We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“for a hostel, this place is superb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freehand Miami
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“for a hostel, this place is superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

very cozy patio attached and behind hotel. Spartan rooms but adequately furnished with very utilitarian furniture. Bathroom probably not updated since the 40's but extremely helpful and hospitable staff, comfortable, built-into-the-wall beds. Breakfast unremarkable by any standard but included in room price. Very down home and welcoming. Can"t wait til they open another wing including a restaurant. Will definitely return. Fri/Sat night lobby congested during storm by imbibers overflowing from patio bar but not an obstacle to get to one's room, nor to find quiet there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    308
    117
    38
    32
See reviews for
59
123
320
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place! Nice staff, nice clean beds and plenty of room.
Life around the pool was very lively and a great place to meet new people.

Only downsides to this is the breakfast. You basically have a choice between fruit or some very sweet pastries. Because of this I ended up having to get breakfast elsewhere as there was no kitchen to cool your own food.

Food was served in the day from a menu but it was limited and quite expensive (as was the beer and cocktails served from the bar) which isn't really ideal when you are on a budget.

Had a very pleasant stay despite this, and would probably stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Soloyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for the feedback! Our kitchen is now open so we hope you come back soon to try it out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Location is one of the best. Hostel is very clean. Staff, including cleaners are helpful and friendly. Beds are very comfortable. Bathroom are good, although if they could just change the taps then we could say "I stayed in a 4 star".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Mia-Leao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you come back to stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Although we were overall disappointed with our trip to miami beach, this hostel was the highlight of our travels. There is a great atmosphere in the themed bar. The double room was great with a bath tub and powerful shower. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly.
Nice free fresh breakfast of Coffee, orange juice, pastrys, bananas, apples and oranges

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eogha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is by far the best hostel I've stayed in. I slept at the 8 bed dorm and liked it a lot. Clean rooms, good beds that are built in the wall so there's more privacy, fresh towels, reading lights in the bed, comfortable mattress and pillow. The bathroom was ok, although the sink in the shower/bathtub clogged and it was unpleasant to take a shower after someone else, since it'd be a semi full soapy tub... But, this was the only bad thing I found. Clean pool, nice areas to sit in, beautiful building, friendly staff. I didn't feel that it was too noisy, although when traveling I always sleep with earplugs, so couldn't really say. The hostel is near the beach (2 blocks away), 15-30 min walk to the busy part of Miami Beach. Overall, great experience (especially comparing it to the South Beach hostel -where I stayed couple of moths before- that although ok for what you're paying for, seems worlds apart from the Freehand).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPCSMPCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to review us - we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hostel is a cheaper option if your on a tight budget when in miami. We found everywhere to be pretty expensive so even still, the hostel was not that cheap. We had a round of drinks, three of us, came to $45 which were just shorts and a mixer. I nearly fell over when she gave us the bill!
The room was booked as a quad, my understanding would be that it had a double bed in and two singles but it was in fact two sets of bunk beds. The lift was out of action so we had to lug our cases up four flights of stairs.
There were ants in the bathroom, which apart from that was clean and towels were provided, one each. No bugs were found in the main bedroom.
Location is about a 20min walk to Lincoln st, pretty much the main area for bars and restaurants.
I would stay here again but book a double room next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janeymadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Bit of a mixed review. There are good and bad points to my stay.

Good points: Cheap on weekdays, great location, beds are quite private the way they are built, nice pool area to relax, free yoga on Saturday and other cheap excusions.

Bad points:Really expensive at weekends, we paid £140 for two people for Saturday night (not great when on a budget).
Made to feel like a scruff. We were not told that flip flops etc were not evening attire at this hostel. In the evening locals came to have a meal and a drink all dressed up. I am sorry but I am travelling for 8 months with a backpack so tend to leave my heels and fancy dress at home. We were moved from the tables at the pool as his was for the cocktails only (no sign explaining this)

It seems like the freehand is trying to be a hostel and a hotel at the same time. I do not like the idea of people paying to stay but made to feel uncomfortable by not having the correct clothing.

Overall the location and price in the week is great but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Emma025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#34 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,187 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,872 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#25 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4429
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing