We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“VIP Treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #73 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“VIP Treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We arrived at our hotel, King and Grove, by 1pm. Our check in time was 3pm so we planned to leave or bags at the front desk and to enjoy a late lunch but to our surprise they let us check in early. We were shown to our room which was amazing! From the moment we checked in we were treated like VIP and the room made me feel like a million dollars. We stayed in room 302 on the third floor. I know reviews warn to stay on a higher floor but I was so thankful a room was ready early that I didn’t say a word and I’m glad I didn’t. What makes room 302 special is that the window opens and it has a little ledge beneath. I read in other reviews that the windows on the higher floor don’t open so we enjoyed this and we enjoyed all the noises. The club next door is super noisy but it’s amazing (nightly drag queen show) and does quiet down around midnight. Pros and cons of this hotel/room?

Pros = The window opens, iPod charger in room, free beach setup with luxury loungers and beach towels. Noon checkout! Free water by the pool, free welcome drinks, and the friendliest staff. The room is beautiful, the bed is comfortable, walk in closet, right on the strip, gorgeous views, and the security! Not only do they have attentive staff in the front lobby but you can’t actually access the elevator without a hotel card. There are so many pros, I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Cons= There are cons of course. They were not deal breakers for me but here they are so you can decide. No privacy in the bathroom as there is a glass window from the shower to the bedroom. South Beach is very segregated. We had some super hot gay men nearby but in our section of the beach we had a lot of bums and gangsters. The people watching is part of the fun but since we went with our 6 year old I would have preferred a different section of the beach. We walked down to the end and found a family atmosphere farther South near the beach that connects to the Hilton. The noise wasn’t that bad from outside but the noise from the hotel hall was unbearable at times. The hotel should provide a fan or a noise machine to drown this out.

**Tip** drink the in room coffee which has a modest $2 per packet charge. This is half the price you will pay for coffee in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noellea81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    271
    95
    39
    37
See reviews for
161
578
44
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Kelly Wearstler was the designer for this boutique South Beach hotel about 4 years ago. Feels like it needs a bit of updating and freshening, but because the service here is so earnest you almost forgive its shortcomings. The corner rooms (06 series) have a nice view of the ocean and down Ocean Drive, but closet space is compromised because of the stairwell. The oceanfront rooms have a much better layout and feel bigger...but make sure you have a higher level room, as the music and noise from the entertainment outside at night can keep you up til the wee hours. Fabiola, Giselle, Ficky and Nory win employees of the year in my book!

Room Tip: High floor, ocean front are best. Request to have the AC vent over the bed covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cydsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

And even noisier if you go Memorial Day weekend (which was a surprise to us that it was HipHop weekend in miami...should read forums more often!)
Agree with a recent reviewer, at these prices , they should offer more complimentary items (like the Ritz does and is cheaper). Reviews from few months ago said that there are complimentary pastries and coffee every morning in the lobby--- no such thing. No free water (except if you are going to the beach and they will give you 1 or 2 bottles at front desk).
We were celebrating our 5th wedding anniversary and they did nothing special for us.
Our room began to have water drip down the wall into a bubble which finally burst on our last day there. (dont stay in 802 for awhile!).
I did find the front desk staff very friendly, and the Tides restaurant had nice staff (although have to agree with others,, the food was not very good and my husband actually got very sick the night before our flight by eating dinner there).

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pishihapoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I went here with a friend last weekend and we had an amazing time. Our room overlooked 12th street beach and it was beautiful. The hotel is very clean and cozy. Everyone who works there is very accomadating and helpful. The "check-in" in cocktail was amazing...highly recommend it. The bathrooms were my favorite in our studio style suite as the shower had just glass on both sides so your significant other can see you taking a shower ;), very interesting with a nice touch (i personally liked this). I would def go back in the future!.
One drawback, next to a club/bar that gets very loud during the day. A lot of drag shows go on there and loud music during the day.

Room Tip: If just you and significant other get studio suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TanDJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Miami Beach undoubtly has many good and expensive hotels. Among them is the King & Grove Tides a real revelation.
It isn't cheap, that's for sure but it has bright, spacious rooms of some 55 m² where other hotels call 40m² a suite.
The hotel is meticulously clean and the beds are super.
The staff is very helpful and makes your stay an unforgettable experience.
Cross Ocean Drive and you're on the beach - can't be closer!
Breakfast is till 09.00 only.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanvanDoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have been to South Beach a number of times. This was the first time staying on Ocean Drive. I admit it is a bit noisy, though generally speaking things do calm down late at night, except for the random police siren at 3 in the morning.

The hotel:

Staff are terrific.
Room is nice.
Complaint: Nothing is complimentary. They want $2.00 for the nespresso pods in the room, which by the way, are impossible to work.
$8.00 for a bottle of water. Come on. We pay plenty for the room. No water?
No coffee in the lobby of any kind. No complimentary breakfast, which is okay, but then please have better breakfasts. No oatmeal?
Since I am a swimmer, I liked the pool, which is not crowded.
Complimentary beach chairs and umbrella, very nice. At least that is a lovely amenity.
Will I come back? Probably not. But I am not disappointed that I stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tides in May 2013. On our arrival we were not disappointed, check in service was swift and courteous. Our room was on the 6th floor and was a corner room. I would strongly recommend when booking you request a corner room. The reason being you get two windows, one facing the beach and the other on the corner. This just adds to the bright feeling of the room. I have seen some reviews stating the furnishing of the rooms is not upto standard. What utter rubbish. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and believe the Tides is furnished to a very comfortable standard and importantly with furnishings in keeping with its Art Deco era. The bathroom is large and also there is a separate dressing room. Also importantly there were no additional expenses, with a beach set up included in the price. My only problem was the bar next door that every evening has live drag queen shows. These are so popular that they erect barriers into the road to accommodate the customers. The volume of the music and acts are in my view excessive. To the extent that albeit we were on the 6th floor it caused me some irritation in my room. Furthermore we wanted to eat at the hotel restaurant on the outside terrace, but declined to do so as conversation would have been almost impossible. The Tides is great, but I strongly recommend the management do something about the shows next door which detract from the relaxed intimate atmosphere they try to create.

Room Tip: Book a corner room on as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darrendazler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Hotel Victor
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 747 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,729 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing