We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tides South Beach
Ranked #62 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Outstanding service is what first comes to mind about our stay at the Tides. The entire staff greets you in a welcoming, professional, and helpful manner at each encounter--they are called your "professional assistants". The rooms are large, overlooking the ocean, and tastefully appointed, with towel change and turn-down service in the evening. The only drawback of the room is the lack of privacy in the bathroom; the shower, sink, and toilet can be seen through a glass wall from the bedroom and sitting area. It would be nice to have a privacy pocket door for the toilet and tub areas. It would also be nice to have a balcony in the room overlooking the beautiful ocean view. We were disappointed in the free breakfast offerings, so walked down Ocean Drive where we had many reasonable choices for a hot breakfast. The location of the hotel is great, lively and in the midst of restaurants, bars, shops, and of course, the beach. Kudos to doorman Leslie for his friendly and accomodating service.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a good view and for quiet
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank casey234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,187)
There are newer reviews for The Tides South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned from a tour of Florida over a 10 day period. The Tides was definitely one of the highlights of the trip. From the minute we got through the door and met Francisco we were glad to have stumbled in, after a long drive up from the Keys.

This was one hotel that we didn't look up on Tripadvisor first, we picked it because it looked amazing among the hundreds of other places along South Beach. The room was HUGE. Double aspect (North & East), quiet, comfy, well stocked and very well appointed. The breakfast was perfect and the people watching from the from terrace had us entertained for hours.

If you stay here - be sure to ask the front desk for recommendations of where to eat, drink and dance, you can absolutely trust their advice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Design hotel with a very nice lobby and a beautiful terrace with sea view.
In a great location. The room was very spacious with sea view. Lavish breakfast. Quite polite staff although vey slow if you consider that it is not a very big hotel but our room was cleaned late in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at The Tides for 5 nights in late September 2011 and the overall experience was amazing. The room was large and had a walk in closet. Large bath with general amenities and a big comfy bed.
Every single member of staff we encountered was helpful and enthusiastic and we were welcomed back every time we walked in the front door. The pool is a nice alternative when the beach is too windy or full of jelly fishes. Though, the water would have needed some more attention (things where floating on the water all the time).
The beach is literally across the street (less than 5 walking minutes) and by showing your room key you get an umbrella and two chairs and towels free of charge.
Everyone was saying that it is rather noisy etc. on Ocean Drive, however all the bars close down at 11:30 or midnight so it turns quiet pretty fast.
Ocean Drive is really touristy so get ready to be stalked by waiters in front of the restaurants trying to get you in their place, but other than that it was pretty cool with some really nice art deco buildings.

Overall, a really nice place to stay and very elegant. Depending on your rate maybe a bit expensive but worth every penny!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view and are very spacious. If you wish a living room kind of section take the...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank licertune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed at The Tides for 4 nights in late September 2011 and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is art deco in style and very understated and elegant - all neutrals and naturals. All rooms are ocean-facing and the views of the beach and of Ocean Drive are fabulous. We booked what is the 'standard' room (all are 'suites') in the hotel and had plenty of space, a lovely, large bathroom and a walk in wardrobe. Every single member of staff we encountered was helpful and enthusiastic and we were welcomed back every time we walked in the front door. The pool is nicely hidden, quiet and comfortable - a good place to chill out. And the hotel has an area on South Beach right across the road - show your room key and you are provided with beach loungers, towels and an umbrella free of charge. Everything is set up for you by the guys on the beach, so you don't have to lift a finger. The hotel is located slap-bang in the middle of SoBe - at 12th on Ocean. So, yes, it can be noisy up until about 11.30 / 12.00am when all the bars around the hotel shut down but after that, it's really rather quiet. Also, the location is either a plus or a negative, depending on what you want from your vacation. Please be aware that Ocean Drive is EXTREMELY touristy. I'd definitely recommend walking the whole road at least once - the art deco buildings are fantastic. But every single restaurant has at least one 'tout' outside who will try to push you into their restaurant. They do this by waving a menu in your face, positioning themselves in front of you so you physically have to stop walking and then talking at you rapidly about their 'specials', even after you've walked away. They will continue to stalk you. There are endless restaurants packed in next door to each other all along Ocean Drive and this happens at every single one, which can be a bit like running the gauntlet. If, like us, you're not into that 'tourist' thing, get a taxi to where you want to go. Or don't stay on Ocean Drive in the first place. That's why I've only rated location as 'average' - that's purely my opinion as I wasn't fond of the tourist gauntlet every time I stepped out the front door. Also, with all that atmosphere right outside the door, the one 'negative' I would say about the hotel is that atmosphere is exactly what it is lacking. Yes, it's stylish; yes, it's elegant; yes, the staff are lovely. But there's just no vibe to the place. And it feels quite empty - there's never that buzz of anyone in the lobby or in the restaurant (which was empty most of the time) and even with a DJ on the front terrace (which is great for an early evening drink before heading out), it still doesn't draw any kind of a crowd or buzz. So, if you're looking for an elegant, extremely comfortable place to stay right in the middle of touristy SoBe, this is for you. If you want somewhere that's got a bit of buzz and is not in the middle of the tourist gauntlet, as lovely as The Tides is, I'd recommend staying somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you want less street noise
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSnowBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

e stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderfull stay.
The hotel is very elegant and sends out a stylish relaxing vibe.
The room was just perfect with nice view on the ocean.
The entire impression of the hotel is very good, perfectly maintained.
Staff is very friendly and accomodating.
Pool is nice and quiet.
If you have a lower floor room on ocean drive (which we had), you can of course expect some noise.
Unfortunately the neighbourghood is decling in comparison to our last visits to South Beach.
On every walk we had at night we were offered mariuhana or coke on every street corner of ocean drive.
We never had an unsafe feeling, but the crowd is defenitily changing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ofabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at The Tides South Beach last September and it was an amazing stay. The hotel has a great design and glamorous decoration that makes it unique. Location is great in the heart of art deco district on busy Ocean Drive. The suites are luxurious with a great wiew over the beach. Service gets really personalized since you are getting personal assitant throughout your stay. All staff makes sure you are having a good time and provide great recommendations for dinner, clubs, shooping... There is a Swimming Pool but the real treat is the Beach Club just 5 minutes walking from the hotel. It is managed by the Bouchers Brothers which also provide effective and friendly service. Ocean Drive is very lively and full of restaurants and bars offering live music. In the evenings it can get a bit noisy though is usually quiet around 10:30h-11h. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutkastBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Tides, Manager at The Tides South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Dear valued guest,

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you had such a wonderful experience at The Tides.
Listening to the feedback from our guests is the only way we can improve our service and we appreciate your constructive comments.
I will share your encouraging comments with our housekeeping team.
Please do not hesitate to contact me the next time your travels bring you back to Miami Beach.

Jorge Gutierrez
Director of Operations
The Tides South Beach
1220 Ocean Drive
Miami Beach Florida 33139
T 305 604 5070 F 305 503 3275
thetidessouthbeach.com
jorge.gutierrez@thetidesresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
Hotel Victor
#85 of 210 in Miami Beach
953 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#13 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,916 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides South Beach

Address: 1220 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4610 (Formerly King & Grove Tides)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $262 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Tides South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tides South Beach is an iconic hotel located on Ocean Drive, just steps from the crystal water of the Atlantic Ocean and Miami’s most exciting dining and nightlife locations. Originally built in 1936, the hotel’s architecture is rich with Art Deco influences, creating a nostalgic environment for The Tides’ unique brand of modern luxury. The Tides features forty-four stylish luxury suites all offering expansive ocean views. Spacious hotel accommodations range from Oceanfront Studio Suites of 550 square feet to the 2,600 square foot Tides Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Tides South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King And Grove Tides
King & Grove Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Hotel Miami Beach
Tides Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing