We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #69 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, very clean. The service staff is very polite, attentive, and helpful. The room is beautiful and kept very clean. It is very close to the beach. One word of warning, it is located in a very noisy section of Ocean Drive. The bar on the corner is entertaining but very loud until late in the night. The restaurants also play very loud music. If you plan to go to bed early (10-11), then the noise may be too much. Keep in mind the noise is not in the hotel it comes from outside. We stayed on the eighth floor and still heard the noise. I would stay there again. Monday through Wednesday night was a little quieter than the other nights.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We came to this hotel for our elopement in Miami Beach. It was absolutely the most beautiful art deco hotel on Ocean Drive. The crowd was grown-up/older adults with sophistication so which was perfect for a romantic elopement. The events manager Aline was absolutely wonderful in accomodating us to use the hotel last minute if the rain did not cooperate for our beachside wedding ceremony. The staff was excellent and they upgraded us to a oceanfront suite for our wedding day. The photographer loved the suite so much that he said the pictures of us getting ready were going to be awesome. I loved this hotel and so happy to have chose it for our intimate and romantic elopement.

Room Tip: Choose the OceanFront Suite. Superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsthekatsmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I flew to Miami with some of my friends and i had the best time.
The service was amazing, the rooms were very clean and everything was in the standards i am used to.
The bar of the hotel is the biggest plus.
we stayed for a long weekend of 4 days and i highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabriel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

On April 11, 2013 I married the man of dreams at had the wedding of my dreams thanks to the most AMAZING Catering Sales Manager Aline William-Bauss!! She helped me through every detail, had recommendations for my every wish, and stood by throughout the entire wedding and reception. I could not rave enough about her, but I have to save some space to mention the spectacular experience we had at the hotel for our honeymoon weekend. Our suite was sweet! Beautiful decor throughout, so much that our photographer said the beauty and sophistication of the hotel made the photography happen like magic! Can't wait to return again and again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffanyHowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I loved my stay at the Tides in South Beach Miami.

perfect location on the Ocean Drive, facing the ocean.
Very beautifully decorated from the entrance to the rooms.
also nice for lunch on the terrace.

i would not recomend the hotel for family with children, very grown up crowd.

i loved it.

Room Tip: ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is one of the earlier Art Deco hotels and its beautifully done. Its not luxury but wonderfully recreated with a great atmosphere. The lobby is worth spending some time in and to really look at the light fittings, chairs and all the details which conjure up the 1920's. The location is right in the middle of South Beach and is fabulous if you want to be in the middle of all the fun and noise. Our room was big and spartan but we loved it. The floors are stone so its not cosy. The pool is quite small but you are on the beach so if you want space to swim there is the ocean! Beware, all the hotels, restaurants add an automatic 18% tip and then leave space for an extra tip! Being from the UK I found this really cheeky but they all do it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lotstoseeanddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

6 of us spent 3 days here. We've been to SoBe many times, but it's our first time at this hotel. In short, for the price, I'd prefer to stay a little away from this very noisy area - nearer to the hotels close to the Ritz. The hotel could have been "luxurious" but not in this cheesy location.
The good: Rooms are very large with well appointed bathrooms. Beds are comfortable. The lobby is lovely. The breakfast is good, and it's nice to sit outside and people watch. The staff in the hotel were great - very helpful and pleasant to deal with.
The bad: Service in the restaurant is horrible. 15 minutes for a cup of coffee, running out of cream cheese, long waits for any request. We got breakfast for free, but if you're paying, the prices are high. The location is next to a very loud bar that has frequent cross-dressing shows, and right in the midst of the "action". Even on the 5th floor, you can hear the noise. It's also easy to hear noise from the other rooms, and they play loud music all day in the restaurant area.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor - the noise from the street is very loud!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susannTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,682 reviews
Hotel Victor
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
972 reviews
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dream South Beach
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,354 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,956 reviews
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $332 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing