We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #109 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel, the location was perfect, right on the ocean. Our room was fantastic, it was clean and the view was amazing. We had dinner at Shula's 3 times and the food was delicious and cooked perfectly every time, Alex the bartender there, was so great! He rememberd our names every night we came down there. We loved every min of my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 15th floor and had a great view and heard very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    302
    133
    110
    136
See reviews for
580
136
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

On my first attempt to start searching for Hotels to host my wedding reception i came across the Alexander Hotel and fell in love with the hotel and Ballroom. I immediately booked and didn't even continue my search. I spent the weekend of my wedding at the hotel ( Friday- Sunday) the staff was so helpful and the HOTEL SUITE was so spacious it included a 2 bedroom, FULL kitchen and living room. All 7 bridesmaids choose to get ready at my room. All my out of town wedding guests also stayed at the Alexander hotel and they had a great experience as well. This will definitely not be my last time staying at this hotel.
** Don Shulas resturant was DELICIOUS and it's located in the Hotel****

Room Tip: ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Alexander Hotel represents the finest service, and the best beachfront, and a great restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner, at the lowest possible price, of any hotel in Miami Beach. This hotel is like staying with family, tht's how at home they make you feel. It is fine for families as well as adults looking to get away to a nice, quiet, well kept hotel. It is not brand new, but for us that made it all the more comfortable. Tasteful yet completely at ease. Where else can you get over 800 square feet of living space, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, a sitting area, and be on the best beach in Miami Beach, for half the cost of what you would pay anywhere else.

If you're not into glitz, but are into good taste, a down home feeling with wonderful staff, and very comfy accomadations, this is the place to stay. Mariella manages the hotel, Vladimir is your personal concierge and on-site computer expert, lots of bellman and excellent waitstaff that serve a great breakfast and lunch, and a fine steakhouse as well. Plus, with all the money I saved, I had enough to tip everyone well who helped us. What's not to like? Five stars in my book !!!

Room Tip: Be nice, be friendly, and remember, everyone enjoys being rewarded for good service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

all around wonderful place rooms are big,beds are very comfortable, staff couldn't have been any better, and pools are beautiful. No downsides to this hotel at all.

Room Tip: ocean front are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cscott
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We discovered the Alexander quite a few years ago and stay there about 3 times a year as we go through to have a break in Miami Beach. We love the location as it is on the beach and is only 5-10 minutes away from Miami, South Beach, Lincoln Road and all the attractions. Great hotel wether you stay one night or weeks.
Wonderful rates if you book in advance.
It is also a most comfortable hotel with large spacious suites. I would actually call them apartments as most of them are 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom, living room, with balconies, a dining area and full kitchens.
Great views wether you have north or south facing and you look at water on either side. The sea on one side and the causeway on the other.
We usually get rooms high up in the hotel as I love to sit on the balcony and be at the same level as the pelicans that fly across every few minutes while I have my breakfast.
Room service has a great menu and there is the well known Shula's Steak House downstairs, and they also have seafood. ( Delicious crab cakes)
The staff are always courteous and efficient.
This probably looks like someone who works at The Alexander wrote it but I am an artist and my Husband is a lawyer and we live in Barbados. We travel a lot and we go through Miami to get to faraway places and the Alexander is our first choice.

Room Tip: Quite honestly, we have probably stayed in about 20 of the suites and each one is decorated in a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corriescott46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I would highly recommend the Alexander. The hotel/resort is opulant and the accommodations are luxorious. The staff are welcoming, friendly and genuine. You will be pleasantly surprised at the great care they take to assure your stay is everything you expected and more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stacey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Traveled in April 2011,

Very nice hotel, a bit slow when we did the check-in, our room was never ready, complained to the manager on duty that day and to our amazament he gave us the best room of the house....When we got to our room the scenery was just amazing, overlooking the ocean, the beach and the size of this balcony......was out of this world. Maid service came every morning. Very clean.

We were to woman in a 1200ft condo it was awsome! Full kitchen, 2 bedroom, master suite had it's own bathroom and the other room as 2 double beds with it's own bathroom the view was just amazing.

The outdoor bar and restaurant was ok, the food was not all that great but the booze was !!!
Very friendly staff throughout the complex.

The pools where not all that great but we did not stay at the pools cause the beach was way better and the water so blue and warm........ Every morning we would get are chairs and umbrella from David the beach guy!! (awsome by the way!) it would cost us $28/day for 2 chairs and an umbrella but believe me you need that umbrella, the Miami sun is just so hot especially in April.....

You can walk the beach for miles right down to South beach which is about 30 min walk on the beach. worth the walk :)

Bus stop is right in front of the hotel,($2/ride) this can bring you just about anywhere, 10 min bus ride to Publix(grocery store) or to Lincoln Road mall, Ocean Drive and the great areas aound....Must go to Espanola Way, full of restaurants and little shops. $20 cab fare ride back to the hotel....

While in Miami must go to Espanola Way for good Italien restaurant such as Hosteria Romana simply amazing restaurant and the staff are so nice :)Great food.

Shuttle service to and from hotel is a bit slow but works...beats paying $50 cab ride

Must do the boat ride to the islands, this is definetely a must see... Star island, simply breathtaking... makes you see how the other half lives....

If traveling to Miami make sure you bring a lot of $$$, very expensive but would go back in a heartbeat......For souvenirs must go to Alvin's Island on Lincoln Road, you will find averything you need......even umbrellas! for a mear $10 beats paying $16/day......

So much to see and so much to do.....Ocean drive during the day is not the same has Ocean drive during the night, must see.

Would definetely go back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#84 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,599 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#19 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,854 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#52 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#36 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
Miami Beach Resort and Spa
#107 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort

Property: The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort
Address: 5225 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33140-2570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spacious luxury Miami Beach suites accommodations ranging in size from 920 to 1250 square feet, including a master bedroom with attached master bathroom, full kitchen, living and dining room, and a terrace that offers magnificent views of either Miami’s Inter-coastal waterway and the Atlantic Ocean.The Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort is a tropical paradise set on an acre of lush gardens with exotic flowers. Relax by our two lagoon-shaped swimming pools or opt for a private poolside cabana. Miami Beach is just steps away where you can sink your toes into the powder-white sands, soak up the sun, and listen to the waves lap along the shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alexander All-Suite Oceanfront Hotel Miami Beach
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Resort
Alexander All Suite Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing