We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent choice!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Quilmes, Argentina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

On my second time visit to Miami, I was searching for a place to sleep well, nice atmosphere and to relax. This hostel has it all. Great rooms, the garden and the pool are awsome, and at night it has great people visiting the bar. Really a great place to stay in Miami. The only problem in my visit was an Irish dude who never saw daylight, partying all night and was very lousy at night, but that was just luck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilleggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    307
    117
    37
    32
See reviews for
58
122
321
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

After reading reviews, we decided to give this place a go. It was no cheaper than a lot of the smaller hotels as we had a private family room. This was fine. More basic than hotels ie nothing but beds and bathroom but clean and comfortable. Pool was nice but kids (both 13) found the people lounging around the edge smoking in the pool a bit intimidating so refused to go in. Beach nearby so not a problem. Breakfast tasty.
The bar was a real issue for us. Our room was not overlooking this- great!! However, during a storm, what sounded like the whole of the bar came into the lobby which was close to our room. The music and talking/laughing/screeching went on to about 3.30 am keeping us all awake. This was right beside reception so I can only imagine this is thought to be acceptable.
So, would I stay again? No. I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property - we value your feedback and we're working on preventing these problems in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was my first hostel experience. I traveled with a group of 14 girls for a bachelorette weekend, Thursday-Sunday. The bride-to-be is an avid hostel-goer and chose the Freehand. Luckily, because of the size of our group, we all filled out the private quads and bungalow with ourselves and never had additional guests, even the two in the shared quad never had to experience sharing their room.

You get what you pay for here. The breakfast is blah, the pastries were sometime stale and the fruit not yet ripe. The cleaning crew does come daily, however we chose to just have fresh towels, toilet paper, and trash bags delivered so that they didn't have to climb over our stuff in the bungalow or potentially have something thrown out that we wanted to keep. The pool area is great, the bar is nice, but overpriced as many in Miami are. The rooms all have electronic keys like hotels and there are lockers inside for valuables, just bring your own lock.

In more detail about the bungalow, which is the room I was in. We had bungalow 2. We did not realize there were more than one bungalow, otherwise we would have booked both instead of having our group all split up amongst private quads etc. the bungalows are also not attached to the rest of the property, they are outside across a small courtyard/driveway and there is no access back in without having to walk around to the main lobby. You could wait for someone to open the back hall door but good luck with that. It was spacious in the common are and that's about it. The "kitchen" was the size of an NYC apt kitchen, with barely any room to actually move in it, but it did come stocked with plates, utensils, pots, pans, glasses etc.

The biggest FAIL of bungalow 2 is that there is only one bathroom and it is very small. It was difficult sharing this with 3 other girls. Also, there was not a single full length mirror in the entire place. Our other girls had full length mirrors in the quads, but the bungalow had none. The hot water took forever to heat up for a shower, the toilet was awkward with flushing, and the bathroom was essentially a "hot box". No windows, 2 door access - hallway and bedroom. No counter space, no place for hair items etc. no place to hang wet swimsuits so we basically made a mess of this entire unit by the time we left.

We walked to the beach every day, but it is not "south beach". The beach behind the complex is Miami north beach. South beach is a good 7 minute cab ride away. However, we enjoyed the privacy and proximity of the north beach. There is a cafe with great inexpensive food, coffee, empanadas etc, across the street, along with a Subway chain, bodega/corner store and a small souvenir shop.

There are many Europeans staying here as it is a quite popular and inexpensive way to stay somewhere and travel. They smoke weed a lot. The lobby often smelled like marijuana. The pool area has plenty of smokers milling about, during the day and after hours when being served at night by the broken shaker. I don't smoke (anything), but if you do, you should have no trouble getting high.

Overall I felt ok with the hostel, it only cost about $150 for the 3 nights for each of us in the bungalow, but it is not my style and I wouldn't do it again. I can check it off the bucket list and never look back.

Room Tip: Go with a small group and get a private quad or bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I dropped by for a bite to eat and a drink one evening. Their menu isn't extensive (mostly bar fare) but seems promising. The flat bread pizza was tasty and the fresh ingredients from the garden are appreciated. Drinks try to be unique with recipes that include ingredients such as beets. They're good but not great, and they could certainly be larger or stronger (especially for the price). Glasses are rather small by most standards, and one of my drinks was essentially one large ice cube; I made it through in about 60 seconds and not because I had any intention of doing so.

Ultimately, the saving grace of this spot is its outdoor seating/patio. I went on a beautiful, breezy summer night and was treated to a seat under mature trees with overhanging branches and subdued string lighting. The music selection was also eclectic and a nice change of pace from most bars. A pool and games (e.g. ping pong) are also available; though, I didn't ask if they were available to bar guests as well as hotel guests. This is definitely a nice spot to relax with a few friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed in a hostel and have always wanted to. I figured at $19 a night I should try it. If I were only 10 years younger I think I would have really enjoyed my stay! The bar is neat, excellent drinks. Lots of places to hang out, relax and mingle. Even though beds were assigned someone was in mine when I arrived. It's not the cleanest but everyone was respectful and quiet. It's a good opportunity to meet people from around the world. Breakfast was simple but free and the atmosphere was peaceful. Overall a great deal if you know you are a good match for a hostel. On my second night in Miami I checked in at the Hilton and took a deep sigh of relief.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FavoriteRocketship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice hotel. 5mins walk to Miami beach. Bus stop is right in front to go to south beach and main shopping streets. Free wifi, great breakfast. Old Building renovate into pretty fashionable boutique hostel. Inside is cozy , nice mood antique style and clean .
each bed had a light stand and power point to charge ur phone beside ur head,
lockers .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is amazing. My friends and I decided to take a random vacation to Miami. It was the first time that a few of us had ever taken a vacation without our parents. The stay was truly memorable. The staff was excellent. Im not sure if I can recall her name but I think it was Mariana? She was amazing. I work in a hotel in NYC. I thought the service at the freehand was byfar the best I have ever recieved. I would rate it 6 stars if i could. The pool and bar area are beautiful. The hotel is designed with a very clever and unique sense of style. The bike rental proved to be very convenient and affordable at the same time. My friends and I stayed in a bungalow and it was like having our own apartment. Whoever manages this place deserves a pat on the back. I will definitely be back and will never stay anywhere in Miami but the Freehand. Oh and one more thing- The staff did a great job with connecting us with a company that gave paddle boarding lessons. The lesson was one of the highlights of our trip. It also was very affordable and the instructor was awesome! See you soon Freehand!

Room Tip: Rooms near the pool are obviously louder than others because there is always a great party going on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tangina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi there,

We're so glad to hear that the Freehand has exceeded your expectations! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#32 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#80 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#24 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing