We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freehand Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Me and my friend was planning on staying for few days but ended up staying for just over one wk.Somehow it was just too good to leave...Our room was clean and specious,friendly staff,nice pool ...The atmosphere was very relaxed nice bar which is full of friendly people travellers as well as locals.There is Italian restaurant close by the food there was wau!If you like good food and nice bottle of wine that's the place to be....I would definitely recommend this place
Andrea H

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hancikovaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (952)
There are newer reviews for Freehand Miami
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

465 - 471 of 952 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great place to sleep and party. Its only a block away from the beach and a 20min bus ride from Miami international airport. The rooms and hotel was clean and up to date with that Hipster edge and quality. They offer just as much as the bigger hotels do pool, lounge, tours, but on a more personal level. If your traveling alone the don't worry the the freehand has plenty of people hanging around to help you find things to do. Only thing was having to wait for a room over 3 hours to be ready. But just drop your bags and head for the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfking512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

i stayed there with a friend of mine for one week and we loved it! you get more than you expect! friendly people, nice stuff, great pool, delicious drinks at the bar, cool music all day, free bbq at saturdays, free yoga lesson at the beach, close to the ocean amazing backyard with loads of plants and animals, very clean, cheap... we stayed in a dorm with 4 beds inside and had enough space for our backpacks. we actually didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

As we arrived to the hotel, it looks and feel exactly what we expected. However, the elevator was under repair, so we had to lug all our baggage upstair one, two, and one of the family 3 levels. No assistant, or bell boy system here. You are on your own. My room is on Indian Creek side and the main windows are cracked opened 1". The handle to close/open the window is removed/missing. What does this do? Well, at night time, as people get off the taxi and blocked the road, the cars behind them honked and honked. With the not fully close windows, the traffice noise becam amplified and all night, none of my family had a half decent sleep. Plus to that, our room is situated right on top of hotel main air condition system, to the fan (huge) blows constantly. One other family, the faucet water runs continuosly, not stoppable. So, they did not have a good sleep either. So, if you get a room on Indian Creek side, change right away.
The games they had in the lobby are nice. Kept us busy.
Breakfast is a joke as all they had are some muffins, croissant. Breakfast starts at 8 and by 8:30, sorry we have no more bananas.
To make things worse, as were carruing our baggage down the stairs, we noticed that our arms are cover with white paint. It turned out to be that the maintenance guy was just touching up parts of the stairways during the RUSH CHECKOUT hour, without any warning or signs of wet paint. One of our friend wore an expensive jacket and one side of the sleeve if stained with the paint. When we told the receptionist of this, she said, it's OK, it will come off eventually.
The only thing maybe good to this hotel is the price was not bad ($130 for us a room) and the beach is a short 3 minutes walk.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: This hotel needs to be maintained much much better as their are signs of negligence every where. No...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share experience about your stay here at Freehand Miami. We take all of our guests feedback very seriously and use it to help improve our business and operations. We apologize for the infrastructure-related concerns that you experienced. This property was built in the 1930s, and we are in the process of upgrading and addressing many issues with the building, including the ones that you mentioned. We also apologize for your negative experience with our staff. Regarding the paint stain on your clothing, please email or call us about this so we can make sure to resolve this issue. Additionally, we would love to invite you to come back for a complimentary overnight stay. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is great if you are traveling alone because you get the chance to meet people by sharing rooms. The price is in beatable compared to anywhere else in Miami. There is a pool and a wonderful lounge area in the back as well as a bar. You can sign up for tours at the front desk. You can also rent bicycles from the front desk when available. Parking is crazy as is everywhere in Miami beach. There is street parking at $1 per hr. I shared a 4 female room. There was enough space for everyone. They provide you with a locker to store your valuables. Lock not included. The hotel is off of 28 st which is about 10 to 15 blocks from the action of south beach but its not too far from anything. Great hotel and I would gladly stay again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AW_rush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have nothing bad to say about the freehand, i was there for a week and it was amazing. the staff were helpful, the pool clean, the most comfortable sun beds and amazing beds in the rooms - clean facilities, tasty breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from reception as it can get noisy around there
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank virginia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we're so glad you enjoyed your time here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My one week stay at the Freehand Hostel was fantastic. The friendly helpful staff handled all my questions and needs. The hotel was clean from Lobby, Pool, Bathroom , to Bedroom & Bed. The atmosphere was very satisfying. Bus location from hotel is close as well as three block walk to beach. Continental breakfast the best way to start my day.
Will let my friends know and will be returning again soon.
Thank You ~John D.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnmd_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Freehand Miami, we're still working to develop and improve things, so come back and stay with us another time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
3.1 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
969 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#37 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#77 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Cadillac Miami Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range: $37 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing