We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little dissapointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #108 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little dissapointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We are a family of 5 and chose the Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort as it accommodated us all in a 2 bedroom suite and was advertised as being close to South Beach. As far as location goes, there is a beautiful beach at the back of the hotel and the view across the street to the canal with the houses and boats was pleasant, but there wasn't anywhere within walking distance with kids regarding restaurants and shops so we had to drive everywhere. The suite was very large and roomy, but unfortunately very dated and rundown. It was great to have a kitchen but it wasn't very well equipped for 5 people. The room wasn't dirty enough to complain about but it hadn't been very well cleaned. We saw inside a couple of other rooms on our floor and they were new and modern so I am hoping that they are in the process of updating the rooms. The staff were friendly and pleasant. Considering that most places now have free wifii the charges at the Alexander were excessive. This was our last stop on a 6 week trip across the US, and unfortunately the Alexander was the only place we stayed that we didn't love.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripgirl680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    302
    133
    110
    135
See reviews for
579
136
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I traveled down to South Beach for the National Championship Game this year and stayed at the Alexander while there. The rooms at the Alexander offered a huge value proposition for us because, while other friends were scrambling trying to get hotels that were close to one another, the suite arrangement of the Alexander rooms allowed for my wife and I and some friends and family members all to stay together in one extended room. This arrangement really helped us out logistically and the in-room kitchenette also cut down on our food costs. The dual level pool was nice and the pool bar, although not extravagant, certainly was able to meet all of our refreshment needs. There was even a public parking lot just north of the hotel where we were able to park our car for the weekend and save drastically compared to the cost of valet. We did have some trouble with the TV in the room and the hotel business center was drastically lacking in modern (read: working) hardware, but the staff went out of their way to fix both of these issues for us. Overall, it was a great long weekend made all the better by our stay at the Alexander.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We made the journey down to Miami Beach for the Notre Dame vs Alabama game and stayed at the Alexander. The rooms were reasonably priced and the idea of having space (suite) was appealing (with three kids). After reading some of the reviews, we had mixed expectations going in. However, our stay was excellent in almost all regards. We were fortunate enough to stay in a newer room with an ocean view. The manager was very accommodating of all of our room requests. Shulas is great but pricey. It was actually nice staying in miami beach with a family for several reasons. One, the area was probably more appropriate for the children. Second, you are close to South Beach but not necessarily right in the middle of all the congestion. It is easy to get places from the Alexander. There is not much to do in walking distance but a quick car trip or cab works just fine. When we return to Miami, we will likely stay here again without any hesitation. Except for the outcome of the football game, we loved our trip. Go IRISH!

Room Tip: Be very specific about any room requests and try to communicate those again the day of arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Overall, we had an excellent vacation and there was much to be appreciated about the Alexander and the condo at 1208.

We had an odd situation with our vehicle that was magnificently handled by the valet staff. Because of the “rocket box” on top of the vehicle and the bicycles that were on it, it would not fit in the underground parking garage. Thus, it was kept on the side out front. That worked out great! The valet staff was very helpful.

On the other hand, it would be helpful if information could be provided on where to keep bikes; and if there isn’t a current spot, it may be worthwhile for the Alexander to invest in a bike rack.

The location is great with easy access to the beach.

Access to the Suite was easy, although a little odd not to check in with the front desk.

Generally the apartment was fine – roomy; nicely decorated.

The kitchen was well equipped; full size fridge and stove are appreciated. It would be a nice touch to include a supply of trash bags – low cost and would be helpful. Also “hot” pads would be great so that hot dishes could be put on the table for serving.

The pull out beds in the LR were great; gave us the extra sleeping area that we needed.

The porch was also great, with an angled but excellent view of the beach and ocean.


Cardkeys for the beach gate access should have come automatically and not have to be requested.

The laundry facilities are adequate, but a little primitive – just one old washer and dryer – they did work but seemed rather worn; and with only one for the entire floor, could have been an issue if lots of folks wanted to use them – luckily not. The entire laundry room area seemed tired and run-down.

Overall, we had an excellent stay – what is not to love about Miami in December/January. No issues with noise or other loud guests. We did not try Shula’s.

Overall, we had an excellent stay – what is not to love about Miami in December/January. No issues with noise or other loud guests. We did not try Shula’s.

WE spent only a little time at the pools, but they seemed fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Me and my extended family decided to spend Xmas and New Year's in Miami and chose this hotel. We rented 3 suites with 2 bedrooms each. The suite I stayed in was very comfortable and somewhat modern and I was happy with it. However, my in-laws had a bad suite, with almost no appliances in the kitchen and a broken A/C. One of the pools was heated and a big hit with the kids, but they ran out of towels early, since some of the guests would wake up early, get as many towels as possible to "mark their territory" in the stretchers around it. In sum, not only a family hotel, but a lower middle class one...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The reviews for this hotel are correct.. It is in a very nice location on South Beach and the restaurant had great food. The pool was "OK", but nice easy access to the beach. The hotel itself has a musty odor to it and is very out dated. Needs a renovation..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family just returned from a stay at the Alexander. It was Christmas week and we booked a suite at this hotel as the rate was very reasonable compared to those in South Beach, a taxi drive away. We were very happily surprised by our suite. It had two bedrooms on a high floor with huge windows directly overlooking the beach and the ocean. It also had a large balcony comfortably furnished with lounge chairs. The suite was very modern and clean. We had no problems whatsoever with room service or housekeeping.
This hotel appears to be made up of condos so your experience may vary based on which suite you get (we had 1402). This is an older hotel, but the service was very nice and prompt and friendly. The fitness center was old and musty and there was not a business center that I saw (I didn't look hard). The restaurant on site, Shula's, was good. If you want to go somewhere else, you need to drive or take a taxi. That is true of this whole section of Miami Beach. It is very quiet as opposed to bustling South Beach. On the other hand, we had great accommodations for far less than anything similar at other hotels I looked into, and there were always chairs available at the pool. The beach is gorgeous, as it is all over Miami Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#53 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
#105 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140-2570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing