We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Bad Expierence” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #71 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad Expierence”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were originally staying at the Hilton Bently, but the Amex travel expert suggested we stay at the Tides because of the perks we get for being a platinum card holder. Well no matter what the perks were they were not worth it. We paid $800 a night for the two rooms. Not a cheap hotel. Not worth half the price.The food was terrible, no one at the door to greet or to help flag down a cab even. We stayed on the 7th floor thinking your high enough for the noise but the windows are the original ones from the 50's. Could not sleep at all. The rooms were dated. There is a gay bar beside the hotel which is fine but they are very loud and enthusiastic at there games and festivities. I wouldn't stay at the Tides ever agin not even for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tides-Management, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your experience. I am truly sorry that you had such an unpleasant stay. We aim to exceed the expectations of every guest and we clearly did achieve with your stay. We take this feedback very seriously and we will address each of the issues you mentioned - the upkeep of the rooms, the quality of the food, and presence at the front door. The noise issue is an on-going concern of ours and we will continue to do our part in enforcing the noise ordinance with our neighbors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    278
    96
    40
    38
See reviews for
165
587
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

DO NOT stay here if you value your privacy in the bathroom. The entire bathroom is enclosed in glass. This means that whomever you are sharing the room with will be watching you as you shower. Some of you may be thinking that sounds romantic, and it could be. However, watching someone use the toilet is neither romantic, erotic or comfortable for both parties. And, should your companion wake up during the night to use the bathroom, the light will wake you up as it comes pouring out of the glass wall right onto the bed which is next to the bathroom.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathie719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a night at this hotel to celebrate my birthday at the end of a two week holiday in Florida. From start to end, this hotel is excellent. From the valet parking to the beach staff, all staff are friendly, helpful and they all remember your name. You cannot beat the location, right on South Beach, and all rooms overlook the sea. Rooms are large and well equipped. The only thing I didn't like was the clear bathroom window, but they do supply courtesy blinds if you ask. The cocktails are amazing and the pool is lovely and quiet. I would not stay anywhere else in Miami!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean so all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Fabiola and her other lady colleague (sorry forgot the name but she knows who she is) then Raj and Allen. You guys rock. Made our stay to be perfect. Loved everything about the hotel but above all else your amazing service and friendliness. Thank you to Raj and Allen for also organizing us a taxi to Sawgrass Mills. Was at a very affordable cost. We are definitely coming back there next year July. From Mr and Mrs Kula all the way from Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceezetkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this place. The location couldn't be better, the staff is extremely helpful and nice, the rooms are beautifully decorated, and the restaurant is ideal for a quick bite and some people-watching. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMathew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The Tides hotel is right infront of the beach and in the centre of the action. The staff is really very hospitable and will accommodate most requests with a smile snd pleasant attitude. All rooms face the ocean so you won't worry about that. Our room was big modern snd beautifully decorated. The mini bar is fully stocked and they also offer staff complementary beach loungers and an umbrella supplied by Boucher Brothers. The staff at front desk also have complementary admission tickets with priority access to the hottest clubs. The restaurant downstairs offers great food at reasonable prices and apparently it's under new management. They also offer the best happy hour on the street. Those giant mojitos cost $16 as opposed to other restaurants charging $25-$32. Fabiola at the reception of the hotel us amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Loyiso S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
York, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel in early June. The hotel and staff are very good, the rooms are generous with great views of the beach. My only gripe is a very loud bar next door with live drag acts parading up and down the sidewalk. Even on a high floor it was intrusive.
Miami wasn't what we hoped it to be, but the hotel itself is class, barring the noisy neighbour!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkyRedLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#39 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Hotel Victor
#73 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing