We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Paradiso in Miami”
Review of Villa Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Paradiso
Ranked #117 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2008

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. It is only a block away from the beach, and you're right in the middle of the South Beach atmosphere.

The hotel is in it's own little rainforest which has chairs and tables with candles on them so you can relax outside. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are like studios with a living room/bedroom, bathroom and a small kitchen. They are very spacious, and ours had a leopard print futon in it, so the decor is quite funky. I had no complaints with the room itself. Very nice and clean.

The only problems we had was that one night in the early hours of the morning, when my boyfriend and I were in bed, we were awoken by the sound of someone trying to get into our room. This could have been someone who was drunk who had just came to the wrong room. However, on a different occasion, I was eating my breakfast and there are two locks on the doors, one you can only unlock from the inside. While I was sitting there, someone with a key was locking and unlocking the door. I went and opened it and found the woman who worked there, who started aplolgising profusely. So, although I have no problems with the room, I didn't feel very secure there after those two incidents.

The other problem we had, was that the light was obviously faulty and the bulb blew and then caught fire. Luckily we were in the room and my boyfriend managed to put it out. But there were sparks flying everywhere and it singed everything that was sitting underneath it. Fortunately none of our stuff was damaged. The staff were very nice about it, and gave us another room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xAngel1508xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villapmiami, Manager at Villa Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2010

Villa Paradiso is gated. We close the gates at 10 PM until 8.30 AM and you need your key to walk back in. It is secure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for Villa Paradiso
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 465 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2008

Overall, our stay at Villa Paradiso was great. As others have said, the room was large, and included a kitchen. The trappings were basic - small TV, basic bedding, no internet. The room was clean enough, except for the couch, which was stained and cheap. Bed was fine though.

Location was SUPERB for seeing South Beach on foot. There was a cold snap when we were there, so there weren't many folks out and about, but it seemed like it would be relatively quiet anyway. The hotel is tucked away behind/next to a garden/patio area.

The front desk staff is not there all night, but leaves at about 9 or 10pm I think. But we called ahead of time and they agreed to stay for our midnight arrival.

Compared to the prices of other places we looked at in the same part of south beach, this was a bargain!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pattyvdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

Stayed here last year -no complaints. This year . WHOLE other story...

My gf and I stayed here the first week of January.
Overall GREAT location, spacious rooms, good rates.. (considering we're young professionals on a budget) and cute look- very apartment like look to the place
.But this is where the positive part ends
This actually sounds like a horror story but its exaclty and honestly how our week played out .(feel free to contact me if anyone wants proof or additional information)

The second day of our stay we realized the shower was broken and the bathroom door was rigid and partially locked us in.
I got stuck in there for a while is which is how we found that out lol. They actually fixed the shower by taking the missing shower head part from room beside us..wonderful huh??
These problems were adressed which we appreciated and are very minor compared to what happened next. In addition considering the low price we knew we had to lower our expectations to an extent.

On Saturday night (Jan 6th) my gf and I returned from a late evening out. Walking up to the room we smelled this terrible gas like odor and inside the room was much worse. We called the hotel managament and after no avail we called 911 and shortly after the fire department arrived. Imagine having to call 911 on your vacation!
Needless to say there was a gas leak in our room. Fire dept identified it was a gas leak from the stove n turned off gas valves/meters.
We could not stay in the room over night due to the putrid smell and under instructions from fire dept to let room air out and had to go to all nite diner across the street for the next few hours.

The following day I asked for some sort of compensation - like a free night or a discount.due to a gas leak and a room we could not use that night .The schocking response was that they dont do refunds , never have regardless and the issues we encountered(pretty much almost being blown up) was not a big concern- the exact words were "was not a big deal"!!!!!!!!!!

The hotel would not budge on offering any kind of compensation or even an apology from their managment was nonexisitent as well. Actually management was also completely nonexisitent they werent around and refused to even speak with us.
The only alternative they offered was switching our room or offering a "free laundry service." Overall they treated us NOT like guests or toursits but more like a nuisance.
When I tell friends/family /coworkers of our experience st this hotel the reaction is shock and disbelief. Someone asked me if it was a joke. Unfortunately not but we they made us feel like one.
We left this hotel angry and extremely dissapointed at this level of customer service and WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank katr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2007

If you want to be in the heart of South Beach then Villa Paradiso is in a great location. Loads of restaurants and bars are nearby, as is the beach. We shared a large studio with two double beds between four of us which certainly made this a cheap option. The room was basic but
clean and fine. We had a large TV and kitchen area. I wouldn't recommend this for couples (it's basic and not really romantic at all), but as a room to be shared between friends, it is absolutely fine.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

This place far surpassed any other hotel we've stayed in South Beach. It is not the Ritz, but we can't afford the Ritz. Many SoBe rooms are dingy, overpriced and run by surly people. This place was different. The staff was a little dippy, but they got the job done. The rooms are converted apartments so they are not sleek, chic spaces. They are large, clean and comfortable rooms in a great location. Having a kitchen was great -- we could save money on breakfasts and lunches and drinks. And it was nice having a comfy couch to stretch out on. And you can't beat the price for such a large room just a block or two off the beach!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kauainut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Me and my wife stayed at the Villa Paradiso for three nights in May 2007. We stayed in a small studio, but the studio was actually quite big! We arrived on memorial day, so South Beach was crowded with partying people and cruising cars playing hip-hop.
During our first night, some other guests on the hotel had a party which kept us awake until 3 am, but the other two nights were very quiet.

Good:
- Location! One block from Ocean Drive and three blocks from Lincoln Rd.
- Hotel layout with rooms facing the garden, instead of the street. Makes the rooms quiet
- Big clean room, with a small but modern and comfortable sofa
- Fridge, stove, coffeemaker and toaster in the small kitchen
- During our stay they replaced the mattresses which made the bed much more comfortable (good to know since a lot of people have complained about the beds on this site).

Bad:
- No free internet. It is possible to use the connection of a nearby hotel, but it is not free...
- Badly located air conditioning right beside the bed which made it impossible to use at night because of the ice cold draught
- Not many utensils in the kitchen (e.g. no scissors)

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tobbe1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

The rooms open up to a narrow patio that on my evening was filled with people drinking and singing till near midnight. The stairway up to my room smelled. The room itself was OK; an older apartment look that was fairly clean and functional. Only one window opened so I had to run the AC to get ventilation and drown out the noisy patio, but the AC unit is right next to the bed and blows on you all night. One end of the patio is padlocked shut so make sure you know you can get out the back door of your room in case of fire.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BizTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#113 of 210 in Miami Beach
569 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#115 of 210 in Miami Beach
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suites on South Beach Miami
#111 of 210 in Miami Beach
452 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#176 of 210 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#94 of 210 in Miami Beach
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Paradiso

Address: 1415 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $125 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Paradiso 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Villa Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Hotel Miami Beach
Paradiso Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing