We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #71 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serene Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Set in a frenetic scene, the Tides is a more upscale and laid back alternative on Ocean Drive. True the restaurant and bar scene are not happening, but it seems like you would have to compromise on the chill effect if these were more bustling. The room and staff are great, there are a couple of over achievers here that will make your stay perfect, as in any organization, there are some that are treading water. The room was big, clean and has a great shower. The pool is behind the hotel on the mezzanine level and feels kind of isolated and really not happening. If you are looking for a pool scene on the beach, this may not be the place for you, if you want privacy and solitude, this may be the place for you. The bar here is really bad, the bartender while we were there is really not a people person, was at the bar by myself and was able to engage her in a pleasant conversation, came back with the wife and got a lot of one word answers, I can talk to my teenagers if I want that interchange.
If you are looking for chill in an active area, this is a great alternative. (BTW on noise level, it is loud but it usually calms down around 11 or 12 and we had no problems getting off to sleep)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestenderNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    278
    96
    40
    38
See reviews for
165
586
46
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Tides is ideally located and a little further north than the rest of Southbeach. It is located across a park and the beach. This hotel has been around a long time and they have preserved and maintained the original fittings. I understand that many famous people have stayed here in the past.
Everything in The Tides is very tastefully done: the exterior areas, the foyer, the pool at the rear and the rooms.
The staff were friendly and very helpful generally. Southbeach is pretty noisy but our room which was on the third floor helped isolate us from the noise.

Room Tip: Southbeach is noisy and if you don't like loud music, get a higher level room or stay somewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank not_johntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

First, the good stuff. We stayed at the Tides back in January for the Notre Dame-Alabama football game weekend. We had been once before as a family, in 2005 or 2006 (the exact date escapes me), and it has been totally redone since then. The interiors had been completely redone, and the whole place looks fantastic. They've got a secluded pool that's really nice; the rooms are huge, and have stunning views of the beach - really ideal location. I should note that with all of the surrounding restaurants and bars, it can get pretty lively, so keep that in mind if you're not a night owl (in which case, why are you in Miami?!)

Now the bad stuff: specifically that the food wasn't great and the service was really, really bad. It was like they blew their entire operating budget on the (gorgeous) renovations, with nothing leftover for staff or food. Breakfast could take upwards of 90 minutes, even when no one else was dining indoors or out. Even with the long wait, there would be something wrong with the order. Housekeeping seemed a bit remiss too - we had to call every day we were there to get someone to come and make the bed or do a cursory cleaning of the room. There was one waitress that was good, and we literally would only stop for food or for a drink if we knew she was going to be around.

Food was also not great. By the pool I ordered a cobb salad, and when it came it came without the shrimp, eggs, dressing, or avocado. That is 4/6 of the ingredients. LOL.

So basically, unless they can take their staff through bootcamp, I'd recommend looking elsewhere. But if service gets better -- the rooms, location, and design are simply stunning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

While the hotel looks nice, the staff is nice, we were not informed that we were next to a very noisy bar with loud techno music up to 3 am when we booked for a family vacation. At 11 pm, we were told that it would stop and it did not. I wished the hotel had informed us this was not a place to stay as a family and because they did not say anything, we fe

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at The Tides with my daughter during her spring break and had a pleasant experience at The Tides. Although my room not quite ready when I arrived at 3, they comped me a lunch while I waited until about 4:30. Pleasant room on the 5th floor and just like everyone has said the rooms are large (we had a queen double) with a lovely view of the park and beach beyond. Everyone was very helpful and kind and the service was excellent. The beach setup could not be easier - give your name and room number and two chairs, umbrella and towels delivered by friendly attendants. The free coffee and danish is hardly worth it - better yet, walk down to the News Cafe and get a great cup of coffee and good food and people watching is fun! Ate at Le Sandwicherie (14th and Washington) for an early dinner - go, eat, sit at a stool and chat with the people hanging out! Joe's Stone Crab is great but if you go be prepared for a wait (no reservations). It is part of the fun and worth the wait. Save room for the key lime pie! It is noisy as everyone has said, but quiet after 11 or so and so no problem getting to sleep. Comfy beds, great shower, soft towels and clean rooms! They do like to come by early, so if you are sleeping in, just stick the privacy notice on the door and you will be golden! If you want to be right in the middle of the happening part of Miami Beach, it is a great choice!

Room Tip: The higher you are the better the view and the quieter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drummer'sgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments on your recent stay at Tides.

Our apologies for the lack of room availability upon your arrival, but happy to hear you enjoyed the spacious accommodations and the view of the beach and ocean. As well, happy to read you enjoyed the beach accessibility and that the staff was friendly and attentive.

Sorry to read about your displeasure with the morning complimentary coffee and pastries.

Hope to see you back with us in the near future.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here a few years ago and were kind of wowed by the place. The energy was great, the staff was superb. We loved our room.

This time, it was hard to put a finger on just what had changed, but there was a terrible lack of energy to the place when we walked in. The positives: the bellman and front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was clean and beautiful. The bed was comfortable, with good quality pillows. Great shower pressure.

In the public areas, they had renovated the dining room and put in a big bar, which would have been wonderful if it had been welcoming. It wasn't. There needed to be the right kind of music playing. Also, both nights we were there, the bar was staffed by a sullen bartender who acted like she was doing a favor getting you a drink, and who seemed more interested in talking to her friends hanging out on the stools.

The old bar, which is gorgeous and tucked away and special, seems an afterthought now. It sits empty.

The other thing that doesn't help is they've added outside tables and umbrellas to the sidewalk, and now it's hard to differentiate The Tides from all the other places hawking their menus on Ocean Ave.

Breakfast service was very slow, but friendly, and the breakfast was good. We did not eat any other meals there. (LOVED Khong River House, near Lincoln Rd).

The Tides is still nice, but we won't be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank epilogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Very nice to read that you enjoyed the attentive and friendly service from the front office and bell staff and the accommodations were pleasant.

Our sincere apologies for the lack of attentiveness and graciousness exuded by the bartender, and the lack of timeliness with the breakfast service. I am truly sorry.

I am saddened to read you won't be coming back in the future, but if you do change your mind, we would love to see you.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tides this week. Our room was great and the location was too. Only down side is the noise at nights from the club next door but it stops by midnight. Jessica at the front desk and Michael the valet/bellman made the stay so much more enjoyable. The female manager was also very friendly and helpful. They catered to us from the minute we arrived until our departure. The onsite restaurant was a whole different story. We ate outside there on our first night. It was AWFUL. First, our crab cakes were ice cold in the middle, then my steak was very under cooked and my husband's grouper had so many bones in it, he just gave up. Thankfully we had a resort credit to use because our bill was over $150.00 for one of the worst meals I have ever had. The package we had also came with complimentary breakfast so the next morning we figured we would give it another try. We waited 15 minutes for a server and were then told they ran out of coffee. My husband's eggs were way under cooked and had to be sent back. My eggs were over cooked a bit and by the time my toast arrived, they were cold. Breakfast took us almost 45 minutes and there was only one other couple eating at that time. The check came and the total was $65.00. Thankfully we had a $50.00 credit toward breakfast so we only waisted $15.00 of our own money.... Yes two orders of bacon and eggs with one expresso and one cappuccino came to $65.00 with the automatic 18% tip. Two doors down breakfast was $12.00 for the same thing. The next night we decided to have a drink outside at the restaurant while deciding where to eat dinner. We waited over 20 minutes for a server and finally Michael, the valet got us the manager. She was apologetic and gave us a drink on the house. While waiting for service we watched another couple try to eat their very over cooked steaks and lobster tails with great frustration. Another gentleman complained to his friends that the food was not edible. We shared our disspointment with some staff and learned that the restaurant was just outsourced/ subleased to another company earlier this month. It is unfortunate because it is the only downside to this property and it is not even the hotel staff's doing. I would definitley recommend staying here but just don't waste your time eating or drinking here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your gracious feedback from your recent stay at Tides.

Nice to read that you enjoyed the accommodations and the location of the Hotel. As well as, the helpfulness of the staff, especially of Jessice and Michael. I will be sure to pass on your comments to them.

Our sincere apologies for the horrible experiences in the restaurant- the lack of food quality is unaccpetable and I am very sorry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, this is being addressed daily.

Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hotel Victor
#75 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing