We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good art deco property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #64 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Good location in the heart of SoBe. Historic art deco property with large rooms. WE spent 3 nights and would return. Our 4th floor room had a perfect view of the ocean and the street below...as good as it gets .

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank midwestreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Pricy but elegant, as well as comfortable without pretension, and you can't beat the location. I didn't use the spa nor take any breakfast, however cocktails on the front patios were lots of fun. And greeting an eyeful of the drag show at the bar next door on Sunday was a actually a bonus!

Room Tip: Very romantic, but you'll want to bring your own wine and champagne to the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank kenrohrbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent the first night of honeymoon at Tides and had a great time. We were Upgraded to a suite and greeted with chocolate strawberries and a bottle of wine was a lovely touch. The hotel and rooms were perfect and designed so nicely. The beach is a stones throw away and the view from our room was perfect. The location is very good, although travelling direct from the UK, we were ready for bed by 10pm and the buzz and music on the strip made sleeping difficult before 11pm. We would definitely stay here again and enjoy the characters on the strip and enjoy the view outside!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We came from London intending to stay a few days here either side of a trip to the Florida Quays but we were enjoying ourselves so much that we stayed the whole way through. I think it's my 5th stay at the Tides, but the first with the family.

The location is perfect at the center of the Ocean Drive hotels, still the coolest of them all. By far the best street restaurant, perhaps a bit upscale for the Ocean Drive 'urban' crowd but we loved it.

We had a room on the 8th floor on the south corner of the building, the return frontage gave us amazing views all along the beach. Loved the decoration with relaxed beach style furniture and sandy coloured marble.

The room staff and the desk team couldn't have been more helpful, especially the concierge who fixed a variety of things for us to do and was able to get us that impossible-to-book table on both Friday and Saturday night at Bazaar.


Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank ChrisRadford-J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were at the Tides for a bachelor party trip and can say that we could not have chosen a better hotel! Location, spacious rooms, charming architecture and very friendly service personal just were amazing!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hans L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I loved it here. I've been to South Beach at least four other times and this was undoubtedly the best hotel I've ever stayed at while there. The oceanfront room view is beautiful. The room is HUGE. You get free beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella just for being a guest at the Tides AND you get complimentary drink ticket when checking in to use whenever you'd like (the drink is great). NYTimes delivered to your door free of charge. They even greeted us at our cab and were so accommodating and hospitable the entire stay. Be aware that the bar next door is loud and the sound travels even up to the 8th floor in the evenings but I didn't mind it. Definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TCW531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff at the front desk were super helpful. My only complaint is that we were there to celebrate my partners surprise birthday celebration which I mentioned when I wrote to the concierge however there was nothing in the room indicated such. We did receive chocolate covered strawberries but no happy birthday card. Nonetheless we had a wonderful time and will be back in the future! You can't beat this location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank demoretrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,649 reviews
Hotel Victor
#87 of 212 in Miami Beach
962 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
572 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#14 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,946 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#51 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $339 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing