We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Hotel for a Very Special Clientelle”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Freehand Miami

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Freehand Miami
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Special Hotel for a Very Special Clientelle”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Brand new. The owners took an old hotel "The Indian Creek" and changed it to an updated hostel.You heard me correctly. I knew this but booked a room that had 4 bunk beds in it just for two people. I think it would be too small for 4 people but for a couple with two children maybe okay. These rooms are meant to be shared with your friends or people you might not know. There are no extras: a towel per person,no glass,no tv, no small light just overhead, no hangers but hooks in a locker. Clean but really spare. I do not know how you go for a bathroom visit if you are in the top bunk as it is pretty high and ladder does not move. Nice air conditioning,sheets and towels which are new but maybe a blanket would have been nice. Staff is very young and really sweet. Nice pool area and bar area. Did not stay for the free breakfast.to sum it up if you are very young and do not want A big hotel bill you will love it. I think a room with 4 beds it would be around $50 each. Lastly, very well located 27th street off Collins Avenue.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same. Maybe don't choose a room over the pool as I think they are lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We’re glad you were able to join us for a stay our opening week and enjoyed our pool and bar area. Next time you visit please don’t be shy, we’d be more than happy to give extra towels and blankets if you ask the front desk. Also all of our rooms now have hangers and you can even request a portable wardrobe closet as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    326
    127
    41
    37
See reviews for
62
139
348
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This hostel isn't for everyone, but those who 'get it' will love it! Think bohemian sleep-away camp with the cool kids. Rooms are totally comfortable, although you won't get all the bells and whistles of a luxury spot. There are private rooms, which is good for someone like me who came with my significant other, and shared rooms for those who are a little more adventurous or traveling solo. Location is great. Broken Shaker (the bar) is really really great. Chic and cozy design. Cool vibe. Super friendly staff. It's opening week so they are still working through a few kinks, but imagine this place will only get better with time. Will def come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mere T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Mere, we’re glad you enjoyed our design and vibe and thank you for seeing past our opening kinks and we promise we will only get better with time. Looking forward to showing you our growth next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff of this Hostel was amazing, and very helpful! i loved interior, i had to share my room with 4 other girls, and it was a lot of fun, (of cores you can pick a private room if you will be arriving as a couple).This hostel is more for young adults. I can't wait to come back in march, for sure i will book with the same hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Brigita, we’re happy to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments regarding our property and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Freehand Miami in March.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
589 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

So, they've re-branded old Indian Creek Hotel into, as they put it, an "upscale hostel" this past summer. The place is quite nice inside, the rooms have brand new bunk beds with en suite bathrooms and lockers. It's an overall great hostel with great potential, however there are few things that make me hesitant to recommend it right now.
First of all, it is located in the absolute dead spot for night live. The closest happening places are a mile away and close to $10 in taxi fare. There are only 2 places to eat around there (Subway and more formal Italian restaurant). There's no parking on premises, although I was able to park free overnight in metered places and then paid $10 for 24 hrs. Also, when I was checking in, the lights went out for more than 2 hours. The power company was doing some work and needed the power off right then and there. I was promised that my pre-paid stay for that day would be refunded because of that; we'll if that would actually happen. Another problem is that they are actively remodeling the premises. How actively you may ask?! So actively that the walls were shaking on Saturday morning at 9 am. Who does that knowing that South Beach parties until 5:30am and a hostel is a place for young folks who come to do just that?!?! So, I would wait until they finish all of their work (I would assume early 2013) before going there. I saw at least 2 more hostels a lot closer to the action than this one.

Room Tip: Ask for the bottom bed of the bunk beds. After a night of partying until 5:00 am it can be a hazard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther G, Manager at Freehand Miami, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your feedback!

We were at the tail end of our renovations when you stayed with us and apologize for the inconvenience. We are especially sorry for the power needing to be shut off on Friday night!

Renovation is now complete and we are ready to welcome you back. We would love to extend you a complimentary night so you can experience the property in full swing. Please contact us with any questions and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Confidante
The Confidante
#35 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#83 of 207 in Miami Beach
4,471 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 207 in Miami Beach
3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel
Grand Beach Hotel
#59 of 207 in Miami Beach
4,928 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freehand Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freehand Miami

Property: Freehand Miami
Address: 2727 Indian Creek Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Freehand Miami 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Freehand Miami is our reinvention of the historic Indian Creek Hotel, one of Miami Beach’s classic art deco buildings. Created for a new generation of travelers, we have incorporated handcrafted design, local food & beverage, and a comfortable community atmosphere that offers both shared and private accommodations—all just one block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freehand Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Creek Miami Beach
Hotel Indian Creek
Indian Creek Hotel South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing