We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful luxury hotel in the heart of south beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #80 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful luxury hotel in the heart of south beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at the tides hotel. We arrived on Christmas day and were offered complimentary drinks and a corner room with great views. The staff was exceptional expecially the evening concierge Francisco. The tides offers free continental breakfast every morning (the croissants are amazing). Beach setup, including chairs and umbrella are included. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Valet parking is $35. The pool area is nice but very quiet. The hotel is a bit pricey although we were able to book our room on a discount website for a decent price. The hotel offers inroom or poolside spa services however they are also a bit pricey. Overall great stay in great location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eva5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    270
    94
    38
    35
See reviews for
155
571
43
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Arriving from London We stayed as a family in one of the large regular rooms with two large double beds

Rooms were very spacious for a small 48 room hotel

The service from the staff was excellent throughout the stay

The restaurant and front terrace is an oasis of tranquility with the chaos of miami going around on either side including noisy bars and restaurants

The plus point of this place is you are right in the central art deco area as opposed to the resort areas higher up & lower down

Immediately to the right of the hotel is a flamboyant gay bar with cross dressers. Think Elton John. This shouldn't put most families off as it is good clean fun and part of teaching the kids about diversity. Being from London this didn't raise an eyebrow but was all part if the street show.

Totally safe for young kids (6 upwards) to cross the street ( full pedestrian priority and very slow traffic) by themselves to a playground then the beach

If you like the idea of letting your kids roam a little in a city environment this place is for you

The double glazing worked well with the almost silent aircon allowing full usolation from the party beloe and we got the kids to sleep at a reasonable hour

Only small negative was the pool was cold for the first two days but once we mentioned this it magically went warm for the remainder. This impressed me as I am used to pools taking a week to hear up in the uk

Mare sure you try the Trikke rentals from southfloridatrikkes nearby and la sandwicherie for kid friendly food

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mariocostasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went to celebrate my stepdaughter's 20th birthday. They made our stay quite cozy. Which was nice as we are NOT fashionistas. Sobe can have a snobbish attitude but this was nowhere in sight at the Tides. Lovely pool, fantastic location, awesome rooms. I've been a guest elsewhere in Sobe, this tops the list. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TimFargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello there, so nice to hear about your recent stay to celebrate your stepdaughters 20th birthday.

We are delighted we can be a part in the celebration.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, hope to see you soon.

All the best,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel could not be in a better South Beach location. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are very spacious. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends, couples, or singles. This would not be a good family hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mh77mh77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Tides.

I am delighted to hear about your wonderful experience, hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Went during a time when I think the hotel was relatively vacant. Rooms were very spacious, with a nice view of south beach. Greeted with a drink where you can have either in your room or in the lobby. The lobby is nicely decorated. Excellent location too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyhigh744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to south beach and the Tides. It is good to hear about your positive experience.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located on Ocean Avenue between 12th and 13th Streets, this hotel has boutique character to it but doesn’t suffer from the small footprint that many SoBe boutique hotels do. In fact, when you walk past it, you can’t help but notice wide steps and a grand entrance inviting you to take solace from being harassed by pretty girls with thick accents promoting daily food and drink specials all along Ocean Ave.


ROOM

I reserved an Oceanfront Studio for the night and it was a surprisingly large room. There was a spacious sitting area with sofa right by the window that faced Ocean Ave. and the beautiful beach. The bathroom featured a large shower/tub combo and a single vanity. There was also another room where the bell hop put our bags. The minibar was also in this little room. At that point, we wished we had two Hotels.com free night credits because we were so thrilled with our accommodations.

FACILITIES

After grabbing a bite to eat, Joann and I decided that we should head to the pool. This was probably a good idea since we arrived in the middle of a heat wave. The heat index was about 110 degrees. The Tides pool is small but it does the trick. There were only 2 other couples there so it was quiet and relaxing. The one attendant who served us was friendly and prompt; drinks strong and plentiful. It was a nice way to wind down our arrival day.

The next morning, we went to the beach. All guests receive complimentary beach chair setup – 2 chairs, 2 pads, 1 umbrella. One glorious umbrella. Without a cloud in the sky, I could not be happy that the umbrella was directly on top of me while Joann baked in the sun. This free setup is valuable because if you had to pay, it would cost about $50!

For more details and photos, please visit my blog: http://thehustleblog.com/2012/06/26/another-birthday-back-south-beach-king-grove-tides-z-ocean-hotel/

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike219jma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent visit to Tides.

I am delighted that you had a chance to experience the hotel and beach services, and to hear of your wonderful experience.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit with us.

sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

very clean and big rooms, friendly staff, the location is great in the middle of Miami SoBe on Ocean Drive. Best location in Miami Beach. It is expensive but worth the price. The hotel is calm and you can sleep at nights, thisinot garantied in the other hotels at Ocean Dr

Room Tip: I had a sweet in the 3th floor. was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
thanks for your comments on your recent visit to South Beach and the Tides.

I am delighted that you had a chance to experience some our services and that you enjoyed the location.

Hope to see you back here soon.

All the best
mathew pargament
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#55 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Hotel Victor
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#8 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Property: The Tides South Beach
Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean
 and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing