We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Kent Hotel to your Saves list
The Kent Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I my opinion this part of south beach is the best to reach the beach and not far to get to south beach shopping area. The hotel is above average, rooms are enough big for 2, bathrooms renovated and confortable bed. The lobby is a little vintage (as the elevator) but authentically deco. The ratio quality/price/location is probably the best in this area. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

horrible experience.. dirty rooms, stains on pillows and lamps, broken shades, and curtains were fixed by A SCOTCH TAPE and it fell off the first time i tried adjusting it. Aweful front desk representstives. not only my experience was terrible, but when i tried to cancel they decided to charge me for an extra night because i was checking out early. which was at 10:30 am and their checkout time is at12:00. just spend some extra money abs go somewhere else. you will regret wasting the money there..

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane44444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The Kent is a small hotel with out a pool. (Who needs a pool when ur steps away from the beach?) They have a nice side bar with good food & drinks. Nothing fancy, but most decently meet all your needs. The guys at check-in & check-out were all cool & helpful. The rooms are clean & neat. This was not my first stay at the Kent & won't be my last.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were only at this hotel for 3 nights - it's central enough without being right in the middle of things - although folk do come back to the hotel in the early hours and then stand in the hallways chatting (and walls are thin). We did the bus tour which was fun and the beach is fantastic - huge! Hotel staff reasonably helpful, rooms basic but ok

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmirkingPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We had two rooms...requested non-smoking...one was terrible...had to move. Parking...what a joke..next door there is a lot, $10 per hour max 3 hours. You can park up the street at the public parking for $16 per 24 hours but it fills up late morning on weekends. Can't park on the streets overnight or on weekends unless you have a resident sticker...tow and fine and I saw them out checking. Good location but lots of construction in the street. Rooms basic but clean. Area okay but one block west and you hit tattoo parlors...my wife and I were not comfortable there in the evenings...were there for a concert in a club and walked tot he club. The area is not the same as it was two years ago when I was there. However, Lincoln is still a lot of fun and a couple of blocks northwest on Washington is Espanola Way which was fun. Good restaurants in both places and safe. Lots of shops up on Lincoln.

Room Tip: Be there for the location and the beach. If you want creature comforts stay on Biscayne Bay or ante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctparsons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Chose this hotel for location, and it is well situated for exploring SOBe. Tried two rooms as they had given wrong and it took a day to get appropriate one. Manager did follow up on our issues. The rooms are ok, clean, but a bit run down. You might consider first floor rooms, away from street, to get less noise. Furniture worn down and dated. The bathroom has rust and paint peeling of. No air circulation in bathroom so be prepared for damp experience when taking a shower. Note there is a 22usd valet parking fee per day. Reception was friendly, did not recognize what others have complained about.

Room Tip: consider first floor rooms, away from street, to get less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellehoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

-Front desk staff was not very friendly
-Rooms were very basic/minimalistic
-Beds were hard and uncomfortable
-White sheets had permanent stains
-Plastic sheet mattress cover on the bed
-Small bathroom
-Did not think the room was worth the price, would rather pay more to be more comfortable
-Although in the art deco district, hotel did not seem vintage/artsy - seemed old and not well maintained
-Would not recommend or stay again - there are plenty of over hotels in the area that seemed much nicer

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,368 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Colony Hotel
The Colony Hotel
#158 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#90 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dream South Beach
Dream South Beach
#64 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clinton Hotel South Beach
Clinton Hotel South Beach
#144 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 1,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#52 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing