We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Tides ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tides ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Great corner room with good view. Housekeeping and reception very good, hotel a little dated. Pool nice for relaxing. Beach close by. Bar guy so great , not cheap though. Good location. Gym small but sufficient. Lots of choice in area for food so wasn't busy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yenooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    278
    96
    40
    38
See reviews for
165
586
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights as part of our honeymoon and had a great stay.

Hotel is extremely impressive and the staff were all incredibly friendly and greeted you every time you went through the lobby, we had a good laugh with the bar staff too watching the England v Uruguay World Cup game.

The hotel is well located on Ocean Drive for a host of great restaurants and bars as well as being a stone’s throw from the beach – the hotel has an area where you can get complimentary sun loungers, towels and an umbrella.

The room was huge and featured a walk-in closet as well as a really nice bathroom with some excellent toiletry products provided. The housekeeping service was first rate as well, coming twice a day.

We had a read some negative things about noise on the lower floors so when we arrived and got our room on the second floor we were a little concerned, more so when at around 6pm and severely jetlagged we could hear quite loud music coming from outside. However we went to bed very early that night and were not kept awake or disturbed in any way, nor were we any night for the rest of our stay, though we did not stay over a weekend.

The hotel restaurant is great for breakfast and has some very good offers but we didn’t eat there other than for breakfast.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I booked The Tides through my American Express Platinum Fine Hotels & Resorts benefits which I use often when I travel as the hotels are always top notch with great added benefits. The service team at The Tides was acceptable but certainly not at the level of the usual Fine Hotels & Resorts experience, front desk staff not very friendly and there is zero service at the pool although they claim on the website to have poolside service. I had a very large beautiful room with ocean view that was very well appointed, however, due to the location no matter where your room is in the hotel you will feel as if the music from the hotel restaurant and the neighbor restaurants is playing within your room. Bring earplugs or plan to be awake until 1 am. The major disappointment for me was the food. I had free breakfast included as well as a voucher for a meal and the 3 meals I did have were terrible. I had fish that was $38 and tasted as if it had been frozen and reheated. Avoid the restaurant at all costs. Overall, if you want to stay right in the heart of the South Beach chaos and hear music blaring in your beautiful room all night this is a good spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiKYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an amazing time, the people working made us feel at home, thank you so much...the only thing I will recommend is to get your own taxi if you need one, because the service of the company that they use is horrible, the drivers dont speak English they have a noisy radio and they over charge, beacuse they say they pay the hotel 10 dollars to do pick ups

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jhon1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I chose Tides based on luxury feel and a cracking deal. I wouldn't pay rack rates to stay here. The positives: it's very attractive, with great decor. Check in and out was a breeze with friendly service. We could store luggage all day easily. The room was wonderful, large with great bathroom. The view was stunning from the room. Free wifi, which actually worked. The not so good: on drop off, we had to carry our own bags up the stairs into the hotel. I appreciate that the location on ocean drive makes it difficult to have people waiting around for guests to arrive, but for the price I would expect better service. It took a while for anyone to take our order on the terrace. I believe service in miami is more laid back than other places, but still, for a luxury hotel I'd expect swift service. Finally, whilst sheets etc were luxurious, the be itself was very soft. It's my personal choice I know, but it prefer a firmer mattress.

I would note that we were on the third floor on the end directly above the loud bag next door. With the hum of the air con, we couldn't hear the bar. I know others have complained, but we didn't find it an issue at all.

Overall, stay if you get a good deal. Otherwise, perhaps other hotels are more reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAfan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bay, Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a fantastic hotel. Stunning decor, great service and amazing location - right on Ocean Drive and a 5-10 minute walk to Lincoln Road. Given the location, and having stayed at a few other hotels on south beach, size and space is usually limited but we were pleasantly surprised at how spacious our room was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissyandrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed June 16th-23rd 2014 in an Ocean Front King on the 4th floor. The Hotel is perfectly located in the centre of South Beach on Ocean Drive and represents excellent value, especially when you consider that the room was a massive 450 sqft. We had ice-cold air con and enjoyed the small gym and pool.

Aside from being a landmark Art Deco hotel, the thing that set this apart from all others were the staff. They were friendly, professional, courteous and eager to assist.

Breakfasts were a feast with only the freshest ingredients and everything prepared individually to order. My thanks to Isaias and the rest of the breakfast staff for making us so welcome, you are all a credit to the hotel.

If you want to stay in South Beach, there is nowhere better than Ocean Drive to watch the world go by, even better from a front row seat at The Tides Hotel.

Room Tip: Watch out for offers including breakfast as these are very good value. We were also given a 2 x sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Hotel Victor
#73 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing