We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Kent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kent Hotel
Ranked #119 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for three nights for a bit of a stopover on my way back home. Check in was great, the two guys were friendly and funny and got me checked in very quickly. I had a corner standard King room, overlooking Collins. The decor of the hotel was very Miami (In a good way) and the room was huge and relaxing. It seemed like it should have been more expensive. The location was terrific! A block away from the beach and a 1 minute walk to the bars and restaurants of Ocean Drive. The bed was very comfy, and the towels were the fluffiest I've ever had in a hotel! If I'm ever in Miami again, I'd definitely come back here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you Tom for the awesome review - I don't think I have ever read any review or comment where a client said "It seemed like it should have been more expensive", we obviously see that as a huge compliment, and I thank you for mentioning it, if you do ever plan to come back to Miami Beach please contact me directly as I would be able to offer you a better rate than anything you can find online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    258
    222
    101
    89
See reviews for
113
301
51
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in September with my two friends. We were able to check in early and the staff were friendly and helpful, especially the towel man. The rooms were clean and the cleaners were also very welcoming.

The hotel is in the perfect location and only one block back from the beach. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

I would not recommend eating at the hotel restaurant. My friends and I went there on the first night and ordered appetizers. The food was horrible and was fried oven food. We ordered cocktails and they were in small cups. The waiter was also very rude and when we asked for sauce that was meant to come with the food we ordered he told us on two occasions he would be back only to go out the front and talk to his friends and bring it to our table after we finished eating. There were two other families eating in the restaurant when we were there and they also complained about the service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Jessica, thank you for the kind words about the hotel. Even though we do not own or manage the restaurant, the feedback they receive is important to us as we have a mutual interest in our clients, I will forward this review to the owners of the Garden Bar and Grill so they are aware of guest opinions about their establishment. Once again, thank you for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here a while ago for two nights after a cruise and I don't know why I didn't write a review sooner! The staff at the front desk were absolutely amazing! They helped us with all questions we had and were very friendly. They even arranged an Everglades tour for us and gave us some recommendations when we were trying to decide what tours to do. It is so convenient that they have tour info and most pick you up right at the hotel! It was great and we really appreciated the helpful advice from the front desk staff!

As for the hotel itself; it was super clean and our standard room was great! It had a very "hip" vibe and was everything you'd expect a South Beach hotel to be, in my opinion. We had never stayed at "boutique hotel" before and i wasn't sure what to expect. We were so glad we tried it because it was a great experience and i would recommend to anyone for sure!

We cruise quite often and plan on coming back to Miami again soon. We will for sure choose to stay at Kent and will be bringing another couple with us this time ! (Hopefully they have availability!)

Awesome time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you Chelsea for your kind and positive words, please contact us directly if you plan on staying at the hotel again, we do take into account repeat clients and would offer you a better rate than you can find online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I enjoyed the hotel and its staff: Chris and Joel were very helpful with making our stay a pleasing experience with their courteousness. Also, their house man was very observant and would take our beach towels when we arrived and kept the lobby clean.We never needed a cab and Jose gave us great recommendations to eat withing walking distance. The closest's are huge! Our rooms were always clean and tidy when we arrived but the housekeepers wouldn't always turn off the lights or close the doors completely, which is a serious security issue. The restaurant also hired a jerk promoter that you should avoid unless you like begin scammed. Considering it was a holiday weekend, we had a great stay and the hotel is perfect for people that like to explore the area!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englisb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review, I will be using this review to educate our housekeeping staff on properly closing the doors, our guests safety is the most important priority of our operation, this will be corrected immediately I assure you. With regards to the restaurant promoter, this is a decision solely made by the restaurant as we do not own or manage that business, but I will be speaking with the restaurants owners and bringing this review to light, anything that they do that is a detriment to our clients or the service you receive will not be tolerated. I thank you for pointing these issues out, and I'm very happy to see that in your eyes the hotel still deserved a positive review and did not let those things affect how you scored our establishment. Thank you once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here on the Sunday night before we embarked on our cruise out of the Port of Miami. Just one block from Ocean Drive and just short blocks up & down from everything! We arrived in a cab from the airport around 2:45, and checked our luggage into a small room while we grabbed drinks at The Clevelander and waited for our room to be ready. Went back an hour later, upgraded our room to a king-size suite facing Collins Ave for a small tip, showered & went back out. The staff is cool. The room/bathroom were cool, modern. The a/c was cold! The alarm clock had an iPhone mount so we could listen to music while we got ready. We checked out at noon the next day, and then checked our bags into that room again while we grabbed lunch at the Eleventh Street Diner and did some shopping. When we got back at 2:30, they called a cab for us, which was there in 2 minutes to take us to the Port. For not planning any of the details, this was a smooth trip. We'd definitely go back to The Kent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Collins Ave are large with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerArmyBrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the positive review, very happy to read that you had a smooth and successful trip, and that staff accommodated you any way they could. Good value is definitely the preferred words that we want our clients to remember when they think of our hotel!

P.S. Thank you for your service (FormerArmyBrat)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

+ Location very close to the beach, lots of good restaurants close
+ Overall clean, good room, rain shower
- Room service always very late, or no service at all. Once they took our towels and we didn't get new ones until next afternoon!!
- One guy at the reception "lied" to us about the content of the Everglades tour
- Very thin walls, if some drunk people party around in the hotel you'll absolutely going to hear it (but that's more or less normal for Miami Beach)

Overall: It's clean and has A/C as well as a refrigerator but the service is quite poor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Customer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest, I'am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, I will comment on the "cons" you wrote about since the pros are clearly welcomed. Room Service: this clearly should never happen, unless there is a do not disturb sign on the door of your room you should be receiving daily service, not having enough towels is unacceptable, if this ever occurs please contact the front desk, we have extra towels on hand at any given time in case this happens (I do not condone this, as it should not happen in the first place) Tours: I would be hesitant to say any staff member lied about any tour, since the contents of what you get from the tour are clearly written down on the tour book that is used to inform the client, but I do want to speak to you to find out about the details of that conversation and what was actually delivered by the tour company to you, please feel free to contact me at your earliest convenience, either by phone (305-604-5068) or via Email (sales@thekenthotel.com) - Thin Walls: not much that I have to mention here, since you are correct, most hotels in South Beach were built in the 30's and 40's, sound proofing was not up to par at those times they way they are now, so if you have rowdy guests, this can definitely be a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

hotel was tastefully furnished in an IKEA kind of way. Staff very helpful and pleasant. good location. room was quiet. Valet parking was an issue. My car was almost ticketed while waiting for the valet service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p2a69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie N, General Manager at The Kent Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review, I'm glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel - I also want to point out, that if for some reason your car would have been ticketed due to Valet's inability to pick it up quick enough you do not have to worry about a thing, we will make sure that the Valet company pays for that ticket and not our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
736 reviews
Suites on South Beach Miami
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
440 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#131 of 208 in Miami Beach
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Colony Hotel
#165 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Hotel Ocean
#157 of 208 in Miami Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kent Hotel

Property: The Kent Hotel
Address: 1131 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco district, only one block from the beach, the Kent is like a playground for adults. Its 59 stylishly appointed rooms reflect the fun and flair of Miami Beach. The Kent, a South Beach Hotel is a perfect choice for guests who enjoy stylistic fusion, convenience and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Kent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kent Hotel Miami Beach
Kent Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing