We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice rooms”
Review of Impala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Impala Hotel
Ranked #17 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel has a great location, two blocks from the beach, and just of Ocean Drive, and a large communal parking area just next door.

The hotel has a nice reception area, and friendly staff that replied instantly to questions about availability of rooms and rates, prior to booking.

As some reviewers have remarked, there is no lift, so if you have very heavy suitcases and have difficulty carrying them up the stairs, I would agree that this is an inconvenience but for most this is just a very minor problem.

We stayed for 7 days in total, but with a 4 days road trip in between, so got to see two different rooms, both of which were very nice, with nice marble floors, and great sized bathrooms with nice metal features for the bathroom sink and stone table top, and showers with great water pressure. Our rooms were cleaned thoroughly every day, and had no problem (as some reviews otherwise remark) with the house keeping.

The rate included breakfast, served by a very friendly Cuban waitress, so the hotel offered very good value for money.

The Spiga restaurant, which is on the ground floor of the hotel building is also excellent, and even if our visit was prior to the renovation, the hotel can be recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanmarkBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    230
    53
    14
    11
See reviews for
102
457
59
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Newly renovated place, perfectly location just around the corner to the beach! A very good choice for the money. Not crowded and very friendly staff. As we wanted to avoid the big hotel atmosphere, the Hotel Impala was just perfect for us: close to the beach, very clean, delicious breakfast! Definitely would stay their again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This place has gone under renovation and really has changed its ways! I stayed there recently and was shocked to see the improvements compared to the last time I stayed there. If you had a bad experience int the past, this place definitely listened to your concerns and made the necessary changes.

Great stay for me!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehdyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Considering past reviews, I didn't know what to expect from this hotel. I have been very positively surprised! In fact the place is now brand new. Completely renovated. The owner and the management changed recently and transform the place in a very welcoming site. Great service and quality.
This is also a chance to escape from all the big hotel chains around Miami beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flipmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Impala was recommended by a friend....or rather an "EX" friend. This place is a worn out pig pen. Dirty, furniture could not pass muster @ Goodwill, fan missing blades, no coffee pot and extreamly noisey. Believe every bad thing that has been written about this dump.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Walt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyImpala, Manager at Impala Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
I am very sorry to read that you have had such a bad experience at the Impala Hotel. However, I am happy to inform you that we recently completed an extensive renovation and beautification project that I am sure will charm you if you give us the chance to make a better impression! The new Impala proudly a re-opened its door at the beginning of March 2012 and we hope that you will have the opportunity to come see our newly designed and improved rooms and all the amenities they include! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guttenberg, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

A Motel would be better. Very dirty, in extremely bad condition.
From the moment you enter the lobby that smells badly of mould.
Nothing to do with the definition "Boutique Hotel".
I am Italian and work for a major Tour Operator. I am not picky at all and every time I go to South Beach I look for bargains and cheap accomodation so I can spare money and go there more often. I am really ashamed that this Hotel is intruducing itself as Italian Elegance and making connection with Versace and so on. yes they have a nice medusa head mosaics in the lobby..that's all.
It is old VERY OLD! The bed was a boat, a sinking boat! The table and chairs where outdoor furnitures probabily used ouside for long time and the fabric so dirty they changed completely color. Table sticky dirty and stone floor all over was dirty. The phone and alarm clock probabily 30 years old. The top of the "drawer" was missing. Curtains with stains all over. WC cover missing. Walls that desperately need paint. The only nice thing is the oversized shower and shower head! I asked to see other rooms. They were even worse, you could not switch on/off light unless you go to the night table. I actually open a connecting door that was not possible to lock and end up in somebody else's room (thank God the guys were only sleeping..:). I spent one night as I checked in very late, but I changed Hotel the morning after...A nightmere, with approximately the same price I went to a brand new clean nice small Hotel.They said they were starting to remodel...sure! They will have a lot to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lafuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We did not have time to research before we made a reservation (usually we always do). We figured that one night we can spend almost anywhere. Well... It was not good.... Room style was too rustic to determine where or not it is clean, so we did not feel like touching things there. Location is great. It was close to night life on South Beach. Our bed was comfy and clean. Towels were not that white and fluffy, but we had no choice. Room definitely required facelift. We have not seen any bugs and room was not smelly. Public parking lot is right next to the block where hotel is located. It is not easy to find a spot, but be patient and wait. $1.50/hour. It is free from 3 a.m. to 9 a.m. Complimentary breakfast includes limited choices: cereal, croissants, coffee and orange juice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
La Flora
#19 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,496 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
458 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
287 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,288 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impala Hotel

Property: Impala Hotel
Address: 1228 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4607
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impala Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Italian Elegance in the middle of South Beach." Meditteranean gem hidden in the middle of South Beach, the Impala Hotel is the ideal base for your romantic getaway in Florida. Hidden from the intense activity of the surroundings, this soothing calm location will warmly welcome you in one of its 17 rooms. You will enter the property by walking underneath an archway, and then through a landscaped walkway and courtyard, passing by a fountain. Built by Gianni Versace's architect, the Impala Hotel features numerous elements originally intended for the Versace Mansion, including an Italian-made floor mosaic in the lobby. Comfortable rooms feature wrought iron fixtures, wood furniture, and luxury bathrooms with coral rock. You will enjoy a fine dining at the Spiga Restaurant, an Award-Winning authentic Italian establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Impala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impala Hotel Miami Beach
Impala Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing