We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“New Miami Beach Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“New Miami Beach Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The former Indian Creek Hotel has been re-branded the Freehand Miami and converted to a hostel..

This is a beautiful hotel building built back in the days of the Miami Beach hotel boom. The building id well kept and has a large backyard with patio, bar,, pool and lots of chairs and shade.

The non-commercial atmosphere in a resort city makes this a must for those that want to experience Miami Beach and South Florida on a reasonable budget.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralpael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    308
    118
    38
    32
See reviews for
59
123
321
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Spent here 2 nights, one in a double room and the other in a dorm. Excellent atmosphere, great decoration, swimming pool, bar, not too far from the best places in Miami Beach, and really helpful managers.

The best beds I've seen in a hostel, really clean rooms and overall very tidy and organized.

I'll be going back there if I am back in Miami.

Room Tip: Double rooms are really worth the money and can be better than a hotel double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pato-1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

If you are comparing this to other hostels, it's top notch. If you are getting a private room with bathroom and comparing to hotels, it's still pretty good. The decor is cool, the games and ping pong are fun. My only real issue was the noise. We were on the first floor and oh boy was it loud. There is a bar out back, so you could hear the people out there until the wee hours. Also, you could clearly hear every time someone shut a door, flushed a toilet or even shut the door to a stall in the shared bathroom. Also, the price for the private room is not that dissimilar to some hotels in the area. I would definitely come back, but I would probably check out other hotels in the area too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danikrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I am currently vacationing in Miami @ the freehand. When I actually booked this through hotels.com, I thought it was a hotel. Too late to change my reservation, I stayed at freehand learning also that hotels.com reserved me for a 8 female shared dormitory which I DID NOT want to do but when I go to freehand, I couldn't believe my eyes. From the receptionists, to the bar, pool... Everything was fantastic. I shared a room with 7 of the coolest girls. The rooms have lockers and 2 bathrooms which only 2 if us used the lockers lol, everyone else left their things out in plain sight like laptops, rings, etc and it was not stolen. Freehand is a very relaxed environment. I love it here. The pool itself is amazing. The whole back yard area with the bar (Broken Shaker). It's one block from Collins ave and u will be on the beach. And bout 10-15 min ride on the bus to get to Collins and 11th which the next block over is ocean and 11th and ur on south beach. I don't do HOSTELS but this was an amazing experience for me. A great way to afford a vacation without paying an arm and a leg for a boutique hotel on the strip. The only con is there's no TV. Don't come looking to watch tv lol. Just to come relax, party and sleep. It's not really a party hostel. It was very quiet, actually. People sitting around in the lobby playing games, reading books, etc and even a guy played the piano. U love freehand. After reading about hostels, I thought it would have been the worse place to stay, ever! Lol. It wasn't. Try it, u will love it. I saw young and old here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsripp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FreehandManagement, Management Team at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi there!
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We’re glad you had a great experience here! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Freehand really impressed me - great location, good value, beautiful interiors, great atmosphere, spotlessly clean, safe, and friendly & helpful staff.

I travelled alone and met some lovely people in the 4 bed room I stayed in, which was really spacious. The pool area is great and was never too crowded, the bar there too is also good.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hmorris85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I read all the reviews about this hostel so I went for it. But guess what?.. I surpassed all my expectations! The building itself is really amazing, with spacious rooms with AC and all. Hygiene was a+ as well as the change of towels and bed sheets. I've never seen a hostel THAT clean.
With its vintage furnitures, the Freehand has one of the most charming decos I've ever seen in any Hostel or Hotel. the lighing and lounge music by the pool matches perfectly with the atmosphere. The Broken Shaker (bar) is awesome! A little bit expensive if you ask me, but then again you're in Miami Beach, so yeah...it's kinda an average price. But the cocktails are really amazing, highly recommended.

Bikes for rent are great, the events they do..I mean really..I'm in love with the place! Definetely gonna stay there in my next visit to Miami Beach.

Room Tip: Super 8 rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianoGoulart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked the Standard King, a room with a King bed and private bathroom. The room was small but had everything we needed. It had a comfortable bed, TV, good shower. Was ok in cleanliness.

Earplugs are recommended if you get a poolside room, this can be a bit noisy if you want to sleep before 2 at night! Air-conditioning was a bit noisy as well but worked ok. Because of the classic glass windows that can be opened like Luxaflex, more noise and warmth enter the room then necessary.

The location is very good, walking distance to the beach, a grocery store at the end of the street, affordable parking around the corner. If you want to walk all the way to the end of Ocean Drive the distance is 2.6 miles / 4.2 kilometers, about 50 minutes. Breakfast is simple, but if you would like to start the day with coffee/tea, fruit and some simple pastries this is ok.

The cocktails at the Broken Shaker are really good, although a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JdelaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Circa 39 Hotel
Circa 39 Hotel
#34 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#79 of 202 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,193 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#25 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4429
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing