We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely,small and very central 'tropical' hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
Ranked #80 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely,small and very central 'tropical' hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Out of reach of most of the party noise yet very central in the art deco district. Long and narrow garden to complete the tropical picure, the spacious apartments/rooms are cute. The bathroom still has the original art deco tiles, loved it. It may not be the Ritz but unadorned it has luxury feel to it.

Room Tip: The further back the less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanFrankenhuyzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    217
    36
    8
    11
See reviews for
99
200
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freiburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of the best small hotels in this neighborhood. Everything very clean with a modern infrastructure (huge TV, bathroom, kitchen - everything very good).

The staff was very quick and enough for us - but don't expect long conversations. If you need tourist information maybe ask elsewhere or use the internet (also available but does not really work very stable - like in most hotels).

Tip: Do not take the room 16 !!! (at the very end of the building is the supply road where trucks will make a huge noise every morning - and the window to that road does not have any noise isolation).

Room Tip: Last rooms (at the Ocean CT road) like room 16 are loud due to trucks in morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SBCFiveO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed in the best suite at Villa Paradiso and well, it was clean. 2 out of 3 reception staff were remarkably unhelpful, even rude. Not sure what warranted their brash behavior, but the check in guy was just awful, gave no help with parking, and had all the charm of a door mat. And when we stopped by to ask about dinner spots that evening the tattooed woman was just as awful. Huh.

The room was clean, but weird. A $30 deposit was needed for our room key. No mirrors in the room (suite 19), and the remote was on a tether, like some fleabag motel. The bed was creaky and uncomfortable, and the windows were painted shut.

For the price we paid, I think we could have done much, much better... even next door.

Room Tip: Get a good price, and expect to spend 30 minutes figuring out parking, and plan to be treated rudely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThruTheBackDoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villapmiami, Owner at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
We are sorry you were not fully satisfied from your stay at Villa Paradiso. Thank you for letting us know, the unpleasant receptionist is not there any more. We now ask for a key deposit after many years of not doing so and having to rekey. Now, the system works well, we ask for an authorization on the credit card at check in and we delete it when the guests check out and we get the keys back.
It is easy to park as there is a municipal parking garage 1 block away. Thank you for letting us know about the mirror, we had a regular size mirror and now have a large one also.
The remote control is attached to ...a remote control string so that it is not misplaced, a common practice in the hotel industry.
We are disappointed to read that the guests found the room weird. We would call it interesting with the art deco details of the 1930's : gas fireplace ( non operating ) , unusual curve ceiling.
Our bedding is mostly from Serta and Sealy high end quality.
Again, thank you,
Pascal Nicolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We arrived tired, hot and stressed. A friendly welcome would have gone a long way towards soothing our ragged nerves, alas it was not to be! My husband had to abandon me with two very heavy suitcases and hand baggage at the reception whilst he drove round the block to a handy multistorey car park. The young receptionist was blunt, disinterested and unhelpful. She handed me a room key, indicated with a tilt of her head which direction the room was and left me to it. I made four journeys up and down a flight of stairs lugging a suitcase each time.... I could not believe that no help whatsoever was offered.
The room was, clean, large, equipped with a kitchen (not required but useful for some guests) and apart from a very overpowering perfumed air freshner, was excellent. The hotel was brilliantly situated very close to the beach and all the vibrant restaurants.
When we checked out the following day we had an equally rude receptionist, a young man this time who again offered no help but continuously hinted that he required a tip. When we left without tipping (because he had done nothing to warrant any gratuity) he became quite abusive.
So all in all, yes I would recommend the hotel itself but be prepared to make allowances for a total lack of any 'warm reception'.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueandSteveandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villapmiami, Owner at Villa Paradiso, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for Staying at Villa Paradiso and for taking the time to write a review. Theses reviews are very important for us as they tell us what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong.
We are investigating to find out who checked you in. Could you tell us what was your check in date and check in time ?
The male receptionist who so rudely abused you is no longer working at Villa Paradiso as we also had other complaints about him.
We are working on using a less powerful cleaner in the rooms.
We hope that you will stay with us in the future again and that you will be fully satisfied this time.
Sincerely,
Pascal and Elisa Nicolle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Got the tip from someone else to go here. It is one-block off the beach in the heart of the art deco area. The multi-storey is one block down the street to park your rental safely. We didn't use our car once there because the location is so handy. There were three of us - a couple and a single - all adults, but they offered us a suite with two rooms, kitchenette, day room and shower/toilet above the office. There is a room safe. Rooms are clean and completely functional. Our room looked out over the street which was quiet at night so you could have window open so it was airy! Or use a/c if you want. Cost for suite was same as for ONE room so we saved a lot of money on our 3 nights stay. There is a charming little communal garden with tables where you can read and drink.

Room Tip: Room above the registration desk was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We found this small hotel thanks to others' recommendations on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased with our accommodations. Our room was actually a suite: the first room had two beds, fainting couch, television, etc.; second room was a dining room; small hallway off the dining room with closet leading to full bathroom; final room beyond the dining room was a kitchen which included another door to the outside.

All guests shared a shaded patio area with chairs and tables which ran the length of the hotel. The hotel is within easy walking distance of everything in South Beach.

We had no plans when we drove into town and stayed the first night at the Best Western - mistake!! Happy to have found Villa Paradiso and lucky to get their last room that day! (They have only 18 suites.)

I will recommend that you NOT take a car to South Beach. Traffic was horrible and it was a NIGHTMARE to find parking. If you drive to the area, park some place out and take a taxi into South Beach. You'll thank me for it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Whitleywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Rooms very clean and big, kitchen has everything you need. Excellent location 2 mins from the beach. Nice courtyard to sit out and read or eat. Staff friendly and helpful. An excellent choice in South Beach that is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Astor
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#88 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Flora
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
City Center
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
The Hall, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#109 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Property: Villa Paradiso
Address: 1415 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing