We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my dear! They KILLED The Tides!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #64 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Bay Village
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh my dear! They KILLED The Tides!”
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Oh, my lord. What happen to The Tides???
When you walk into the lobby it looks like a warehouse furniture sale. The once elegant and simple beautiful lobby is now cramped and full of gold and beige stuff. What as shame!
This might work in LA but definitely very much out of place in Miami Beach.
The restaurant only serves fish. Nothing else. The walls are decorated with protected and endangered turtle shells. Hundreds of them!!!. So not right. So wrong!! What where the designers thinking??
We had dinner on the terrace. The staff really tried to do their best. It seemed that they where very much pressured from above to do certain things. Once we let them know we where ok, they let their guard down and everything when down hill from there.
The restaurant manager was very nice at first but after a while he spend most of his time on the cell phone on the side of the building.
Edgar the concierge was fantastic! Poor guy has been there from the beginning and has seen all the horrific changes
We have stayed at The Tides many times and will not return. This was the best place in all South Florida just a couple of years ago. It is sad more than anything else.
The bar is completely gone! Friend of mine tried to book and they where told the hotel is closed until further notice period. How sad. This used to our favorite place.

  • Liked — Concierge Staff
  • Disliked — Design and interior.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank GlobalTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KorHotelGroup, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, October 31, 2007
Luxury travel media and the many guests that have experienced our hotel to-date, have applauded us for the entirely-new level of design and luxury we have and fully intend to bring to South Florida. However, we realize that taste and design perceptions are subjective.

In response to your comments on our restaurant, La Marea is an acclaimed full-service Mediterranean-inspired restaurant which offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant offers guests a variety of selections, in addition to seafood or fish. We welcome you to visit www.tidessouthbeach.com/dining for a complete menu.

Recognizing your concern about our restaurant’s design, we are proud to communicate that La Marea’s tortoise shell decorations are faux, resin antique shell replicas. The Tides South Beach does not condone or take part in the display or acquisition of any endangered species for the hotel’s decoration. While our redesign has removed a previous bar located in the hotel lobby, we have replaced that singular bar with two, our Martini Bar and opening in December 2007, our intimate Coral Bar.

We take pride in the professionalism and service training of all our colleagues and proudly stand behind our efforts to provide the ultimate luxury experience for all our guests.

In respect to our operational status, The Tides South Beach is currently open for lunch and dinner and will be fully-operational upon the completion of our multi-million dollar renovation. We are confident that our hotel will be the leader in the South Florida luxury hotel community upon its grand re-opening and look forward to welcoming you back to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    297
    98
    41
    39
See reviews for
181
611
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

I gave my partner an overnight stay at the hotel as a birthday present. A few days before arriving at the hotel we had a call from a lady at the reception that they were undergoing a refurbishment and it can be noisy.
We never heard a thing and they upgraded us to a junior suite. Service was absolutely stunning. Personal touch, fantastic customer services.
Rooms were huge, beautiful views. As their pool was not working or their gym they gave us a complimentary pass to a different gymnasium and a swimming pool.

Beautiful time at the Tides!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kyrikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We booked through Hotels.com which was an upleasant experience, I suggest you book direct or make sure you call the Hotel after booking with Hotels.com. Besides the mix up, our stay was superb. The Hotel Manager upgraded our accomadation to the 9th floor Senior Suite; which suprised us completely, we were told before arriving that we would be upgraded to a Junior Suite due to the mix up with Hotels.com. Needless to say, the room was fantastic and the view of South Beach from our rooftop accommadation was spectacular. The staff was over the top and Management was the best in the business. We could have not asked for a better vacation. Upon arrival I read several reviews, but none compared to the actual experience. The pool is under construction which was not a problem, because we had access to the Victor Hotel across the street. The renovations are about 75% complete and the new room are breath taking. Pictures of the lobby and rooms on the site are completely different (a huge plus) You have got to stay here! Tell Jan the General Manager I referred you, he will take special care of you. If you want a five star experience, this is the place to be!

  • Liked — Room and view of the beach
  • Disliked — Renovations
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank kjstokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2007

Although they are renovating all the rooms, the old decor is actually preferable - all white rooms, simple, yet modern design is very pleasing - and the views of the ocean can't be beat.
Love the outside patio and it's the best spot for people watching with a nice cocktail.
Kelly Wearstler's new lobby design isn't fitting for a beach hotel- the new dining room is striking and slightly creepy at the same time because of the many tortoise shells hanging all over the soffits - driftwood on the long service sidedboard looked like bones.
The service is outstanding, from bellman, to front desk staff, concierge, waiters, waitresses; similar to sister hotel Viceroy/Santa Monica.
Would always recommend to South Beach visitors.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank hersheybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2007

I booked my trip to the Tides way back in early January! I was quoted almost $600 a night (excluding tax), I didn’t mind paying this rate if it meant I was staying in a luxurious hotel!
However, not all went as planned! We where told the week before we arrived that the hotel was under reconstruction, there was no swimming pool, no lobby and the restaurant only served food outside on the front stairs! Already I was annoyed!
We arrived as planned on the 19th March to a noisy hotel! When I arrived in the room it was full of old white furniture which had cigarette burns in it! While we were looking outside our ocean view suite work man appeared at our window! Luckily I wasn’t getting undressed!
The elevator was also broke so we had to walk up 3 flights of dirty stairs!
When we arrived back to the hotel on the first night there was a note on our door telling us there would be no water from 12-4! I’ve never heard of a hotel doing this in my life! And to make matters worse the day it was cut off I had no hot water until half past 7, which made me late for a previous appointment I had that night!
We checked out after two days! Instead we had a fantastic stay at the Lowes hotel! The Tides almost ruined my holiday; luckily I am the type of person who makes the best of situations! This information should have been shared with me when I booked in January! I agreed to pay those rates because I thought I was getting the facilities to go with it!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — Felt like i was cheated!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ecrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2007

Just returned from 5 night stay at the Tides. Good size room, plasma TV, housekeeping excellent. Room service good food. Nice quiet pool with attentive service & comfy sunbends. Staff all pleasant but the concierge/front desk staff not very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

We got a rate of $260/nt or so for this hotel (in the summer), and found it was a pretty good hotel for that price. I would not have wanted to pay the sometimes advertised $400/nt though. Starting with the the rooms, they were really nice and big and cool with wonderful beds. However the furniture was a bit run down. The view outside our window was also very nice. We did not eat in the restaurant at all, since the prices were kind of insane. Also, we never saw anyone in it! The hotel was very quiet, but we were there mid-week so that is probably to be expected in South Beach. The concierge service was EXCELLENT, and we used them every night to tell us the best spots. Although we spent a ton of money, we were never disappointed. The pool was kind of a bummer since it is bascially surrounded by concrete on all sides. Its a lovely pool though. Also, there was never anyone around to make a cocktail had we wanted one. Of course this is probably different in high season or on the weekends. We went down to the Shoreclub one night (Dinner at Nobu- Outstanding!!) and I was kind of missing the pool scene and cool-atmosphere. Seeing that my beach-body was not quite where I like it, I was glad for the tranquil, quiet Tides. (the nude beach is quite enough). All in all I'd stay here again, but next time I might try the Shoreclub just for a change of pace.

  • Liked — The beds and big cool rooms
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank contributor90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
536 reviews
Hotel Victor
#79 of 208 in Miami Beach
928 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,481 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,892 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#81 of 208 in Miami Beach
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
King And Grove Tides
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing