We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #131 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I booked this hotel for the Fourth of July weekend and was very pleased. The room was basic and clean, which is fine because I wasn't expecting anything grand. The bathroom is very small...VERY but effective (shower, sink, toilet). The staff was very nice and check in was a breeze. The beach is about a block away along with nightlife, bars, etc. I would definitely book here again. The restaurant attached to the hotel was not so great. I'd rather pay more elsewhere for a quality meal...or at least if you try it don't order the steak!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIKKIRICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    236
    218
    98
    86
See reviews for
104
279
45
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Please, DO NOT do yourself the disservice of staying at this hotel. The hotel reeked of marijuana, the hotel lobby was strewn with people passed out on the sofas, and the "valet service" takes 30 - 60 minutes to pick up your car ( and charge you $22 to do it!). As two young woman traveling together, we did not feel safe. We got numerous sketchy advances just while outside the hotel. We demanded a refund because as U.S. Air Force service members, we cannot be exposed, even minorly, to marijuana. They would not give it to us. They lied that their General Manager also cold not speak to us for the next TWO days. My advice: stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Holly-Goes-Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Kent hotel was absolutely amazing!
I had an early flight so I paid for the night earlier aswell so I wouldnt be waiting. I arrived in the early afternoon and was warmly greeted by a very nice Puerto Rican man (cannot remember his name!) who gave me a map of the area and showed me some of the Latin hot spots too.
I also was offered authentci Cuban coffee from the housemaid while I was checking in.

The room was great, the only thing that I would have changed would be ASK FOR A ROOM WITH A VIEW! The bed was very comfortable, the TV great size, nice bathroom with a large spa bath.
The interior was beauitful green walls with cream, covered in mirrors.

Overall I loved my stay in this hotel. The staff were always friendly and efficient, very laid back as you would expect from Miami.

The Hotel was in a great location. On Collins Avenue, just behind Ocean Drive where all the life is (it was nice not to be harassed by staff when entering and leaving the hotel).

I will be coming back here when I am back in Miami, would definitely recommend for anyone staying in Miami :)

Room Tip: Ask for either a room with a view (i had a view of the next buildings wall), or a room with a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The only bad thing about this hotel was waiting to check in. We waited about two hours to be able to check in, which was whack especially when you are tired from traveling all day. Other than that the hotel was nice. All of the hotels on the beach seem to have an out dated structure, but it was still nice. Employees were very accommodating, patient, and friendly!!! I would stay here again and recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missawill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel twice (once this past weekend and about a year ago for my birthday). I chose this hotel because it was inexpensive and clean. The service here is fantastic! Jose works at the front desk and he is hilarious! Apparently there are two guys named Jose and both are hilarious but the one who I saw went above and beyond to help. He helped me print out tickets with no charge as well and even set up the computer for me because I struggle with technology. We came down later and he even stopped to take a picture for us. The room was also really clean and it looks like the bathrooms have recently been renovated because the shower was a railfall faucet and it was heaven. The valet was only $22 which is like $18 cheaper than most places on South Beach. Overall, it was a great experience both times I have stayed at the Kent Hotel and I will be coming back again. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christinaduffy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I my opinion this part of south beach is the best to reach the beach and not far to get to south beach shopping area. The hotel is above average, rooms are enough big for 2, bathrooms renovated and confortable bed. The lobby is a little vintage (as the elevator) but authentically deco. The ratio quality/price/location is probably the best in this area. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

horrible experience.. dirty rooms, stains on pillows and lamps, broken shades, and curtains were fixed by A SCOTCH TAPE and it fell off the first time i tried adjusting it. Aweful front desk representstives. not only my experience was terrible, but when i tried to cancel they decided to charge me for an extra night because i was checking out early. which was at 10:30 am and their checkout time is at12:00. just spend some extra money abs go somewhere else. you will regret wasting the money there..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#177 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Suites
Ocean Reef Suites
#133 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suites on South Beach Miami
Suites on South Beach Miami
#112 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,784 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#85 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#98 of 205 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing