We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another memorable Vacation at The Alexander”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #140 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
gibraltar
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another memorable Vacation at The Alexander”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We've just returned to Europe after 4 weeks at the Alexander, we visit a couple of times each year and it gets better, we love the pool area & lovely beach, the suites are large the one we had a 2 bed was 115sq mts with great views over the beach and to down town Miami, staff are really nice. South Beach is 5 mins by cab with the Art-deco area & busy night life

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvergara, General Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for returning to The Alexander Hotel and for your positive review. See you on your next trip!! Please make sure you ask to see me - I would love to personally meet our repeat guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    314
    139
    123
    173
See reviews for
627
142
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. Service was excellent, rooms were clean and well maintained. Location to golf and nightlife was perfect. Nice pool and easy access to beach. Prices were a little steep for drinks and food.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

gorgeous rooms would be perfect for a family that are going to stay in and cook! pools were nice the pool bar prices were higt $20.00 for a tuna sandwich and a coke!, you had to pay for the sunbeds on the beach, which we havnt had to before, toe concierge was incredibly helpfull and staff were friendly. cost $15 to get a cab from the hotel down to the restraunts and bars of south beach, if your single/couples and going to be going out on an evening then id stay on south beach- we did last time its noisy but easier than getting cabs,

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellienooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

- 90% of the time no towels were available at the pool. we had to wait
sometimes more than an hour to get some from the staff.
- there were no cleaning services during the day nor supervisory to
ensure the pool regulations were followed. as a result, the pool and
surrounding was at all time very dirty with empty glasses and all kind
of garbage left by some guest. furthermore, the level of water was too
low to allow the water to be filtered until we got some heavy rain a
right before the end of the stay. as a result, we stop going to the pool
- for the rest the staff is friendly for some and not for the others.
basically a big No because swimming pool is a big part of the fun and it was definitely not clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2010

The rooms at the Alexander where exceptionally beautiful! Nice and spacious and enough room to not be on top of each other. Everyone had enough space for enjoyment. The pools were pretty and the view from the window and balcony was beautiful. The staff was courteous and friendly. The furniture is part of the Art Deco era but other than that the hotel is really nice!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mzneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

I was looking for a place to stay in Miami and was a little concerned about where to stay with small children. I read lots of reviews on the Alexander and I was a little concerned. I booked a 5 day stay because it was right on the beach. Bottom line is that I would go back. I was by no means luxurious, however, it wasn't dirty. I didn't get grossed out in my room. I loved my room. It looked out over the pools (as do all the balconies) and directly faced the ocean. I would definitely recommend a suite with a balcony. We went grocery shopping and ate in our dining room every night. It was perfect for the kids. They loved the pools (2 of them!!!) and the small little grassy park area for them with slides, etc. Just to address a few areas based on reading prior opinions. Yes, 10 minutes away from all of the action - if you are looking for night life or you're looking to go out - jump on the bus or taxi. Towels WERE scratchy and kinda gross. Service was non existent. Room was excellent 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen, dining area, flat screens everywhere. Loved my room. The most important lesson - if you are going onto the beach a chair is $6 and an umbrella is $16. Buy an umbrella the first day at the local store. It will save you a ton of cash!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey3095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvergara, General Manager at The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments after your visit to our property. Our message is finally getting out there - for family travel nothing beats The Alexander Hotel - large suites, full kitchens, 2 full bathrooms, friendly and accommodating staff... All this and on the Beach too!!!
Thank you again for your review. See you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

First and foremost... some of the reviews on this hotel are TERRIBLE! From the reviews that I've read.. I've seen NOTHING in comparison when I actually stayed there. The hotel was very big and the staff accommodating and friendly. the elevators were nice, they had small flat screens in them, & the walls were mirrored. When you walk in, the hotel is beautiful, it has a winding staircase, and an old decor that makes it look elegant. The pools are nice, there are a lot of families that spend their time there. It also has a small sitting area/restaurant right above the pools.

ROOM QUALITY- I did not see other rooms, but the room we were in was out of this world! Marble floors, leather furniture, stainless steel kitchen items, etc. We booked a junior suite, but we were put in a deluxe which was a little TOO MUCH room for a couple. The upside was that me and my boyfriend had our own bathrooms, so we never had to lounge around all sandy and salty while the other took a shower. The room was compfortable and we were able to control the AC. The cable selection was satisfactory as well. We even had an ocean view.

LOCATION- If you're about going out, the hotel might not be the BEST for that. It is not walking distance from South Beach, but it is a short drive or cab ride.

COST- We went in the middle of July...so what we payed for it was a steal and well worth it!

STAFF & SERVICE- The hotel staff was very prompt and on top of everything. We received maid service everyday. The maid gave us fresh towels, put our dishes in the dish washer, and even the things that we cooked that needed scrubbed prior to putting them in the dish washer were hand scrubbed! Our oven just stopped working at some point, so we let the concierge know and they had it fixed as soon as we returned from a day on the beach.

All in all... the hotel was VERY NICE. The only things I would change is that we did not have an oceanfront room, but we'll have to splurge next time. The room service was also VERY PRICEY. My boyfriend and I ordered a small pizza and wings from downstairs for something quick to eat and paid about $40 for it. They include the room delivery charge, 20% gratuity, and the food wasn't that good... I would reccommend visiting a grocery store and stocking up for quick bites to eat, you save A LOT of money doing so.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldOfW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,028 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#101 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
#118 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,697 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#47 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140-2570
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing