We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #68 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel could not be in a better South Beach location. The rooms are decorated beautifully and are very spacious. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends, couples, or singles. This would not be a good family hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mh77mh77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to Tides.

I am delighted to hear about your wonderful experience, hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,

mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Went during a time when I think the hotel was relatively vacant. Rooms were very spacious, with a nice view of south beach. Greeted with a drink where you can have either in your room or in the lobby. The lobby is nicely decorated. Excellent location too.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyhigh744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to south beach and the Tides. It is good to hear about your positive experience.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Located on Ocean Avenue between 12th and 13th Streets, this hotel has boutique character to it but doesn’t suffer from the small footprint that many SoBe boutique hotels do. In fact, when you walk past it, you can’t help but notice wide steps and a grand entrance inviting you to take solace from being harassed by pretty girls with thick accents promoting daily food and drink specials all along Ocean Ave.


ROOM

I reserved an Oceanfront Studio for the night and it was a surprisingly large room. There was a spacious sitting area with sofa right by the window that faced Ocean Ave. and the beautiful beach. The bathroom featured a large shower/tub combo and a single vanity. There was also another room where the bell hop put our bags. The minibar was also in this little room. At that point, we wished we had two Hotels.com free night credits because we were so thrilled with our accommodations.

FACILITIES

After grabbing a bite to eat, Joann and I decided that we should head to the pool. This was probably a good idea since we arrived in the middle of a heat wave. The heat index was about 110 degrees. The Tides pool is small but it does the trick. There were only 2 other couples there so it was quiet and relaxing. The one attendant who served us was friendly and prompt; drinks strong and plentiful. It was a nice way to wind down our arrival day.

The next morning, we went to the beach. All guests receive complimentary beach chair setup – 2 chairs, 2 pads, 1 umbrella. One glorious umbrella. Without a cloud in the sky, I could not be happy that the umbrella was directly on top of me while Joann baked in the sun. This free setup is valuable because if you had to pay, it would cost about $50!

For more details and photos, please visit my blog: http://thehustleblog.com/2012/06/26/another-birthday-back-south-beach-king-grove-tides-z-ocean-hotel/

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike219jma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your authentic feedback on your recent visit to Tides.

I am delighted that you had a chance to experience the hotel and beach services, and to hear of your wonderful experience.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit with us.

sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

very clean and big rooms, friendly staff, the location is great in the middle of Miami SoBe on Ocean Drive. Best location in Miami Beach. It is expensive but worth the price. The hotel is calm and you can sleep at nights, thisinot garantied in the other hotels at Ocean Dr

Room Tip: I had a sweet in the 3th floor. was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ilka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

thanks for your comments on your recent visit to South Beach and the Tides.

I am delighted that you had a chance to experience some our services and that you enjoyed the location.

Hope to see you back here soon.

All the best
mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I did not get the chance to stay at the hotel (I had to cancel the trip due to stolen passport), but I did experience the fantastic customer service of their staff: they were pleasant to deal with, very personable, understanding of the situation, and extremely helpful with my situation. Outstanding! Thank you Raj (the manager on duty) and the first person I spoke with (I wish I remember your name) for being so helpful and understanding! Whenever I come to MIami, I will definitely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on you recent experience at the Tides.

Event though, you did not have a chance to experience the Hotel services in its entirety, I am delighted to hear of your experience with one of our staff, Raj.

Hopefully you will visit us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I echo the comments below. We have stayed three nights and have no major complaints but it is very noisy and that was a bit of a shock having arrived tired after a long flight from the UK. It is Ocean Drive but if you've never been before, be prepared! Our room, an Oceanfront Signaure King, was very comfortable although there was no information about the hotel at all and we were not shown around...we never found the pool, not that it mattered. We didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to take breakfast at the nearby News Cafe but did notice the pastries, juice, coffee and tea laid out every morning for all residents. Lighting could be improved...it's impossible to see into the safe in the dressing room without a torch and the switches on the bedside lights are so high one has to almost get out of bed to switch them on and off! If you want the South Beach experience, I would certainly recommend The Tides...if you want quiet and relaxing, look elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PRR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here during the weekend of 18th November 2012 whilst visiting Miami for the NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Homestead.

The Suite was impeccably appointed with great views of the Beach from the Living Room, and from the Terrace views across Ocean View and back towards downtown Miami.

The room also benefits from two large TVs, Sonos Music system, and Vudu movie streaming facility.

Ultimate relaxation can be further achieved in the part sunken whirlpool bath which commands similar views over South Beach

All staff were very friendly and attentative.

I know there are a few negative comments with regards to noise from club next door.. Yes it is quite loud, but so is virtually every other hotel on Ocean Drive. Come 12am though it does goes quiet.

If you are coming to Ocean Drive for a quiet getaway type break any hotel will be the wrong one if you're in bed before 12am !!

Room Tip: Anything with a sea view will impress
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathew P, General Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Tides. It is fantastic to read of your experience with your accommodations and the staffs attentiveness.

Looking forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,

mathew pargament
general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Hotel Victor
#84 of 212 in Miami Beach
959 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $340 - $1,062 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing