We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #68 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location.”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I’ll begin with the positive. The staff was lovely and the location; great. The room was spacious and comfortable though frankly the mattress needs to be replaced (room 202). The closet area was wonderful and I loved having a safe. It does not have the usual hotel room coffee maker but there is a Nepresso machine. The charge for each cup of Nespress is $2. The pool area is very comfortable but there is no lunch or bar service there. What a pity. The bathroom is roomy and features a wonderful deep tub. Unfortunately, there is absolutely NO PRIVACY in the bathroom. The tub/shower has a glass wall between it and the bedroom space. It is crazy. You cannot be in the bathroom without everyone in the room seeing your every move. It is terrible. Whose idea was this? Directly below our room was the sidewalk restaurant/bar, which is LOUD. LOUD -until 11 pm. You absolutely cannot relax in your room and enjoy peace and quite. You can’t even hear your TV while the band plays. Seriously. The restaurant food was fairly good but rather expensive.

If you are staying in South Beach check your restaurant tabs, gratuity is already included.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the less noise from the restaurant below….
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotchnSoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    295
    98
    41
    39
See reviews for
179
604
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at The Tides last week and the hotel itself is beautiful. Large spacious clean rooms with lovely ocean views. The noise is quite a big issue particularly Thursday-Sunday even on the highest floor but the location is very central which is great!! We only ate one day at the hotel and must say it wasn't very good. The hotel should really try and improve the quality of the food as many people have commented on how bad the food is. Luckily there are plenty of places to eat around Washington Avenue, Lincoln Rd etc and are by far cheaper. Overall we had a good experience in terms of friendly staff, clean rooms and fantastic views but don't think we would stay here again purely based on the noise factor.

Room Tip: A room at the back will reduce the noise levels but you won't get ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

The suites are comfortable and well-furnished. The staff are very friendly. It is a good, central South Beach location. But the one meal we had at the hotel - a lunch - was fairly appalling. The food was cold and the level of service was poor. So, would probably stay there again but would avoid the restaurant.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the hotel a few times over more than a decade.Yes,it has changed,but it still has a classy feeling.
The front terrace has been extensively commercialized,live at night, inexpensive terrace meals.
The frontdesk staff is very ,very friendly and knowledgeable , a big plus.
We were quite disappointed about the barkeepers: I trust all their cocktails,beers and hard liquors are great,but they do not know anything about the ( rather expensive) wines that they serve.Very oxidated wines happen to be served by the glass ,as they do not know or check what is being served.
A rather poor performance for a pretentious bar/ restaurant.
Efficient valet parking.Small pool .

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Remco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Arrived to the Tides for a conference at the South Beach Convention Centre. Check in was pleasant and the staff were polite and helpful. I was shipping some items to the hotel and they made sure it was delivered to my room as requested. The room was quite nice and spacious, i liked the layout, definitely no complaints (see pictures). The amenities were standard and the room was clean. Drinks at the bar were not very good, the bartender was not very experienced. The food at the hotel was standard and service was quite slow. The location was great, shopping, restaurants, live music, etc. Definitely a tourist location right on the beach! The only problem was the loud music, so if you are an early to bed kinda person, it will annoy you ALOT, between the bar next door and the hotel's live music, it gets quite loud and hearing renditions of lady gaga and billy ocean sung at the same time, not pleasant. Bring your ear plugs! Otherwise, a fabulous place to lay your head for a few nights!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This hotel is very nice. The location is beachside, the rooms are large, the service is excellent and the atmosphere is very relaxed. I stayed here for a week in January and felt that there were no hassles, nothing to fret about. A few things that could be improved are the pool (it is behind the hotel and has no staff to offer food or drink and the addition of spa services. Get ready for music till midnight out front (so close your windows if your not in to that).

This place exudes South Beach so take it for what it does best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlboro,nj
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I read all these reviews prior to going. It was a "gift" so we were staying here regardless. To tell you the truth - we were scared....Well let me say - we could not have been happier! We had been to SouthBeach a few times and always passed this Hotel. I always wanted to stay at this PRIME location and I knew this is where the "action" was. Of course it may be "loud or noisy or hard to fall asleep" but you are above the bars and restaurants!! Silence after 11 or midnight and a TON of fun before that!! The room was on 8 and was amazing....spotless...huge...great shower pressure (my pet peeve!) The staff was very professional and responsive to all our need. IT WAS COLD AND RAINED all 3 days - and we still had a wonderful time. Ask for a higher floor if you want it a bit quieter - but this is MIAMI and not the Everglades! PS - RAIN? try machine gun shooting at Lock and Load in miami....it was a BLAST!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3grlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Hotel Victor
#81 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing