bedroom and large bathroom with a large shower. My only complaint was that early in the morning we were woken by the maids talking loudly outside the room, apart from that it was a great stay. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I appreciate your comments and have already addressed our housekeeping staff about this issue. Thank you for helping us improve and for still giving us a very positive rating despite this unpleasant experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    216
    48
    13
    10
See reviews for
91
417
50
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was traveling with my 53lb female dog. Impala was sort of the only one decent price hotel for 1week stay! It's in great location. Beach is only one block away. Everything is right there for you-restaurants,clubs,shops are in within feets or mile away! Great place with wonderful staff! Room is a bit small(if you are staying with dog and second person), but bathroom is great. I even extended my stay. Super satisfied with service! Seems a bit overpriced on weekends, but Mon,Tue is very decent! It's perfect hotel if you are on the bugdet! Would definitelly come back! ;-) Still enjoying my stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpijone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience!
How could we not be pet friendly when we see this little jewel of yours! I hope she is well by the way! And I am sorry you felt that your room was a bit small for all 3 of you. We do our best to assign the rooms according to our guests' needs and we encourage you to let us know at the time of booking if you will be traveling with a pet, so that we can give you a more suitable room!
Thank you again for your kind words. They are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel Impala is one block off Ocean Drive, smack in the middle of the most travelled bits of South Beach. The rooms are comfortable and the bathrooms very, very nicely done. The attached restaurant, Spigo, is outstanding. Much more preferable than staying right on the strip, unless you intend to get no sleep at all. Very helpful and friendly staff. Some of the rooms appear to have balconies that overlook the narrow courtyard. I suspect they're nicer than our non-balconied room. As for the photos and the description of being in the heart of the Italian (?) district, just don't believe everything you see/read. The hotel is pretty enough, but the online photos are glamour shots if ever I've seen one, and the neighborhood is no great shakes. I thought the taxi driver erred when he pulled up in front. Still, if I were to go back, I'd have to have a good reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian62hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for this great review and the compliments about our staff! Just for your information, only one of our rooms has a balcony and that is our Master Suite. It overlooks Collins avenue and is simply beautiful! What I think you are referring to is our outside corridor leading to the Suites. Even though they do not have their own balcony (except for the Master Suite), this very cute and charming little outside corridor overlooks the courtyard and gives an intimate feel!
Please ask for one of these rooms when you come back to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ten of us recently visited South Beach and stayed at The Impala. It's a quaint hotel, very reasonably priced with very helpful staff especially Christelle, located on Collins Avenue between 12 & 13th Street

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you again! I feel honored to be mentioned by all of you and I am glad you enjoyed your trip and the restaurants and activities we planned for you and your friends! It really was a pleasure assisting you and finally meeting all of you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the relaxing cozy Impala Hotel April 24-28. Thanks to Maggie and Christelle all our questions were answered and vacation needs met. From cabs called to stamps for postcards, they took care of everything. This was a long awaited vacation, postponed by Super Storm Sandy on Long Island, and we were not disappointed. My husband and I and 4 other couples in our group look forward to another stay at the Impala in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments! After what you have been through with Sandy, it had to be PERFECT!!! And I am glad you felt we lived up to your expectations! It was a true pleasure having you with us and please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, Ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We spent four nights at the Impala with four other couples, and we were all pleased with the clean, comfortable accommodations, and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Also enjoyed our breakfasts and group dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! I am glad you had a perfect stay! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our group of five couples spent four wonderful days at this delightful hotel. The accommodations were perfect, the staff was most attentive and welcoming.
Breakfast was a great start to our days, delicious and well presented. Dinner at SPIGA, the on sight Italian restaurant was first rate ! The courtyard was an oasis of visual green space for quiet time and relaxation.
Christelle, the Manager, cheerfully oversaw all details and made our stay most enjoyable. We were very pleased with the Impala Hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toots1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristelleTropina, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you to all of you! Your group was truly a delight and I am so happy to see that you all had a good time! I am happy everything went just as planned and that it all worked out for you and your friends! Thank you taking the time to share this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing