We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proposed on FIsher Island! A beautiful hideaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fisher Island Hotel & Resort
Ranked #137 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Parkland, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Proposed on FIsher Island! A beautiful hideaway!”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I had been searhcing for a special place to take my girlfriend to pop "the question", and Fisher Island Resort exceeded all of my wildest expectations. We arrived on the island via ferry(very unique & fun), and from the moment you arrive on the island you feel as if you have been transported to a foreign land. The landscaping was perfectly manicured, the staff was over the top(5 stars), the views of the miami skyline & ocean were perfect, and the exclusivity of the island made it all the better. I can't think of a single area to complain about.
We were shown around the property, given a tour of the Vanderbilt mansion(fantastic for a history lover), and given first class treatment through and through.
The concierge (TJ) was the best we ever had. He took time out of his day to make sure every second of my proposal was perfect. From helping pick the perfect spot, champagne, fruit, and the list could go on for days...
I usually dont give reviews on places we stay, but our experience was just to perfect at Fisher Island Resort not to share. I hope to go back in July to celebrate my Fiances birthday. Fisher Island is our new favorite destination to relax and diconnect from the outside world.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom villa with a partial ocean view. The terrace was of great size, and we s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia D, Hotel Director at Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mr. Chad,
Congratulations! And thank you for this special review.
We are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you with anything you needed for such a special moment. Also, it is wonderful to know that Fisher Island Hotel & Resort is your new favorite destination to relax and disconnect from the outside world.
We will look forward to welcome you and your fiancé back to celebrate her birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We just kept on extending our week-end trip to 12 days.....Everything at Fisher Island Club&Resort was totally perfect! The staff is wonderful. We came with our baby Alice, and we felt comfortable at all times with her. Fisher Island Club&Resort really is perfect for the whole family and you do not want to leave the resort ever.The food is fantastic, tuna tartar, tropical salad, fish taco....best margheritas. The beach is gorgeous and the pools fabulous, we tried a few diffrent rooms and they all are great in diffrent ways but possibly my favourite was the ocean front one bedroom. Tennis and golf available and once you are checked in you never need to bring out cash, you can charge it all to your room, even from the island's Citarella level food mart or the trattoria's pizza! You get the tropical feel of St Barth's but right in Miami! For me true luxury is to feel private.wednesday thru sunday they have sushi night!

Room Tip: all rooms are great in diffrent ways
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia D, Hotel Director at Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mrs. Angelina,
Thank you for a wonderful review. At Fisher Island Hotel & Resort, we strive to provide a "World Class Service" to all of our guests, and it's a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and our luxurious amenities.
We will look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had a recent brief visit to Fisher Island.

So the good points....beautifully kept Island resort - fantastic grounds and our two bedded apartment was sublime with excellent decoration, furniture and superb bathrooms with some great touches.

To the bad.....when i made the booking, i was told that if we arrived at around 1pm, every effort would be made to have our room ready.
When we arrived at the ferry terminal, i got the feeling via the initial unfriendly greeting that you get treated as a second class citizen if you are not an owner/regular.He claimed that he had requested a buggy to pick us up on the island, but when we arrived there and the security guard finally came over to us he claimed that it hadnt been ordered.

Our Bellboy was excellent....friendly, chatty and offered us champagne whilst we checked in, but this process was long, laborious and unprofessional.

Two members of staff on the desk - in truth one of them needn't be there!
I was asked my surname at least four times (why not write it down at the start). When our room was finally found - it was ready and as stated earlier excellent.

When you are booked onto the Island you receive a golf buggy to get around. After using
it to get some lunch we parked it outside our appt. and went for a drink - on our return our buggy had been taken!

Finally, we tried to have a relaxing drink at the beach club...not possible with a stream of young kids racing around our table on scooters. Not only did they nearly run into us but were also a hazard to the bar stewards.....and not a word was said - "these were clearly owners"

I was actually on the Island for a specific purpose - would i choose to stay there again - i am afraid not!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank EssexBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Nice beach for seclusion. Hopping the ferry was cool and a change of pacewhen you needed one There is construction at the Spa and Gym but there is another gym at the tennis courts area. Beach club is fabolous to hang out early in the morning and at midnight sitting on the beach gazing at the stars.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Akins2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have a beautiful suite/cabin with jacuzzi close to the Vanderbilt mansion, now check-in. You cannot get value like this in most parts of the world. The grounds are immaculate. The island is a bird sanctuary. Peacocks roam the grounds. A golf cart is included with your room to travel to the beach or restaurants. The food is amazing in all the restaurants. Service is great. I have no idea what these other people are talking about because everyone on the island was helpful. Golf is included. It's only a 9 hole course but it's well laid out and maintained. Probably a par 70 since that is one par 5. This will be one of my favorite places to visit in the future now that I discovered it.

Room Tip: We had suite 1402 which was a beautiful duplex type cabin with a private jacuzzi in the back. Awesom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I have visited Fisher Island for a few times as a guest of a resident equity member, never a problem, always a relaxing place. My wife and I visited right after the new year, the cafe on the beach has the worst service we had ever experienced. The waitress spoke a practically unintelageable version of American slang, one would expect professionals at such a high end place. She took our order, then disappeared to the corner to have a wonderful chat about with her cohorts. My wife had to get up, and walk over to ask for a bill, the waitress was then snide with her. They have a strange practice where a person brings the food on a tray to the table, then walks away, it is the response ability of the customer to put the food on the table. Truly bizarre. When I requested a manager, I was told that he was busy, without even walking away from the table to look for him. The next morning I requested one of the waiters that had been there for years, the service was great, food, cold and lousy.

We went to the bar and watched the staff mix themselves alcoholic cocktails, take a sip then walk away. Not a single one turned around to notice the 8 or more people waiting for service.The bar on the back of the restaurant was packed, yet we were served in a timely manor. The Italian restaurant was delightful, as was the pizza place.
We were so frustrated we left early, and went to Key Biscayne.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank StcloudPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

If you have longed to stay here like we have then you'll be disappointed too - from the check in when we had to wait for a cart to take our luggage - to the horrible room they first put us into. We moved to 303 also known as North Cottage - which had no view and were woken with the bed practically shaking due to the building of the new spa! The room was not cleaned properly as someone else's sock was found in our room and no one cleaned the terrace for the duration of our 3 night stay! The room service food was very mediocre. On the bright side the steaks in the restaurant were excellent and the Portugese waiter good. Also worthy of a mention is Howard the barman (whose in the process of writing a book about the comings and goings which I'm sure will be facinating).
The ferry trip over to the island was a good service and you never wait long as they are continuous. Also the security was excellent - no one can gain access to the island unless a guest and then they have to be on the guest list....
All in all - don't bother - the main lake smelt, the pool area tiles were dirty and the mosquitos round the bar plentiful! All in all it was very disappointing - maybe it was good when it was first built but it looks like it needs a revamp and being off season looked empty and unkept...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank knightsbridge-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
The Setai
#6 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,070 reviews
City Center
James Hotel
James Hotel
#122 of 208 in Miami Beach
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oceanside Hotel
#110 of 208 in Miami Beach
274 reviews
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisher Island Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisher Island Hotel & Resort

Property: Fisher Island Hotel & Resort
Address: 1 Fisher Island Dr, Fisher Island, Miami Beach, FL 33109-0001
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#68 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fisher Island Hotel & Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Fisher Island Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisher Island Hotel Miami Beach
Fisher Island Hotel And Resort
Fisher Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing