We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Absolutely loved my stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #17 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved my stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

A 1st rate hotel from the whole staff from restaurant to the valet but especially the front desk. very pleasant people to be around and great service.Perfect location 1 block from ocean dr. And beaches . This is my new favorite hotel on south beach and will stay here from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrispeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We love that we just became your new favorite hotel on SoBe! It is always nice to have a place you know you can feel at home and just be yourself. We are very happy to know that we are this place for you and be sure that I will compliment the entire staff on your behalf.
Indeed our Front Desk team is one of a kind, I can see it is a recurring compliment in every guest review and I am very proud to have such a great team. I will make sure they are recognized for they great work!
Please let us know when you would like to come see us again, we'll make sure your next stay is even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    203
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
90
390
45
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mainz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Thanks to the great staff of the Impala Hotel (especially Maggie and Romain) who were absolutely wonderful in helping my wife overcome her Cold/Flu while we were there over Christmas 2012.

This 17 room hotel has an excellent location in the middle of South Beach and is very close to the beach and some great restaurants. The rooms are very clean, large, stylish and modern, and have comfortable new posturepedic mattresses and fine linen as well as a good shower and nice bathroom. Also, there were good quality soaps and shampoos not usually found in other hotels. The internet was fast and stable, and there is a nice little mediterranean courtyard by the entrance. Most rooms seem to have only sideviews to the adjacent buildings however, but that makes them a little quiter too.

We really loved it, felt quite at home here and would definitely come back to stay at the Impala Hotel on our next visit to Miami. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicoAnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Such a nice and pleasant review! Romain and Maggy join me to thank you for sharing your good experience with them and the hotel. They are amazing and the unique customer service they are able to provide really comes from the heart.
We strive for our guests to feel at home so reading that you did is the most rewarding compliment we could ever get! So thank you and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel through the good reviews on Trip Advisor. My husband and I wanted to stay two days Christmas eve and Christmas Day and made reservations a couple of days before. On our first night, my husband became ill, experiencing a lot of pain in his shoulder that needs rotator cuff repair. When we decided to leave one day early, the staff was so nice and understanding. I fully expected to have to pay for the 2 days but the wonderful lady at the front desk on Christmas Day only charged us for the one! What a wonderful Christmas present! We will definitely go back to this hotel! It was most pleasant and felt quite luxurious. I loved the little courtyard you walk through to the lobby.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Elliegarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We do our best to be flexible when it comes to unexpected events such as this one! I hope your husband is now feeling better and that you will be able to fully enjoy your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

rooms: quite small but very stylish design, very comfy beds, thick walls (couldn't hear any other guests), room didn't let much light in due to blacked out bathroom windows and main window facing an ally. very clean rooms.

location: excellent, safe location. 1 min to ocean drive and 3 min to beach. close enough to all attractions but out of the way so its not noisey at night.

staff: very helpful and polite. although when booking the hotel we were told on the internet that parking was € 20 a night when we arrived at the hotel we were told it was €25 and they wouldn't change it. also the valet staff drove our car very fast and crazy. breakfast is €10 a person for continental.

overall a lovely hotel. we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beccy113456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Being a part of our guests' memory is the greatest Christmas gift we could get! Our staff members always try their best to provide a unique personalized service and the entire team joins me to thank you for your kind words.
Concerning the noise from the club, I would like to inform you that we have been working with them very closely after hearing some of our guests' feedback and they have been very cooperative and understanding. They helped us resolve this matter and we are no longer hearing any noise coming from the club nor having any guest complaints. Thank you for your feedback and allowing us to take action quickly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Hessen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thanks for the nice days. The hotel is very friendly and perfect. The location on Ocean Drive leaves no wish unfulfilled. And South Beach has its own charm. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I will draw on this wonderful memory for long.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room the 104th Night could possibly from the nearby disco penetrate some noise in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas_Leder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Impala Hotel was not our original choice.

We had booked La Flora, two doors up the street but they had "bumped" us and sent us to this hotel. We are so glad they did.

This hotel is small with a lovely Italian restaurant at the front that serves good Italian food and have nice and helpful staff who made a cup of tea for my bed-bound wife without any problem. Nice.

The rooms are a delight. Art Deco style, large and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Thoughtfully chosen paintings adorn the walls and the bathrooms are big and practical. The housekeeping ladies were sweet and very nice people.

The Impala is only five minutes from the beach and in the heart of South Beach.

The only drawback is the nightclub at the rear of the hotel that, on weekends, pumps out thumping music. Keep the windows shut but its not that loud unless you are a very light sleeper like me.

Don't disregard this hotel because of the nightclub. They hate them too. And all the other good points far way out this small issue.

We highly recommend The Impala Hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room that doesn't pick up the distance nightclub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so happy to know that we were able to turn an inconvenient situation into a great experience and cannot thank you enough for your kind words!
I do apologize about the noise and any inconvenience caused by it. I am happy to inform you that we have taken this issue into our own hands and with the cooperation of the management of the club in question, this issue has now been resolved.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you again very soon with no noise of any kind this time around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was a wonderful find! Unbelievable rate, so close to everything. We spent only one night on our way to the Keys, but truly enjoyed it. Maggie was so friendly and helpful. Every time we saw her, she had a beautiful smile and a friendly attitude. She offered umbrellas in the rain, offered directions and recommendations, watched our luggage and even walked us to our room.

The room itself was super-charming. Two of us stayed in a king room and had plenty of space, although the closet was tiny. Everything was extraordinarily clean. The whole place had a very European feel, with the half-shower and the way you left your keys at the front desk each time you left the hotel.

The one thing to keep in mind is that the Impala shares an alley with Mansion. It wasn’t noisy and didn’t keep us awake, but we were aware of the “thump” of the music throughout the night. I was happy that I had a white noise app, otherwise it may have been distracting.

Overall, we couldn’t have been happier and would highly recommend this hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sam52875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christelle T, General Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
What a pleasure to read these wonderful comments. Maggy joins me to thank you for your kind words and the entire team at the Impala is delighted to read that you had a good experience! We are taking notes of your feedback regarding Mansion and be assured that we are already taking action to resolve this issue. Our guests' well being and quietness are our top priority! Thank you again, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#16 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,640 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing