We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tides South Beach
Nearby Hotels
$481
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$262
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$238
$217
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$612
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)
$329
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$399
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$499
EDITION
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,195)
Filter reviews
1,195 results
Traveler rating
711
303
97
45
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
303
97
45
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivegay barsouth beachhigher floorwelcome drinkpeople watchingart decobeautiful hotelpool areafacing the oceanthe location is perfectluxury hotellounge chairsvalet parkingnoisemiamisobe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
353 - 358 of 1,195 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The first time I drove up Ocean Drive to The Tides Hotel, I was met by a courteous bellman who addressed me by name as he took me and my bags to the concierge. The concierge offered me a complementary welcome drink and took us to our suite where she carried out the check-in procedure. Our suite was large, lavishly furnished, had a large comfortable bed (just what you need after flying across the pond) and looked over the beach and out to the Atlantic Ocean. The establishment next door has its own brand of entertainment which attracts crowds of onlookers but has never disturbed our sleep. The pool is always warm and never crowded or noisy.

The last occasion we spent at The Tides, the concierge upgraded our room to a beautiful suite on one of the higher floors. This suite had its own large secluded balcony and a bathroom bigger than some other hotel rooms on Ocean Drive.

The Tides is the only place to stay on South Beach.

Room Tip: The higher the better
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaTeresa52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers. It gives us joy when our guests enjoy their time with us. Being a small boutique hotel, we work towards knowing our guests on a personal level so we can best anticipate and serve their needs. We are happy when you are happy !! Please come back to your Miami family soon !!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Before I delve into my review, I need to mention, since most of the reviews here do, that if you are staying on Ocean Drive and are lucky enough to be facing east (the ocean) YOU WILL HEAR NOISE! Almost every room at The Tides faces the ocean, which is fantastic, but in the evenings, there is noise. It is important to note that all noise ends at 11 pm, so this is not an all night thing and we had no problem sleeping. We moved into The Tides after being disappointed in our original hotel choice. The Tides was everything we wanted: lovely, big rooms, fabulous view, quiet pool. We liked the fact that there was no eating and drinking by the pool, because I think that made it more peaceful. The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. As mentioned in other reviews, the quality of the food is not great, but we didn't stay here for the restaurant. Only two other critiques: on the far side of the pool, the chairs are above the garbage. I am guessing this isn't always the case and depends on wind direction, but when we sat there, you could smell it. I would think, if brought to their attention, the hotel could easily fix this. My other critique is the fact that they charge $2 for the use of the coffee maker in the room. I don't know any hotel that does this, so was a bit put out about it. All in all, though, a wonderful experience. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

Room Tip: Any room that ends in "06" (e.g. 306, 406, 506, etc.) is a corner room with two windows facing east and south. I would ask for one of those.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilstar211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for your authentic feedback. Although i am very happy that you have a great stay at The Tides and we were what you were looking for after a disappointing stay elsewhere, we are taking your feedback seriously and sharing with the teams in the hopes of improving upon our shortcomings. Hope to see you again soon at The Tides !!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I’ll begin with the positive. The staff was lovely and the location; great. The room was spacious and comfortable though frankly the mattress needs to be replaced (room 202). The closet area was wonderful and I loved having a safe. It does not have the usual hotel room coffee maker but there is a Nepresso machine. The charge for each cup of Nespress is $2. The pool area is very comfortable but there is no lunch or bar service there. What a pity. The bathroom is roomy and features a wonderful deep tub. Unfortunately, there is absolutely NO PRIVACY in the bathroom. The tub/shower has a glass wall between it and the bedroom space. It is crazy. You cannot be in the bathroom without everyone in the room seeing your every move. It is terrible. Whose idea was this? Directly below our room was the sidewalk restaurant/bar, which is LOUD. LOUD -until 11 pm. You absolutely cannot relax in your room and enjoy peace and quite. You can’t even hear your TV while the band plays. Seriously. The restaurant food was fairly good but rather expensive.

If you are staying in South Beach check your restaurant tabs, gratuity is already included.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less noise from the restaurant below….
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at The Tides last week and the hotel itself is beautiful. Large spacious clean rooms with lovely ocean views. The noise is quite a big issue particularly Thursday-Sunday even on the highest floor but the location is very central which is great!! We only ate one day at the hotel and must say it wasn't very good. The hotel should really try and improve the quality of the food as many people have commented on how bad the food is. Luckily there are plenty of places to eat around Washington Avenue, Lincoln Rd etc and are by far cheaper. Overall we had a good experience in terms of friendly staff, clean rooms and fantastic views but don't think we would stay here again purely based on the noise factor.

Room Tip: A room at the back will reduce the noise levels but you won't get ocean views.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The suites are comfortable and well-furnished. The staff are very friendly. It is a good, central South Beach location. But the one meal we had at the hotel - a lunch - was fairly appalling. The food was cold and the level of service was poor. So, would probably stay there again but would avoid the restaurant.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews